9/7 AMPS 151 +3 179 PMSP 91

Lisa & Nacho

Active Member
Hi! This is my second go around with nacho - he has been on Lantus again for a few days - I can't remember if his pre shot is 91 - do I give him insulin? Or hold? Thank you! I think his new spreadsheet is linked with a tab for his old spreadsheet also.

also fyi - I think the steroid shot he was given for allergies a few weeks ago may have knocked him out of remission so I am hoping to get him back in!
 
Sorry nobody saw this sooner. With SLGS you don’t shoot if under 90. Being recently back in insulin and starting on 1.5 with a green pmps you would stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if in the way up without being food influenced . What did you do?

The reduction bg is under 90.
 
Sorry nobody saw this sooner. With SLGS you don’t shoot if under 90. Being recently back in insulin and starting on 1.5 with a green pmps you would stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if in the way up without being food influenced . What did you do?

The reduction bg is under 90.

no problem! I am still learning again since it was 7 years ago when he first had it - I fed him but did not give insulin. I just tested at +2 and he is only at 110. So not sure if I should hold it for now?

I need to update my signature too with current info for him :)
 
I think I would skip insulin and I’m thinking you were given too big a starting dose unless he’s a very large cat. I would have started with 1.0. How much does he weigh? Cats do often fall out of remission if given a steroid shot. What kind of allergies?

if you do give insulin you can on.y give it 30 minutes early every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycje so it will take time a couple days to get back on your schedule.
 
Last edited:
I think I would skip insulin and I’m thinking you were given too big a starting dose unless he’s a very large cat. I would have started with 1.0. How much does he weigh? Cats do often fall out of remission if given a steroid shot. What kind of allergies?

if you do give insulin you can on.y give it 30 minutes early every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycje so it will take time a couple days to get back on your schedule.

i can definitely go back down to 1 - do you think I should tomorrow? Or see the AM number and decide from there?

he is about 13/14 lbs. I didn't realize that could cause that unfortunately - I took him to the vet a few weeks back because he keeps itching his ears/getting scabs on his head :/ they are thinking food allergies but I don't think they really know. The only thing they offered was a prescription food to try to change him to - but he has been exclusively fed by wet food since in remission.....

He was given an antibiotic and steroid and it cleared up great for a few weeks - then I noticed he was drinking a lot more and then the crusty ears/scratching came back..... so I knew - tested him at home and confirmed at the vet that his sugars were out of whack :( he is still scratching a lot (no ear infections etc).. so I am not sure yet what caused him to start excessively scratching. Any advice of where to turn for that issue?
 
Allergies are tough. I have a cat that has them. My vet said it was caused by protein so I kept changing but kept coming back. I started her on Zyrtec, 1/2 a regular strength and it’s helped a lot. I think it’s environmental and no clue what brings it on. She has eosinophilic granuloma and dermatitis. She scratched so much a few months ago her ear was bleeding. She had been off Zyrtec for several months so started again. Have you tried a novel protein, one never eaten before? It’s a lot easier to find if feeding raw but there are some canned. You really need to read all the ingredients because many add fish or chicken even though the name does not reflect that.

See where the bg is in the morning. I’m wondering if 1,25 or 1.0 would be better. Let’s see if we can get a few more opinions. @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
I wonder if the Zyrtec would be a good choice to try so he hopefully stops scratching! He will scratch and make his ears and head bleed :( just so odd since it came out of no where! But could be environmental like you said. I will look into a protein he has not had and see what I can find.

Just tested him at +4 and he is at 103!
 
Do you have a copy of the labs? I always get them emailed to me. Wonder if the eosinophils are high? I’d give zyrtec a try. There is actually a study that shows it can help. It’s totally safe. I knew that as it works as an appetite stimulant for many cats not that my cat needs that.
 
Do you have a copy of the labs? I always get them emailed to me. Wonder if the eosinophils are high? I’d give zyrtec a try. There is actually a study that shows it can help. It’s totally safe. I knew that as it works as an appetite stimulant for many cats not that my cat needs that.

yes! I just looked - that one is high - eosinophils 1410 (range: 0-1000). Besides his blood glocuse that is the other one that is out of range. His platelets are also slightly low at 183 (range: 200-500), but the vet did not mention those. She did mention the eosinophils being high because of an allergy now that I remember my visit.

His steroid shot was 5/20/24 -- and he was doing great until that 6-8 week mark when the itching/scabbing came back and the water consumption so he was Re diagnosed with diabetes last month.
 
If the Preshot was 91, in all likelihood the BG dropped lower than that during the cycle. I think I’d drop the dose to 1 unit.
And I agree with giving Zyrtec. I give 1/2 Zyrtec to one of my cats every day for allergies.

do you give the Zyrtec in the wet food? I have a feeling my cat may put up a fight with taking a pill haha.
 
I cost the pill and make a little ball covering it with food. I out it in the dish with the rest of her meal and she eats it.
 
I just pop thr 1/2 Zyrtec in Clover’s mouth before breakfast. She knows the routine and waits for it before starting to eat. I nurse her, hold her by the scruff, open her mouth and put the pill in the back of her mouth.
 
His long since the +2? It would be interesting to see another test before bed.

his morning AMPS today was 334 - so I gave him 1 unit. Not sure if I should have went with 1.5 still, but for now I went down to 1. Thoughts? :) thanks for your help!
 
He’s bouncing from the lower bg yesterday and the skipped shot. It’s to be expected as his body needs to get used to normal bg again. You dose based upon how low a dose takes the cat and not how high. See where he lands when he adjusts to this. I think 1 unit was a good call.
 
Back
Top