9/8 Ollie PMPS 313, Dose advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
Dosage question here please :-D :-D Ollie has been at 5 units and we are seeing action. If i am learning this dance correctly......I should leave him at this dose until he settles down and flattens out....I am right about that?

Vettie appointment this afternoon cat(2)_steam

Thanks for stopping by our condo!!!
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329

Good morning! I don't have any dosing advice but wanted to tell you hello! Good luck with your vettie appt. Those are always an experience. Hope Ollie does well and doesn't get too stressed from it.

Have a wonderful day Patsy!
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329

Hi guys .. wish I had an answer to your dosing question .. I never understood the protocol myself, just listened to everyone on here :-D Good luck at the vets .. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329, +5 322

you've had lows (nadirs) of 97-115 the last week or so. you've been 14 cycles on the dose of 5.0. here's the part of the protocol that you need:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329, +5 322

You'll be glad to have the tests done, patsy. it's just good to know what you're dealing with. Here are the links for how to submit the blood to MSU. Perhaps you could copy these and email them to your vet. The acro test is only done on Wednesdays. Before the vet sent in Punkin's, i called and they said to not use the US Postal Service - they'd had trouble with it. just fyi.

Insulin Autoantibody Test at Michigan State University

Insulin-Like Growth Factor-1 Test for Acromegaly at Michigan State University
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329, +5 322, +11 312

I'm little confused so someone please confirm or correct.

I have held the dose of 5 units for 14 cycles. Ollie has had nadir's below 200 and also above 300 during that time. confused_cat confused_cat ...... If he's not bouncing I think I need to fatten up the 5 units (?). I kinda think he's bouncing so I thought I should hold. It was much easier to know what to do when he was flat pink kittie!

The vet thought Ollie looked great (I do too). His coat is the best it has ever been, eyes clear, very alert and calm. His weight is up to 19 lbs...he's eatting well @-) She will get more info on high dose tests this weekend and have blood work back by Monday and call with results and time for the other tests. Did not push dental. It was a good visit....we can work together.

Julie, thanks for info...sometimes I just can't find the part I need and you solved that for me. Your thoughts too please. Glad to get test info. Conference in Boston this weekend and she is checking there. If she doesn't have it by Monday(when she is supposed to call me) I'll give it to her. Didn't want to rock the boat with her :?
 
Re: 9/8 Ollie AMPS 329, +5 322

i think if you add "dose advice please?" or something like that to the subject line of your first post today, the people you need to see this will notice!
 
I would hold this dose for a couple more cycles. Most likely he went green overnight on 9/6, so he might be bouncing now. I think he will probably need an increase, but at this point you don't want to go too fast.
 
Thanks Sienne! I need to work on that :smile: I think Ollie is doing his part, now I have to do a bit more on my part. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top