9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 +3 110 +10 102 PMPS 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
I posted this last night....
MrCat said:
I am afraid that Mr.Cat took a turn this afternoon. He was very lethargic during the day, but I thought it was just the heat. I waited until his usual PM time to test and lo and behold, he was at 181. I broke down and gave him .5U. I know everyone will say.... aahhhhrgh! Why did you do that ?!?! Well, he has a few weeks of antibiotics ahead of him, oral surgery, and blood in his urine. If he had been officially OTJ for a while when all this happened, I may have stuck it out. But at only 4 days without insulin and with the wacky numbers over the past few days, I just don't know if he's ready for an OTJ trial yet. Maybe when the other issues have been handled, he can move forward.
I hope I don't get too much fallout from everyone for giving Mr.Cat insulin. I plan to reduce his dose back to .25 or maybe even .1 if he's low tomorrow morning. In the meantime, I'll test at +3 after his shot tonight and see how he's doing. I'm a little worried about posting this due to the inevitable comments that will follow, but I have to be honest about what's happening. Thanks for your support! ;-)
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

Mr. Cat has a lot going on, poor guy. Just be sure you test because he may go way down. Sending healing vines for your guy.
Liz
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

I think you did the right thing. Even an OTJ kitty may need a bit of insulin during illness or injury, to keep that bg from staying high long enough to cause problems. In this case it's bad timing and you can try another trial when things settle down.
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

Remember, you know your cat the best. I don't think what you are doing is unreasonable at all. You are monitoring him and know what to do based on his BG numbers. I'll bet that when his health issues are resolved he will be right back on track for OTJ. Don't worry!
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

Thanks, everyone! I know Mr.Cat will be OTJ at some point. He was diagnosed less than two months ago and his progress has been wonderful so far. There is plenty of time to try again! :-D
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

I'm so sorry you and Mr. Cat are going thru such a rough time. I don't believe anybody would criticize you for doing what you believe is best. And I hope none of us never have to 'fear' posting honestly. We're all in the same boat and are here for help and support which we get in abundance! I'm sure Mr C will be feeling much better soon and will give the trial another shot - and will be very successful. Most important is to get those meds to kick in and get him feeling better. Sending positive thoughts your way. Haha! I just told Elian that Mr C isn't feeling well and he meowed at me! So I'm relaying his get well soon message!
 
Re: 9/7 Mr.Cat AMPS 124 OFF OTJ TRIAL

I'm a newbie so my dose thoughts don't really count, but in Mr. Cat's case, I would've done the same thing, but I'd do alot of testing to make sure he doesn't go too low as Anne suggested. I'm sure you already know that, tho! Hope the insulin helps & he's ready & well for his surgery!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top