? 9/7 Scout AMPS=443, +4=430, +7=396 Depot question

sandscout

Member Since 2018
Hello,
How long does it take on average to begin to fill up the depot? I’m wondering if some of you would mind taking a look at my spreadsheet, and give me feedback. It seemed like Scout dipped into blues a few times when starting back on Lantus, but now his numbers seem to be more “up there”.
Not sure what to think, not sure what my next step should be. Thanks .
 
I varies but you're looking at like 3-6 cycles. And every time you hold the dose you're draining the depot, so you're just at 3 cycles right now. Also could be a bit of bouncing going on. Got pretty low on 9/5 and could have gone low in the gap yesterday. +4 to +6 was a 100 point drop, so around 50 points an hour, more than enough time there that could have theoretically dropped down to the mid 100s again and triggered another bounce. So I wouldn't increase yet, want to give it at least 6 cycles at a dose before you increase. And, schedule permitting, if you see any fast drops like 100 points in a couple hours, try to keep testing every hour or two until you find the bottom, it'll eliminate some of the guesswork.
 
What you're seeing is a bounce. The times that Scout drops into the blue numbers, he then "bounces" back into high numbers. His body hasn't adjusted to dipping into normal numbers. As a result, his liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause the numbers to spike. It takes approximately 3 days for the bounce to clear. In addition, when you skip a shot it can take several cycles for the depot to catch back up.
 
What you're seeing is a bounce. The times that Scout drops into the blue numbers, he then "bounces" back into high numbers. His body hasn't adjusted to dipping into normal numbers. As a result, his liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause the numbers to spike. It takes approximately 3 days for the bounce to clear. In addition, when you skip a shot it can take several cycles for the depot to catch back up.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Should I still hold at a AMPS or PMPS number of 200 or less? I don’t have a lot of data of my own to reference, so I having been following the SLGS protocol with regard to holding when pre-shot numbers have been less than 200.
 
I don’t want to drain the depot, but neither do I want to shoot too low when I don’t gave sufficient data to back me up.
 
You shot plenty of blues the first time he was on insulin. Whether you shoot depends on whether you can monitor, have plenty of test strips and high carb food around and are comfortable doing so. Maybe get a +11 test to see where he is going, and post for help if numbers are lower than you feel comfortable with. There is a second section on SLGS for lower preshot numbers, that starts “with experience”. With data and comfort level, SLGS folks will shoot above 90.
 
Back
Top