9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +6 161, PMPS 228 Dosing Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
Good morning all...
Last night's excitement http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51749

So, I'm not really sure what's going on here. I don't know if his pancreas is starting to kick in or what but it makes me nervous to go to work today.

Last night we didn't shoot. Again this morning, we are still only at 190. As I've got to leave and go to work for at least part of the day I chose to give a reduced dose (only 1U down from 2U). On the bright side, since I didn't shoot last night, I could shoot earlier in the day (6:10 as opposed to 7:10) so I'll have time to get a +1 and +2 before I've got to go into work for at least some time.

I hope everyone has a great day and kitties surf nicely for their beans- only two days till the weekend!
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190 excitement kind of...

Great night for Smokey! Hope he just surfs in the blues for you today. Have a wonderful Friday eve!!
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +1 220, +3 180 Reduced dose

Hi guys .. very nice numbers for smokey! I'm glad you'll be able to get some spot checks in before leaving .. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +1 220, +3 180 Reduced dose

Well, the reduced dose is kicking in. We went up just a bit with the +1 to 220 then +3 is back down to 180. I'm going to head into work for a few hours and try to be home around +6/+7 to get a reading. I think we're safe. We've had first and second breffis. Smokey is playing with his mice and glaring at birds outside from his perch. Doesn't he know he is stressing me out! :razz:
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +1 220, +3 180 Reduced dose

Home from work and will work from home for the rest of the day. Smokey +6 is 161. So we are getting some response to the reduced dose. I'm curious to see what happens this afternoon around PMPS though!
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +6 161, PMPS 228 Dosing Advice Need

Smokers is one happy boy! We had a visual run-in with the squirrel who lives outside- there was growling and ear perking... I, on the other hand, am a bit of a mess. I'm so glad that Smokey is feeling better and we have had LOTS of blue numbers. But, given that, I have been hesitant to shoot the full 2U I had been giving before as I really do need to be away for most of the day. After 24 hours without insulin and a BG still in the blues (190) I decided to give only half the dose (1U). Smokey has spent all day in the blue lagoon but hit low yellow at PMPS. I only shot 1U again.

I'm so glad that Smokey's pancreas seems to be healing and starting to work!

I would appreciate any thoughts on dosing. Stay at 1U for a few days and see where we are (unless a further decrease seems warranted)? I'm really hesitant to go back to the full 2U we were shooting before this blue kicked in as I really can't be here every day if he goes below 50.

I would also think that, given the 24hr lack of insulin and the reduced dose, the shed overflow from 2U is depleted... thoughts?
 
Re: 9/8 Smokey AMPS 190, +6 161, PMPS 228 Dosing Advice Need

ummm, blue is good, why are you shying away from it? You worked up to the 2 unit dose methodically, so you know it is a safe dose for him. You also know that the lower doses were not enough, since you didn't start seeing blue until 2 units. Does that mean his dose will always be 2 units? No, but it means that it is a good dose for now, until he earns a reduction. Lots of cats do earn reductions quickly once they start hitting green, but we find that staying with the protocol works best for almost every cat. If it doesn't work then we can try something else, but it's always a good idea to try the protocol first.

See what happens, but don't hesitate to go back to the last good dose at the first sign that the reduction isn't holding. You don't want him to get used to being in higher numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top