Wendy Jones
Member Since 2020
should I reduce dose from 3.25 to 3 since his bg is 107 at pmps? He's eating dinner now but he didn't eat much. Should I wait till he eats more?
I hate to skip it cause he'll be high as a kite by morning but I'm never sure at what number gets a reduction or skipped altogether. I am happy to be reducing for a change though!It's been an hour since last check and he's 146. He did eat more dinner and its about 45 mins after his shot was due
I tbought it was up to date. Since he's at 146 now and only 1 hr past shot time he's still good to get his dose right? I know it's up due to food but he'll skyrocket by morning if I skip.Next time you want dose help, could you make sure the spreadsheet is up to date. You shot full dose on 120 a couple night ago, 107 could have been shootable if you were prepared to monitor. It’s within meter variance of 120. If this happens again, just one of your options is to stall 20 minutes or so and retest. But if you stall, you cannot feed. You want to make sure he is coming up on his own without influence of food.
No reduction earned, his dose is still 3.25 units.
I gave him his full dose. That was my first thought but since it was close to 100 I maybe I should reduce since he's been lower lately. I should just start trusting my instinct.Next time you want dose help, could you make sure the spreadsheet is up to date. You shot full dose on 120 a couple night ago, 107 could have been shootable if you were prepared to monitor. It’s within meter variance of 120. If this happens again, just one of your options is to stall 20 minutes or so and retest. But if you stall, you cannot feed. You want to make sure he is coming up on his own without influence of food.
No reduction earned, his dose is still 3.25 units.
It's confusing, but due to the nature of the depot, it doesn't work that way. The depot usually controls the following cycle, and influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So a one time reduction doesn't mean the cycle plays out much differently, unless you do a significant reduction.In my mind it seems like less insulin means he wouldn't go down as far.
Yes I can. Wouldnt mind sleeping in actually. Lol. I guess it's hard to imagine tiger not dropping much when lately he's gone from 300 to 100. Is the whole (skipping dose under 100) really for the fast acting insulin?It's confusing, but due to the nature of the depot, it doesn't work that way. The depot usually controls the following cycle, and influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So a one time reduction doesn't mean the cycle plays out much differently, unless you do a significant reduction.
Glad you shot - shooting low typically leads to flatter cycles. I loved shooting in the 80's, cause Neko typically wouldn't move more than 10 points (unless it was up). But I was following TR so could shoot later.
Can you shoot an hour later tomorrow morning and still be on schedule?
Thank you. I may be switching to Levemir soon because of his skin reaction to Basaglar. Do you look at post in that forum too? I wasn't sure if people specialized in certain types or not.You definitely can shoot lower for depot insulin that fast acting ones. The other thing to remember is that the Lantus/Basaglar doesn't kick in, or onset, until 2-3 hours after you shoot. So you've got that length of time to get his numbers up, and his meal will help do that. As will the insulin dose from the previous cycle wearing off.
Oh good. Didn't realize it was the same forum. Thanks for your help again.The Levemir forum is this forum too - and I've used both Lantus and Levemir. You will get people commenting on your spreadsheet who have not used your insulin - though they might be missing some of the subtleties of the different insulin type.
Does 53 nadir earn Tiger a reduction? He's been consistently around 100 and I've been giving him the full dose. Last night he was 117 at pmps, 74 at +6 so I got up to recheck him at +9 and he was 53. I gave him some low carb can just in case he was on the lower end of the meter variance but he seemed fine so I'm sure he was in normal range but I feared it may drop too low without food. This morning I reduced his shot to 3.Oh good. Didn't realize it was the same forum. Thanks for your help again.
Thank you! I'll start a new post next time. Its just usually you that replies anyway.Please start a new post each day. Due to the number of kitties/people on here, it helps us manage the volume to do a new post for each new day that you post something, with a link to the previous post.
To answer the question, per SLGS, if a cat goes under 90, an immediate reduction of 0.25 units is earned. Glad to see you reduced. Tiger is looking much better these last few days.![]()