9/7 Baby - AMPS 364; +7 53; +11.75 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

D & Baby

Member Since 2011
I have time crucial work to do today so I have to post and run. I'll check back in later, though. (Working from home so I can monitor the cat.)

I gave him a quarter tablet of the cyproheptadine this morning. An hour later when it was time to feed him, he was drooling and kind of smacking his lips. I fed him via syringe anyway and he took a nap after. He was still sleeping when I went to take a blood glucose reading 20 minutes ago, but perked right up and sat in my lap for a while after the prick. He went into the other room and I could hear him ripping paper or something so I went to investigate and he was going at a bag of cat treats my daughter left out that she'd been feeding one of our other cats. I took it away (but not before he' d managed to chomp a few) and gave him some deli turkey, as he was meowing for food, and he ate an ounce. He is now enjoying a sunbeam nap. (Wish I could join him!)

I may have to syringe feed him again when he's due because I want to make sure he's getting enough food, but I'll try giving it to him on a plate first and see how it goes.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Lip smacking is a sign of nausea. I really wish your vet had treated both. Please be aware of the nausea signs- showing interest in food but licking or sniffing and walking away, lip smacking, lip licking and teeth grinding. I don't know if drooling is a side effect of cypro or a sign of nausea. I'll have to look this up. Good luck with the tempting him to eat. I know how discouraging it is to assist feed and tempt to eat. There is most likely an underlying cause that needs addressing. Did you get the lab work? Do you want my electronic fax number so they can fax it? I can email the report to you in a pdf file after I receive it.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Side effects typically include dry mouth vs. drooling or lip smacking. The fact that he was trying to get at treats and did eat on his own does sound promising.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Edit I just saw Sienne's reply. I'd stay aware of whether nausea is an issue and be prepared to act on it.. A lot of people underestimate it and don't acknowledge it as a factor.

I asked some people from the Feline Assisted Feeding forum and they all agree that drooling and lip smacking are signs of nausea and not the cypro as you didn't give the higher dose.

So you have a choice:
1. Keep giving the cypro without anti nausea medication. It may help a cat eat short term but can lead to long term food aversion.
2. Push your vet to give an anti nausea medication along with cypro. Often antinausea medication alone is enough to help a cat eat on their own again. Ondansetron or Dolasetron. NOT Reglan/metoclopromide (not helpful in cats unless the stomach isn't emptying well - vomiting hours after feeding). Cerenia is good for vomiting but not for general nausea. Here is a link to an article written by a vet for vets on anti nausea medications for cats.

http://veterinarycalendar.dvm360.com/avhc/content/printContentPopup.jsp?id=676860

3. There is most likely an underlying reason for the inappetance. Sometimes it is psychological (stress in the home).

Pancreatitis can cause diabetes. It is painful. Symptoms include pain, dehydration and nausea and inappetance. Treatment includes pain medication (bupeprenorhine), fluids, antinausea medication and food.

Feline Hepatic Lipidosis - caused when a cats liver clogs with fat when they process body fat for fuel to make up for no calories. This is liver failure and is extremely nauseating. The medication is a lot of food to clear out the liver, anti nausea medication, and a liver supplement.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

i know this will muddy the waters even more, but wanted to throw this in here for consideration...
when i give cypro to alex she foams at the mouth, smacks her lips, and drools. the dose is a quarter tab. i've tried wrapping it in cheese and pill pockets, but she'll have no part of that!
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

While he had been interested in food but not wanting to eat it, the only time I've seen the lip-smacking or drool was the one I mentioned in my first post. I thought maybe it was the drug, or, if he was nauseous, it was the drug making him nauseous. I don't know. But I was encouraged by the fact that he wanted to eat on his own.

I did give him some cat food to eat for his next feeding and he ate 3/4 oz. of it and then let me syringe feed some food as well.

Then just now, my kids said "hey, Baby is eating dry food". He had managed to get in the basement (door was closed because I didn't want him going down to get any leftover morsels or to use the litter box until I could monitor, so it must not have been closed tight) and was nibbling the dry food. The last few days, in my effort to get him to eat anything, he would not touch it with a 10-foot pole. So before I could get down the stairs he headed for the litter box. I ran back up, grabbed a ketone strip and stuck it under him as he peed. It did get a bit of litter on it as well, but presuming that did not affect it, he has no ketones.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

YAY for no ketones!!! and for eating!
:mrgreen: :razz: :-D :cool: :-D :razz: :mrgreen: :smile: :razz: :cool: :mrgreen: :-D :razz: :smile: :cool: :mrgreen: :-D :razz:
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Thanks, Dyana.

We're not out of the woods yet, obviously. The fact that he has an appetite and is eating some on is own is great, but I'm still having to syringe in order to get enough food into him.

I'm also unsure of whether or not to shoot tonight. I can't use the work around to create a spreadsheet because I'm at work (at home, but using my work computer) and can't download the document and I don't yet have access to the one Sam&Smores created for Baby. So I'll have to post in the thread again. I'm off to feed him again now.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

D --

We really need numbers in order to help you with your question. It would be irresponsible to make a blind recommendation without having Baby's SS or some other means of gauging dose and response.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

YEAH FOR NO KETONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Other's will chime in, I'm sure, but no ketones is awesome b/c it lets us focus primarily on eating.

On the SS, I think I just made you the owner. You should have gotten an e-mail from Google Docs that says something useful (hopefully :? )?

The editable link is here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... n_US#gid=0
And you should be able to see it from http://docs.google.com/ if you log in

You will want to add this code to your signature:
Code:
[url=https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&key=0AqnlaGwGVydfdEE1amFOSlFYR2U3aXRPRkxvNTVUMnc&output=html]Baby's SS[/url]
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Editing to say that these numbers are now in Baby's ss which is in my signature now.


Of course -- I just meant I could not access the actual ss so I have to put it here.

7 pm - 1 unit shot
PMPS 1 - 384
PMPS 2:15 - 430
PMPS 3:30 - 370
PMPS 11:30 - 364
7 am - 1.25 unit shot
AMPS 1 - 400
AMPS 2 - 353
AMPS 4:15 - 234
AMPS 5:15 - 111
AMPS 6 - 64
AMPS 7:10 - 53
AMPS 8:45 - 56
AMPS 9:40 - 63

So he went from pretty high to pretty low pretty fast. I can post when/what I fed him as well.
Scheduled to shoot again in 2 hours, 15 minutes.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Just wanted to say Thanks for helping out with the spreadsheet, Sam. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

Yes, THANK YOU!
Crazy days here and I have not had time to get on my own computer to do the download.
Testing to see if it's showing in my signature now...
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

I don't think you download the spreadsheet. Its an online spreadsheet done through Google docs. You load the template and save it with your name all in the online google documents section. You need a google account. The only thing you need is an internet connection.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - A quick update

I believe it's supposed to work through Google docs, Karrie. But it doesn't work properly right now. Believe me -- I must have tried 50 times! So the work around includes downloading a document, which I can't do on my work computer or my husband's work computer (which I often use for personal use because it's so much faster than mine).

Big thanks to Sam for creating one for me!
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot and if so, what amount?

OOOPs - ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Slap me. I mussed have missed that with my tunnel vision.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot and if so, what amount?

ss - nice!
See what the PMPS number is.

Any idea how many calories baby may be getting in a day?
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot and if so, what amount?

I haven't done the math, but approx. two cans of Fancy Feast Turkey something (Classic), plus 1.75 oz. turkey and .75 oz. of 9-Lives Flaked Tuna so far today. I imagine I'll get one more can worth of the FF into him after/at shot time and before bed about 3 hours PS. Hopefully he'll eat more on his own as well. But I can't guarantee he'll eat tonight after I go to bed.

Is the PMPS number the number right at shooting time?

I'm going to check him now since it's been an hour since the last one...

112 now an hour and a half before shot time.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot and if so, what amount?

If you can test at about 15 min. before shot time and then post, someone should be around to help.

PLEASE, edit your subject line so we will know that you have test information. For those of us who are around to lend a hand, it is way too time consuming to have to keep opening your condo to figure out if you've posted.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot?

Change after I get the test info?
Will do.

I'm not up on the proper procedures here, sorry.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - Help -- Do I shoot?

Take a look at the various subject lines in the Lantus forum. The idea is to give the most critical info in the Subject. Right now, maybe a subject like:

9/7 Baby - AMPS 364; +7 53; +11 112 - What do I shoot?

With the icon changed the the "?"
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - AMPS 364; +7 53; +11.75 128 - What do I shoot

I'm aiming for a dose that may be a little lower than the 1.0u but that will let your shoot twice a day so you don't have to keep changing the dose. What would you think about 0.75u?
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - AMPS 364; +7 53; +11.75 128 - What do I shoot

I think that sounds good.

I was debating 1 but that seemed like too much. And a half seemed like too little. Flying blind I would have gone .5 because I just didn't know what else to do.

I'll give it a shot, so to speak.

Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 9/7 Baby - AMPS 364; +7 53; +11.75 128 - What do I shoot

Hopefully you will be able to hold the 0.75u dose for a few shots in a row! :-D

Fingers cross that tonight is smooth, but make sure to get some readings at +2, +3, +4 and as late as you can. If Baby starts to head down to the low greens, you need to be ready to help him stay >50.

Great job getting food in!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top