9/8 Morgaine AMPS 173,+6 133,PMPS 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good Day!

Morgaine is starting to creep up a bit. She was 173 this AM and at PM +4 she was 157. I am noticing higher PM numbers. I may try another tiny increase tomorrow to 3.25 again if she doesn't come down a bit today. These numbers are borderline for her where she starts to spill glucose in her urine. I know people have been using other meters with more accuracy but I get lots of Freestyle strips each month from my insurance company and I have a 0 co-pay. I couldn't afford to pay for al of the strips for Morgaine, at least not now. Bottom line, when the Freestyle reads 173, she is probably over 200. I may try to get a different meter and some strips just to test the difference.

Hope you are all having a nice day!
 
Re: 9/8 Morgaine AMPS 173

i'm not sure why you think that her numbers are higher than the freestyle. we use the freestyle lite and i think it was rated high on accuracy. it's what i use for punkin.

are you thinking compared to an alphatrak - because they are calibrated for felines? all of the numbers we work off of here are using human meters. there is a separate section of the protocol that has the numbers for alphatrak meters.

if you want to compare apples to apples, morgaine's numbers can compare to all the other cats here except for those who specifically say A-Trak or something like that.
 
Re: 9/8 Morgaine AMPS 173

julie1220 said:
i'm not sure why you think that her numbers are higher than the freestyle. we use the freestyle lite and i think it was rated high on accuracy. it's what i use for punkin.

are you thinking compared to an alphatrak - because they are calibrated for felines? all of the numbers we work off of here are using human meters. there is a separate section of the protocol that has the numbers for alphatrak meters.

if you want to compare apples to apples, morgaine's numbers can compare to all the other cats here except for those who specifically say A-Trak or something like that.

I actually discovered that i have a One Touch meter for my pump. It is called the the One Touch Ping and it uses the same strips as the ultra mini. I have been told that it is a very accurate meter. So, I dug it out of my closet and there were 10 strips that were not expired and never opened. I tested it on myself with the freestyle and with the Precision X-tra and it was very close to the Freestyle, within 5%. The Precision was not as close. I was also told by another member that the Freestyle was reading very low compared to the One Touch Ultra Mini so i wanted to test that. I am going to continue to test the readings on myself and see if it varies much. I actually used the same blood sample as I had enough for 3 tests. I will report my findings.

The other thing about the One Touch is that you need a much larger sample than the Freestyle. That is so hard to get from Morgaine.

Julie, I would love it if the Freestyle were accurate but I have noticed, since I got it, that it was reading somewhat lower and Morgaine has been reaching her renal threshold with numbers above 150. Of course that may have been higher when her urine filled her bladder so i really can't tell. I am happy to hear that the freestyle gives accurate info. I will know more after my own appt. with my endo as I always have an HbA1c done and it should match my meter readings in the same way my other meter did. None of these meters are highly accurate so it would be good to know if the Freestyle reads much lower than the others. So far, the One Touch read lowest for me.
 
Re: 9/8 Morgaine AMPS 173

julie1220 said:
hmmm, well if you think of it, let me know when you have a dr to compare it to. i'd just be curious!

I will definitely make a point of posting and letting you know personally. My appt. is October 21st and my Dr. will know as he deals with many meter users and knowing him, he has compared them all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top