9/7 Jenks AMPS 73 +3 54 +4 50 +5 74 PMPS 162 +7 100 +10 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
9/6

Tough call this morning.

On the one hand, I really, really, really wanted to get a few good cycles in at 8.5U to see if his numbers would stabilize, especially with both of us here to monitor.

On the other hand, the spreadsheet tells the tale. There's too much lime green. As much as I want him to remain in these amazing stretches of green numbers, I can't ignore that he's dropping under 50 twice a day and that the drops are not small ones but are instead deep into shark infested waters. I can't be complacent about that 33 last night, no matter how much I want to be selfish and keep him in these under-100 numbers.

After much deliberation & a long talk with OH this morning, I opted for a BCS dose of 4.5U instead of his scheduled full dose of 8.5U. I decided that in part because Jenks was only up 40 points in 6 hours after gravy, karo, and food, and in part because my gut told me he'd just dive into the 40s again sometime this afternoon so we'd just be delaying the inevitable.

It's entirely possible he'll need another BCS for the PM shot before we resume a full dose.

It's also possible that this will put an end to his green runs, which is probably why I've been avoiding it as long as possible.
 
A 33 Jenks! That's a little overboard for the middle of the night. :eek: Good call on the BCS, Jenks seems to be on a roll of late and battling lows with a larger depot is no fun.
 
BCS turned out to be a good call this morning. Look at that first quarter action, even on a half dose. Jenks remained firmly in the greens until at least midcycle. By PMPS, he's up to high blues.

I had to debate whether to give him another BCS dose tonight.

In favor of that decision is that he's a big cat that carries around a big depot, so he often needs back-to-back BCS doses to get a noticeable drain. In the past, when he has received only one BCS dose during these very active periods, he has shown the ability to resume his lows almost immediately.

As for arguments against that decision, back-to-back BCS doses usually happen when his pre-shot is still pretty low following the reduced dose. There is also a risk of numbers going even higher, which would make it all the more difficult to bring them down in the next cycle. Once we get into the swinging pendulum pattern of big drops, followed by big reactionary bouncing, we don't usually have much success getting out of it. Additionally, if he goes low again, it doesn't preclude yet another BCS during a future cycle.

On balance, I believe that the higher PMPS indicates he's more drained than not, and that the chance for higher numbers to persist overnight with a BCS dose outweighs that of him dropping too low on a full dose, so I went ahead and returned to the full 8.5U.

Time will tell if that was the correct decision.
 
Good luck. I never had to do more than one BCS in a row, but my girl was a bit more bouncy than Jenks. Been a while since you've had to do a BCS.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko! Hopefully it helps him get back into ideal numbers while tempering the lows. But we all know that Jenks does whatever Jenks wants, and the rest of us are just along for the ride.
 
Jenks at the edge of the lagoon at the midcycle feeding. Resolving that higher blue didn't pose much trouble for him, though I wonder just how far he'll go by morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top