9/7 Cleo AMPS 132 +5.5 34 +11.5 120 PMPS 153 +2.5 212 +5 175

@Bandit's Mom Bhooma right again :bighug:. Almost :D right about onset. This Vet visit is going to stress her out and ruin the curve. Maybe I should cancel o_O

I think it's still the depot.
She was on 2.75U for 10 days/21 cycles. Does the length of time on a dose effect the depot for a longer period of time or is it the same 4-6cycles? Just curious and may experiment this on Cleo lol.
 
Just getting online and seeing the lime. Why am I not surprised! :rolleyes: When do you have to leave for the vet?
Still the higher depot, so no reduction.
 
Just getting online and seeing the lime. Why am I not surprised! :rolleyes: When do you have to leave for the vet?
Still the higher depot, so no reduction.
You called it! Cleo is very proud to have not disappointed you:p.
Should have left for appointment at +3.25 -3.5, so I called to reschedule.
Just tested at 3.75 and she's 57. Will update in an hour.
 
I absolutely had to leave the house at +7 but she would not let me get another test. I left out HC-LC mix for her and DH should be home around +8ish.

@Bandit's Mom & @tiffmaxee - Cleo has placed me directly in a gray area for dosing. I understand that this am cycle is influenced by the higher depot, but the sticky says to take a reduction if under 40 no matter what. Not sure if that means I should reduce her dose at PM shot time or hold it at 2.5.
 
You had 3 cycles of 2.5u. I would go ahead and take the reduction. You are right, always reduce if you see a number in the 30s. Cleo gave you a hard time as well so better safe than sorry.
 
@Bandit's Mom & @tiffmaxee - Cleo has placed me directly in a gray area for dosing. I understand that this am cycle is influenced by the higher depot, but the sticky says to take a reduction if under 40 no matter what. Not sure if that means I should reduce her dose at PM shot time or hold it at 2.5.
I have been wondering about this since I saw the 34. A drop below 40 is usually a reduction - even if it's back to back. The only reason I was hesitating to suggest that you take a reduction was because she has a tendency to not hold them (and this is the previous depot like you pointed out). See how high she is at PMPS and what Elise suggests.
 
Did you wait to feed hc until the 34? With the depot I would have fed mc with the 57 and 55. If the pmps is low as in green much under 100 I would take the reduction. If high I would not and see tonight’s cycle and the amps.
 
Did you wait to feed hc until the 34? With the depot I would have fed mc with the 57 and 55. If the pmps is low as in green much under 100 I would take the reduction. If high I would not and see tonight’s cycle and the amps.
Hi Elise,
Thank you so much for your input. Just for clarification purposes I fed as follows:
+3.25 BG 44 2 tsps HC (24%)
+4.25 BG 57 LC - Mix of 5.5% & 3%
+4.5 BG 55 LC - Mix of 5.5% & 3%
+5.5 BG 34 2 tsps HC (24%)
I think :bookworm: my mistake was earlier in the cycle. I should have fed MC at +1 and +2 with that string of blues within meter variance of green especially because of the depot.
 
Hi Elise,
Thank you so much for your input. Just for clarification purposes I fed as follows:
+3.25 BG 44 2 tsps HC (24%)
+4.25 BG 57 LC - Mix of 5.5% & 3%
+4.5 BG 55 LC - Mix of 5.5% & 3%
+5.5 BG 34 2 tsps HC (24%)
I think :bookworm: my mistake was earlier in the cycle. I should have fed MC at +1 and +2 with that string of blues within meter variance of green especially because of the depot.

Yes. I was thinking mc was needed early on.
 
I would do that tonight with the mc if there’s an early drop unless you decide to try a reduction.
Didn't take the reduction. AM+11.5 was 120 and PMPS 153. Shot the 2.5U with logic that she's far enough from green meter variance and looks like she's bouncing.
Yes. I was thinking mc was needed early on.

I can't thank you enough for your input. And thank you so much for validating where I think I went wrong.
 
BGs in the 30s generally warrant a reduction in dose, with few exceptions, being those caregivers who have many years of data and have a very very clear understanding of how insulin affects their cat as well as the influence of carbs. I always say don't mess with the 30s ;) and would also say when in the 30s there's not much margin for safety.

Those are just my 2 Canadian cents, for what they are worth.
 
BGs in the 30s generally warrant a reduction in dose, with few exceptions, being those caregivers who have many years of data and have a very very clear understanding of how insulin affects their cat as well as the influence of carbs. I always say don't mess with the 30s ;) and would also say when in the 30s there's not much margin for safety.

Those are just my 2 Canadian cents, for what they are worth.
Even though Cleo was diagnosed in January we are still fairly new to these lower numbers and greatly appreciate any and all input!
 
Back
Top