9/7 Chino|AMPS=375|+4=279|+6=321|PMPS=358|+2=354|+4=354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

We went up to 14.5 units this morning, but I wonder if we should've gone up to 15. The momentum of breaking a bounce got Chino to 67 on Sunday (first green in 2 weeks), but I feel like I'm still racing to catch up to his insulin needs ever since we took a larger than usual reduction 2.5 weeks ago.
 
On the 4th you shot 2.5 hours late. Not sure if you've ever shot that far off schedule before or not but it can in some kitties throw things off. With Doodles, he was super sensitive to "off-schedule" and would mess him up for quite awhile....ECID of course. Think you're good with the 14.5 with those greens and with the hurricane. Hopefully Chino will work the increase sooner than later.
 
Thinking of y'all and hope you stay safe. I think with all you have going on, you will appreciate that you aren't chasing numbers with HC food.
 
Work that extra juice Chino, just don't do anything crazy. I too would have gone with the 0.5 unit dose. He got to 60's on the last dose and you don't want to have to be dealing with low numbers in the next few days.
 
Just saw a really cool idea for keeping stuff cool during a power outage

Fill your washing machine with ice!! I would have never thought of that but it makes perfect sense!

Ewww on the stinky pinky, but considering what's going on there in Florida, I wouldn't want to chase lows....Hopefully Irma will only be a glancing blow so you can get back to a normal life!!
 
2 of my co-workers in Miami left under mandatory evacuation orders today. Even though I'm planning to wait it out, I've got medical records, cat food, meds (mine and Chino's), and documents (passport, etc) in a waterproof bag along with collars with their rabies tags and their names/my phone number. The forecast now shows that it's likely to come up the center...

The 2 PM forecast:

2017-09-07_2PMForecast.png


The 8 PM forecast:

2017-09-07_8PMForecast.png
 
If I end up having to go up to 15 units, I still have enough Lantus to last 13 days. If 14.5 units doesn't give him a green nadir after 6 cycles, I'm taking him up to 15.5. I just really want to get him back to where he used to be (seeing blue/green on a regular basis) before we switch to Levemir... otherwise, I feel like I'm setting him up for failure. He's living in the 300s and that's not good. +2 was 354.
 
I don't blame you for wanting him out of those pinks. He doesn't have to be in blues before switching to Levemir, but I might wait until things are a little more settled after this weekend before switching. I'd be good to make sure you will be able to be on line, just in case.

Have you thought about giving him just a little bit of R? He might be seeing some NDW now and I would have been tempted after seeing him pop back up this afternoon.
 
Have you thought about giving him just a little bit of R? He might be seeing some NDW now and I would have been tempted after seeing him pop back up this afternoon.

I'm not giving R unless he approaches/exceeds 400, because if R gets him to a green nadir that he wouldn't have reached without it, we'll be stuck at an ineffective dose for another 6 cycles. My concern with his typical BGs at the time of the switch is that he'll be on a lower dose of Levemir. If I'm reducing his dose and he already needs more than what he's getting now, it just prolongs the time he has to spend above the renal threshold until I'm able to take him back up to an effective dose.

Just like last night, the +2 and +4 are the same. I'm not getting up for a +8 tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top