9/8 Mr.Cat AMPS 174 +3 88 PMPS 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
When Mr.Cat's PMPS was 102 last night, I thought he was back to last week's numbers before his OTJ Trial, so I mistakingly reduced his dose to .25U. Well, we're back to .5U this morning due to his 174 AMPS. Moving forward with hope!
 
Re: 9/8 Mr.Cat AMPS 174

How is Mr. Cat feeling while on his meds? Specifically....how do you give the UroMaxx?

I am thinking of buying some online for Tom...but hate to buy yet again something else he won't like!!

Does Mr. Cat seem to mind the taste? Do you put a few drops in food or do you just give it directly in his mouth?

What did the vet say about it? Are you to give it to Mr. Cat from now on or just a few weeks?

Thanks for the info

Moving forward with hope

that is the best attitude to have! you know this is just a very brief set-back.......


~kelly
 
Re: 9/8 Mr.Cat AMPS 174

tomtom13 said:
How is Mr. Cat feeling while on his meds? Specifically....how do you give the UroMaxx?

Does Mr. Cat seem to mind the taste? Do you put a few drops in food or do you just give it directly in his mouth?

What did the vet say about it? Are you to give it to Mr. Cat from now on or just a few weeks?

Hi Kelly-
Mr. Cat is doing much better! He has diarrhea from the antibiotics but he seems to be feeling well, he's more active, perky, etc.
-I give Mr.Cat UroMaxx in his food. He seems to like it (chicken flavor is in the formula). I just mix it in a few ounces of his favorite wet food - he gulps it down!
-The vet said that I could mix it with his food or give it to him straight but NOT added to his water.
-I have noticed that he is more active since taking UroMaxx (glucosamine is in the formula) so it may help his joints. I may consider keeping him on it for a while.

I studied herbology for many years and I am familiar with the herbs and supplements in the formula. They are fine for long-term use by humans so I don't see why a cat can't stay on UroMaxx long-term.
Hope my answers help!
-Jess
 
Thank you Jess for that info!!

very helpful and informative

I went ahead and ordered some online......fingers crossed that Tom won't be able to sniff it out in his food!!!

How is Mr. Cat doing lately?


~kelly
 
Thanks, everyone! Mr.Cat is doing fine. He seems do be feeling well, energy is good, appetite is OK, and his diarrhea is less watery and more loose but still not totally normal.
I decided to get a second opinion on his dental work before moving ahead. My vet put Mr.Cat on 14 days of antibiotics before surgery (we are on day 6) and she wasn't going to take x-rays - just "go in there" and see what Mr.Cat needed. I wasn't comfortable with exploratory surgery without x-rays so I spoke with a wonderful vet dentist today and scheduled an appointment for next Tuesday. The vet dentist told me to take Mr.Cat off the antibiotics now (due to the diarrhea) and put him back on antibiotics this Sunday. She prefers that Mr.Cat be as hydrated as possible and not suffering from diarrhea before surgery and that makes sense to me! She will look at him on Tuesday and determine if he needs extractions after she sees the x-rays and if so, she'll do the surgery that day. She also said she won't do extractions unless they are necessary, unlike my regular vet who haphazardly said, "Oh, he needs lots of teeth removed." I tend to lean toward the less-invasive side of medicine, if possible, so I'm happy that I switched to a more restrained vet dentist!

Thanks for all your notes of concern. Whatever happens, Mr.Cat will be fine. He's quite resilient (and ever so doted on)!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top