9/7 Mikan AMPS 413, +2 208, +3.25 78, +6 192: PMPS 241, +1 239, +3 155, +4 154

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Member Since 2023
9/6/23

Argh! :arghh::banghead:
Mikan had the best cycles yesterday and then one of the highest BGs this morning :blackeye:

This morning I went down to 3U. It feels strange to go down when her preshot is so high. Hopefully though, this will tame down the extremes she's been showing.

Patience, patience. I've been telling myself. But high BGs are just so hard to take. Trying to breathe....

Hope everyone has a good morning!
 
Last edited:
9/6/23

Argh! :arghh::banghead:
Mikan had the best cycles yesterday and then one of the highest BG this morning :blackeye:

This morning I went down to 3U. It feels strange to go down when her preshot is so high. Hopefully though, this is tame down the extremes she's been showing.

Patience, patience. I've been telling myself. But high BGs are just so hard to take. Trying to breathe....

Hope everyone has a good morning!
Yes, just breathe, what goes up must come down and it was a big day yesterday of some very low greens! Disappointing when they bounce so high but not that surprising. Nicely managed! :bighug:
 
Yes, just breathe, what goes up must come down and it was a big day yesterday of some very low greens! Disappointing when they bounce so high but not that surprising. Nicely managed! :bighug:
Thanks Amy!
I expected some bounce but it was still nauseating to see the number in the red.
But you are right. What goes up must come down! Hopefully, Mikan finds a good balance of blues and greens, instead of pinks/reds and limes:rolleyes:
 
Morning Kit, Mikan is sure keeping you busy. Under what scenario are you reducing the dose? If its the 3 drops between 40-50 in three separate days, not cycles, then she technically didn't *earn* the reduction. Since she's still newly diabetic, you can take the reduction and always go back up if it doesn't hold. :cat:
 
Morning Kit, Mikan is sure keeping you busy. Under what scenario are you reducing the dose? If its the 3 drops between 40-50 in three separate days, not cycles, then she technically didn't *earn* the reduction. Since she's still newly diabetic, you can take the reduction and always go back up if it doesn't hold. :cat:
Oops, I thought 40-50 in 3 separate cycles :oops: My bad. Thanks Angela for pointing this out.
I'll see how she does with 3U and if she can't hold, I'll go back up as soon as I can.
Just tested her at +3.25 and she is 78 - tested twice, the second was 75. I really don't understand - I just hope that Mikan will slow down this steep ups and downs :blackeye:
 
@Mikanmama
Hi Kit this us what it says on the Lantus sticky
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
So she did drop under 50 ,so I would think you do take the reduction
On 9-6 during the day cycle she dropped to 47:
 
Hi Ang Mikan dropped under 50 newly diagnosed during the day cycle yesterday
I'm looking at the sticky I posted #7 so wasn't it correct she took the reduction?
@Angela & Cleo
You are 100% Correct on taken the reduction for a newly diagnosed with one drop under 50! Except I think Kit elected to follow the guidance for cats that don't hold reductions in
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis​
    • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
    • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
    • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
    • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
 
You are 100% Correct on taken the reduction for a newly diagnosed with one drop under 50! Except I think Kit elected to follow the guidance for cats that don't hold reductions in
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
Newly diagnosed diabetics - less than one year since diagnosis​
    • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 50 mg/dL and following TR, or
    • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
    • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
    • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS
Got ya , thanks for the info
@Angela & Cleo :cat:
God forbid Tyler falls out of remission I'll be up sh*ts creek lol
Trying to remember everything:p
 
Thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom !
She did go under 50 at a few occasions at 3.25U and it sounds like the reduction is allowed by the TR protocol.
It felt like she's been so extreme and I wanted to back off a bit to see if we can settle her body down. Hope she can get more steady on this dose.
I may have to go back up to be more effective, but this seems like a good idea.
Thanks for sharing the information. So helpful! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Angela & Cleo!
Yes, I was hoping to stay on at 3.25U as long as we can to see if Mikan can start regulating better.
But her numbers have been all over the universe and so erratic. Hopefully, we can start seeing some calmer curves with the reduction.
Like Alicia says above, it looks like Mikan's pancreas is fighting over the control with her liver.
After +3.25, I had to leave so I gave her a good chunk of 15% - then I came back to test her at +6 back up to 192 :banghead:
Possible I overdid the HC, or she is having an early sign of another bounce. Now I have to go back to work and won't be able to test her until PMPS. Bummer!
 
Mikan and her pancreas seem to be arguing about who is in charge! I'm glad you saw some green already today, but man what a fast drop! I hope you're able to keep her coasting where she is now. :bighug:
Hi Alicia,
I totally think you are right about her organs are fighting over the control of her BG level!
I couldn't believe how fast she dropped this morning from the sky high red BG :eek: then, now at +6 went back up. Duh.
Hopefully this reduction can calm down the inside wars going on in her system, and start giving me gentler curves!
 
Thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom !
She did go under 50 at a few occasions at 3.25U and it sounds like the reduction is allowed by the TR protocol.
It felt like she's been so extreme and I wanted to back off a bit to see if we can settle her body down. Hope she can get more steady on this dose.
I may have to go back up to be more effective, but this seems like a good idea.
Thanks for sharing the information. So helpful! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I would try the reduction and see how she does, you can also increase then if needed . or go with what Ang posted in her post #10
So let's see how she does on the 3 units
Bummer you can't test until PMPS
Giving her the HC I feel was OK since you won't be able to test more during the day cycle. Better to be safe than sorry
 
Hi Alicia,
I totally think you are right about her organs are fighting over the control of her BG level!
I couldn't believe how fast she dropped this morning from the sky high red BG :eek: then, now at +6 went back up. Duh.
Hopefully this reduction can calm down the inside wars going on in her system, and start giving me gentler curves!

I also may be incorrectly anthropomorphizing organs, so take me with a grain of salt. :confused::bighug:
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom and @Angela & Cleo.
I feel that I'm always several steps behind Mikan's BGs going up and down when I'm not expecting :confused: So easy to feel at a loss!
Having guidelines and support from experts like you makes a world of difference. I can't thank you enough.
I'll stay at 3U for now and see how she does in the next few days.

On some days, I feel that we've come a long way. On other days, I feel we are back to square one.
That's what FD does, I suppose!
 
Ya, thanks Amy.
If she is high all the time, it depresses me. If she is a bit too low, it makes me anxious.
Now she is up and down all the time, it's making me psychotic, I think. :rolleyes:
Oh, it makes me feel horrible to say this, but I spat up my coffee laughing at this message. But only out of my complete relatability. I’ve been there. Take a look at Herman’s spreadsheet from last year. We eventually got him into remission and yes he fell out but we caught it early and now he’s pretty stable so it is possible. But yeah, I was absolutely psychotic through the worst of it. I was so anxious all the time.
 
Oh, it makes me feel horrible to say this, but I spat up my coffee laughing at this message. But only out of my complete relatability. I’ve been there. Take a look at Herman’s spreadsheet from last year. We eventually got him into remission and yes he fell out but we caught it early and now he’s pretty stable so it is possible. But yeah, I was absolutely psychotic through the worst of it. I was so anxious all the time.
Hahaha. Don't feel bad about laughing at my psychosis! It IS in a pathetic way, funny!

I did have a look at Herman's SS in 2022. Boy, yes, you and Herman had quite a journey! That must have been so hard, week in and week out.
Thank you for sharing your experience! Really, really appreciated!
This gives me hope. Seeing how wild things were for you and Herman then, and now Herman's doing so well, moving ahead nicely.
Maybe Mikan can follow in his footprints!
 
More body humor. Mikan's rollercoasting is epic enough she could probably use it to work out a kidney stone. So, that's one kinda fun way to look at it? Not as helpful since she isn't actually on a rollercoaster, nor does she have a kidney stone (knock on so much wood, I'm not inviting evil here).
 
More body humor. Mikan's rollercoasting is epic enough she could probably use it to work out a kidney stone. So, that's one kinda fun way to look at it? Not as helpful since she isn't actually on a rollercoaster, nor does she have a kidney stone (knock on so much wood, I'm not inviting evil here).
Alicia, you are hilarious! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
But don't tell Mikan about kidney stones - she may start fancying them :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top