9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50 +3 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva and Achilles

Member Since 2010
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24382

Good morning all. So I'm feeling better, and I am back at work today. Achilles gave us a beautiful set of greens yesterday. Although, I'm not sure his PM shot of .75u was precise. It may have been a bit less than .75u. I'm going to run to the pharmacy at lunch to get a magnifying glass to try to get these doses as accurate as humanly possible. Too bad there are no reusable digital syringes with replaceable needles. Wouldn't that be great??

We introduced cowboy cookout for breakfast this morning. Let's just say that it was not a success. Achilles sniffed it, looked up at us and walked right away. :YMSIGH:

We are trying the small feedings today at +1, +2 and +3 to steer his numbers.

Have a good day all. Let's see blues and greens today kitties!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94

Great job this morning and last night Eva....Achilles is looking great...and I am so glad you are feeling better! :mrgreen:
Looks like you tried the mini meals last night too, right? The little food during the first few hours of his cycle really helps to keep the numbers surfing nicely....great!
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94

I hope everyday for syringes that will measure those microscopic doses! wouldn't that just be the best?

Very nice amps - and I am with Sienne - i see drops coming, and hope you can get a +2. Looks like Achilles has plans for today. :-D I'm also with Pat - the mini meals at the beginning of the cycle does so much for controlling the numbers that lie ahead.

Looks like a great day for Achilles. Greens already! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94

Unfortunately, we cannot get a +2 as DH and I are both at work. I did however, set the automat to feed at +2 and +4 so he should have plenty of food to feed the insulin. Please keep your fingers crossed for us that Achilles does not dive today while we are both at work. This is my ultimate fear nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67

Well, he hit 67 at +6 so there's no way of knowing how low he went. He had the same number at +6 yesterday, and he had gone down into the 40s then. DH said he looked fine, but who knows...

He ate the food left out for him at +2, but the +4 food was untouched when DH tested him at +6.

Let's see what he looks like at PMPS time. For now, all we can do is hope and pray that we are doing right by our little guy.
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67

But there is a difference today Eva...you fed him at +1 right? That slowed his drop and you will see that it does that again tonight if you do those mini meals again. Maybe that's why he wasn't as hungry later for the +6. Those mini meals are working!!! :mrgreen:
Hope that makes you feel a little better....see you later!
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

We are testing the mantra "shoot low to stay low tonight." I hope we didn't make a grave mistake. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

A week ago...no, a few days ago, I would not for the life of me shot such a low number. It is only knowing that we have the LL pros around to lend us a helping hand that we did so tonight. Of course, we have strips, syrup and we will be home all night to test just in case he starts diving.

So far he ate at shot time and we just fed him a tbsp of lc food again at +1. I will fee a 5% food at +2 and +3. I hope that will keep his numbers steady like they were last night.

Please keep your fingers and paws crossed for Achilles tonight.
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

I hope so Ronnie. The selfish part of me wants to reduce his dose NOW so that I can calm down and dare I say, sleep at night. But I am trying to keep him at this dose for a few more days. I suspect that had we not fed him the small meals at +1, +2 and +3 that he would certainly dive and earn an immediate dosecrease. I hope we are doing the right thing. This is only his 5th cycle at .75units. How long should we try to hold him here?
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

Well, that could be up to Achilles.

They don't always pay attention to the fact that they get food on board anyway and decide to do their own thing.
He's just lucky that you are there and you could catch him before he dives.

It's best to have food on board thou and for kitty to earn their rewards on their own terms and safely too.
It'll be ok, you're on top of spot checking. No rush cuz he's doing very well anyway!
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

Nice hooting! You are doing GREAT! The more time that Achilles spends in the green numbers, the more his pancreas has a chance to heal.

You hold the dose until Achilles earns the reduction by dropping below 50. However, another alternative is if numbers are largely in the normal BG range, after a week you can reduce the dose. Achilles still has some higher than preferable AMPS numbers. You might want to consider giving him a snack at PM +8 or +9. This may help to drop his numbers by AMPS.
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

Breathe Eva...you are doing a great job! Remember that food is your friend....you can always get the numbers higher with food.
The only problem is if someone doesn't test often when the numbers are in this range and then when they do, it's like :o You are top of what he is doing and giving him the mini meals...(but I honestly think he is itching to earn a dosecrease....) He is looking really good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

I like the idea of the pm +8 or +9 snack. I will try it tonight. Thanks!

I missed the Gabby Goes Gaga for Green reality show last night, but it looks like you did a great job. Very awesome!

Oops, getting close to +2 test and feed time. I will report back soon.
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88

fingers and paws crossed for you, guys...

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

50 at +2. Fed some 5%. We will get a +2.5. Achilles may have read my post about wanting a dosecrease and may be trying to accomodate his bean. :smile:
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

Nice job Eva. Way to go Achilles. Wow. So y'all are now joining the Sienne/Gabby Low Rider Group, eh?

Keep us posted.
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

Nice day today for Achilles and good going on your part, Eva, to keep on top of his numbers. Hope the evening cycle doesn't keep you up too late!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

A +2.5 sounds like a good idea. I suspect Achilles is done with this dose!
 
Ugh, both DH and I got caught up working and we missed the 2.5 test.

His +3 test revealed a 55.

We fed him some 5% at +3. So far tonight he has eaten 4 times: at PM shot time, at +1, +2 and +3. We set the timer to feed again at +8 and +9. I think I need to start giving him a bit less at each feeding b/c he may be starting to put on a bit of weight thanks to all these feedings.

I think the feedings at +1, +2 and +3 fought off a steep drop tonight.

We won't be able to run a +2 or +3 test tomorrow morning. I don't want to rush him, but I'm afraid of a hypo while we are away from home during the day. Tonight was his 5th cycle at .75u. Is it too early to reduce to .5u?
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

Ella & Stu said:
Nice day today for Achilles and good going on your part, Eva, to keep on top of his numbers. Hope the evening cycle doesn't keep you up too late!

Ella & Stu

DH is on night duty tonight. I need my beauty sleep :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/8 Achilles AMPS 115 + 1 94 + 6 67 PMPS 88 +1 88 +2 50

Sienne and Gabby said:
A +2.5 sounds like a good idea. I suspect Achilles is done with this dose!


It sounds like Sienne suspects you are done with this dose. ???????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top