9/7 Artemis AMPS 339 +2 329 +4 283 +9 316 +11 267 PMPS 322 +4 255 +6 230 +8 279

MemberLeftDueToAbusiveMod

Member Since 2023
Previous Post
Next Post


Day before the road trip. Would like to increase to 2.25u, but not sure if I'll be able to get multiple tests or midpoint tests after Sunday. I'll probably be able to get some BG tests in while I'm traveling with him during fuel-ups and pit stops, so if I increase to 2.25u tonight, it won't be like I can't test him for hours and hours at a time until after Sunday eve 9/10/23.

Also, travel concern:
Where can I find help or guides on easiest way to travel with glargine and keep it within temp? I was thinking just an insulated yeti thermos and a bit of ice that's replaced each day? Any other thoughts on road trips with kitty on insulin I need to think about?
 
Last edited:
Previous Post

Day before the road trip. Would like to increase to 2.25u, but not sure if I'll be able to get multiple tests or midpoint tests after Sunday. I'll probably be able to get some BG tests in while I'm traveling with him during fuel-ups and pit stops, so if I increase to 2.25u tonight, it won't be like I can't test him for hours and hours at a time until after Sunday eve 9/10/23.

Also, travel concern:
Where can I find help or guides on easiest way to travel with glargine and keep it within temp? I was thinking just an insulated yeti thermos and a bit of ice that's replaced each day? Any other thoughts on road trips with kitty on insulin I need to think about?
@tiffmaxee
 
I agree with Bhooma, you need to hold the 2u for at least 6 cycles.

Then you reassess the dose, you will look at nadirs and decide if he needs to be taken up, the text below explains how the nadirs will influence that decision. I always double checked with the board, initially because I lacked experience, and was a bit trigger happy, then later to get a second set of eyes in ncase I was missing something on the SS

From the TR Guidelines

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
 
Back
Top