9/8/19 curve: Blaze-AMPS 293, +2 287, +4 203, +6 239, +8 258, +10 248, PMPS 289, +2 336, +3 352

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning!

Back on track today after last night :banghead:

Blaze’s AMPS is 293. I’m going to do a curve today, is it okay to give Blaze his small FF snacks like we would normally get or do you do a curve with no food influence besides breakfast?
 
Good morning Sarah!

Wow, I sure missed a bunch of excitement last night-- glad Blaze is doing fine!

Feed as you would normally. The only time there's a 2hr "no food" window is before pre-shots (making sure that it's safe to shoot with no food influence), and that's just for the initial phase before you learn your cat's patterns in any case.

Good luck on the curve!
 
Good morning Sarah!

Wow, I sure missed a bunch of excitement last night-- glad Blaze is doing fine!

Feed as you would normally. The only time there's a 2hr "no food" window is before pre-shots (making sure that it's safe to shoot with no food influence), and that's just for the initial phase before you learn your cat's patterns in any case.

Good luck on the curve!
You sure did! It ended up being a false alarm, thank goodness.

Okay, sounds good! This is my first curve so wanted to make sure I do it right. Thanks Nan!
 
When. you're doing a curve, you can handle the food just like you would any other day. Good job with walking the time back so you can get on schedule.

Are you following SLGS? If so, you want to evaluate the dose after a week. It's been 0 days for Blaze at this dose. If. there are no surprises with the curve, you should be fine to increase this evening.

 
When. you're doing a curve, you can handle the food just like you would any other day. Good job with walking the time back so you can get on schedule.

Are you following SLGS? If so, you want to evaluate the dose after a week. It's been 0 days for Blaze at this dose. If. there are no surprises with the curve, you should be fine to increase this evening.
Yes I’m following SLGS. We started on 1 unit for the first three days but I skipped the shot on the third night so I think we start over from there? So today would be 6 days on the 1U after skipping the shot on 9/2/19. I don’t know if I base it off the day we started 1U of Lantus or we start counting the days AFTER skipping the shot?
 
The cycle count is more important with TR than with SLGS. In part, with TR, you evaluate the dose after 3 days -- which is about how long it takes for the depot to stabilize. With SLGS, you hold the dose for a week (barring the need for a dose reduction) so the impact of a skipped shot, especially if it's at the beginning of the cycle count is less. No matter where you began your count, you should be fine to increase.
 
The cycle count is more important with TR than with SLGS. In part, with TR, you evaluate the dose after 3 days -- which is about how long it takes for the depot to stabilize. With SLGS, you hold the dose for a week (barring the need for a dose reduction) so the impact of a skipped shot, especially if it's at the beginning of the cycle count is less. No matter where you began your count, you should be fine to increase.
Okay thank you for explaining that, sounds like Blaze will be in for a 0.25U increase tonight!

+6 test in less than 15 minutes!
 
8859F83F-B733-4F21-BC9E-7F913E7C169D.jpeg
 
I still have to get the +10 and +12 (PMPS) tests in but it's not a very eventful day with the curve. This will be Blaze's first dose increase, do his numbers look like we need a dose increase? And if so, should I start the increase tonight and give 1.25U?
 
I do think Blaze needs an increase. When you increase, either tonight or tomorrow, is up to you. Some cats who have flat yellow cycles may end up having a drop in numbers during the next cycle or two. It's a consideration if you don't want to end up testing into the PM cycle if Blaze's numbers drop. And yes, the increase would make your new dose 1.25u.
 
I do think Blaze needs an increase. When you increase, either tonight or tomorrow, is up to you. Some cats who have flat yellow cycles may end up having a drop in numbers during the next cycle or two. It's a consideration if you don't want to end up testing into the PM cycle if Blaze's numbers drop. And yes, the increase would make your new dose 1.25u.
I’m not sure when is the best time to increase. If I do it tonight, I can get some tests in but get up at 5 am for work on Mondays, but if I wait and give the dose increase tomorrow morning, there’s a possibility I won’t make it home on my lunch to get any tests in. I think I will give the increase tonight.
 
Love the pics of Blaze and Mitsy! They’re just so cute!! I personally like to do PM increases for the same reason you had mentioned which is: I’m home to get a couple tests and see how Mowgli is doing.

Good luck with the increase!!
 
Love the pics of Blaze and Mitsy! They’re just so cute!! I personally like to do PM increases for the same reason you had mentioned which is: I’m home to get a couple tests and see how Mowgli is doing.

Good luck with the increase!!
Yes, I feel like it’s the better route, giving the increase in the evening. At least I can get some tests in and intervene if I need too. If I increased in the morning, I wouldn’t be able to get tests in until possibly PMPS. Hopefully tonight goes smoothly! Thanks Amanda!:cat:
 
For Mowgli I find it typical, you have to wait for the new doses depot to build. You will probably see more of a difference tomorrow night :)
Okay, I figured that but just wanted to ask since this is the first dose increase! I will get at +3 test and if there isn’t too much of change, I’ll call it a night. 5 am alarm for work comes quick! :woot:
 
Hi! Rooting for blaze! Curious what syringes you use. Do they have half point marks?
I use the U-100

ETA: It has the half markings on the left and whole markings on the right so for 1.25U, I have the plunger just past the 1U marking but before the next half marking. If that makes sense?
syringes
image.jpg
 
Last edited:
Back
Top