9/6 Zener PMBG 93;+12.5 86;+13 125;+14.5 185 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 9/5/11

Hello everyone in LL,

I have returned from Germany with travel adventures getting there (Irene) and getting back (plane delays, missed flights etc). The meeting and conference were successful, I wish I could do the Star Trek transporting thing and skip the airport, flying adventures!

Yesterday's summary
9/5/11 Zener AlphaTrak
AMPS 237, 7th cycle @ 1.25u, 0.5oz 10%, vomit, 1oz 10%
+1 167, 0.5oz 10%
+2 123, 2t 17%
+2.5 106, 2t 17%
+3 94, 3 semi-soft treats, 1t 17%
+3.5 100, 2t 17%
+4 103, 1t 17%, 1 semi-soft treat
+5 124, 1t 13%
+6 122, not hungry
+7 106, 0.5oz 11%
+8 114, 0.5oz 11%
+10 148
PMPS 178, 8th cycle @ 1.25u, 1oz 11%,
+1 230, 1oz 11%
+2, 0.5oz 11%
+3 248, 0.5oz 11%
+5 313, 1oz 11% negative for ketones and glucose in urine

Liz did a fantastic job as BIC, single mom while I was gone. Zener rewarded her great job and welcomed me back with a very active cycle yesterday morning - blue and green ARE our favorite colors! Looks like bounce behavior began last night. And as Scarlett O'Hara said "tomorrow is another day" so we shall see what today brings. :-D

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%

Back to work today after missing the first week of classes because of my travel. It was very nice to have the Labor Day holiday yesterday to spend with Liz and kitties! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

So nice that you are back Anne! Liz is an awesome stand in by the way! You are a very lucky bean.

Great day for Zener yesterday! Today is always a new day so I hope it is a great one for all of you!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Hi Melissa, how funny I just posted to you! Liz was fantastic and she is much funnier in her posts than I am! It is such a relief for both of us to know that either one can be away and Zener's care will not miss a beat. :-D
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Hi guys .. glad to hear you are back from Germany, hopefully not to many flight problems happened .. Zener, if you know your beanz favorite colors are blue and green, why are you wearing pink today? That is just silly .. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Hey Anne! The food Angela was talking about is EVO. Tarragon has UTI issues and needs to gain weight. Angela said that EVO chicken and turkey is great for that. I am going to stop today to get some and give it a try. Tarragon is super picky so I have paws crossed it will work. I will keep you posted!!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. glad to hear you are back from Germany, hopefully not to many flight problems happened .. Zener, if you know your beanz favorite colors are blue and green, why are you wearing pink today? That is just silly .. have a great day!

Hi Devon, thanks for the welcome back and the message to Zener. He often reads his condo so perhaps he will "listen" to you better than to us! ;-)
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Welcome back Anne, and looks like Zener had a nice welcome for you with the cycle yesterday. I hope not too much jet lag today. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Thanks Ann! I travel at least 1-2 times each year to Germany and despite all the practice, jet lag still is tough for me. It takes me about a day per hour time change to adjust, so I was just about on German time when I left to come home! It makes getting up in the morning easier for a few days, and then I'll get back on my night shift schedule for Zener!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS 340 Alpha Trak

Looking like we a bouncing baby bounce today!

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%
+1, 1.5oz 11%
+2, 344, 1t. 11%
+5.5 182, 0.5 oz 10%
+8 133, 1.0 oz 10%
+9 142, 1 piece FDCK (freeze-dried chicken)
+10 130, 1 piece FDCK

Liz will get a +6. I'm off to work and home later this afternoon. Tomorrow we both have very busy days so Mr Z will probably decide to break his bounce then! :shock:

Edited to add +5.5
Zener decided to drop right on into the blues, no more of that stinkin' pink! Just got home for lunch and Liz has headed in to her office, so I'll get a +8 just to be sure we are not having too much excitement today.

Edited to add +8
Well, well...Zener is trying to make things exciting today after all. Fed some 10% carbs to see if we can get a surf and stop the dropping. Will check again at +9 or +10.

Edited to add +9 and +10: OK, we are getting a nice blue surf. Zener feels great, chasing the civvie. Beans are a little nervous about further dropping. Liz
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS340;+5.5 182;+9 142;+10 130;+11 114 ATr He

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%
+1, 1.5oz 11%
+2, 344, 1t. 11%
+5.5 182, 0.5 oz 10%
+8 133, 1.0 oz 10%
+9 142, 1 piece FDCK (freeze-dried chicken)
+10 130, 1 piece FDCK
+11 114

Zener continues his late slide. We are not keen to stall but it's possible.

Question: at what value should we feed him and what should we feed him? He normally gets medium carb food (10 or 11%). We have freeze-dried chicken and 17% carb. We also have semi-soft treats that typically will give his BG a pretty good bounce.

Thank you for your help!

Liz
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS340;+5.5 182;+9 142;+10 130;+11 114 ATr He

nice. :smile: I love how fast he cleared this bounce!

I wouldn't feed until you shoot, unless he gets too low (like probably around 70 on AlphaTrak).
 
Re: 9/6 Zener AMPS340;+5.5 182;+9 142;+10 130;+11 114 ATr He

Yes, isn't that great to see him in blue so quickly? I loved someone's comment today that they were looking forward to when 160 was considered a bounce. Us too.

You have more nerve than we do right now. Maybe feed when he gets below 100? Is the below 70 to get him to earn a dose reduction? That makes us very nervous.

Thanks for your help and all you do for everyone in LL. We really appreciate your contributions.
 
Re: 9/6 Zener +5.5 182;+9 142;+10 130;+11 114;+12 93 ATr Hel

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%
+1, 1.5oz 11%
+2, 344, 1t. 11%
+5.5 182, 0.5 oz 10%
+8 133, 1.0 oz 10%
+9 142, 1 piece FDCK (freeze-dried chicken)
+10 130, 1 piece FDCK
+11 114
+12 93

Ok, still dropping. Our plan now is to test again at +12.5. If he's still low or dropping, we are going to give a token dose of 0.25u because of our work schedules and then shave the dose to skinny 1.25u in the morning. Does this seem like a reasonable plan?
Liz
 
Re: 9/6 Zener +5.5 182;+9 142;+10 130;+11 114;+12 93 ATr Hel

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%
+1, 1.5oz 11%
+2, 344, 1t. 11%
+5.5 182, 0.5 oz 10%
+8 133, 1.0 oz 10%
+9 142, 1 piece FDCK (freeze-dried chicken)
+10 130, 1 piece FDCK
+11 114
+12 93, 1 piece FDCK
+12.5 86, 2t. 17%, no shot

We decided we are not comfortable with shooting a dropping low number, even a token dose, and are thinking that we will skip this shot and get on our work schedule in the morning. We gave him 2t of 17% carbs to stop the drop. Does this earn a dose reduction? Advice is appreciated.

Edited to add +13
+13, 125, licked gravy off 2t. 11% carbs.
Zener appears to be trying to hack up a hairball, so he isn't interested in eating right now. We'll get another BG value in 30 minutes and see what's going on. Is there a full moon somewhere?
 
Re: 9/6 Zener PMBG 93;+12.5 86;+13 125 ATr Help

i don't think that earns him a dose reduction - are you thinking that because it's too low or because of the timing in the cycle?

poor zener. i wouldn't like hair in my stomach either. ewww.

btw, i loved your story of stump and the oven glass! :lol:

welcome home anne! liz did a super job while you were gone! we're glad you made it home safely!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener PMBG 93;+12.5 86;+13 125 ATr Help

Agree with Julie....it doesn't earn a reduction unless he is below 50 (80 on the AT) which is too low to shoot. Then you would take the reduction as normal. Wise choice to not shoot a dropping number with him.

You have to develop your own technique with him on dropping numbers. I know Libby said not to feed and I would not feed the +11. But if Gracie is clearing a bounce and is fairly low by +10 and I know she's going to continue to drop, I do feed the +10 to try and bump her up for her PS. I know Laurie and Mr. T has used this technique, too, when Mr. T. was very low at the end of his cycle. And I believe Michelle might do it occasionally. If I bump Gracie up (no later than +10) than most of the time, I can shoot the PS number but you still have to monitor like crazy in case they want to come back down.
 
Re: 9/6 Zener PMBG 93;+12.5 86;+13 125 ATr Help

julie1220 said:
i don't think that earns him a dose reduction - are you thinking that because it's too low or because of the timing in the cycle?
Hi Julie, it's Anne here now. We were thinking because of how hard we were having to work to keep him up. Also, we had increased back to 1.25 from 1.0 (which Liz was shooting while I was gone and also because he had some action right before I left). Fortunately at +13.5 Zener was interested in eating again, so we think he must have cleared the hairball without puking it up.

Thanks for the welcome home wishes. Liz did do a great job while I was away!
 
Re: 9/6 Zener PMBG 93;+12.5 86;+13 125 ATr Help

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Agree with Julie....it doesn't earn a reduction unless he is below 50 (80 on the AT) which is too low to shoot. Then you would take the reduction as normal. Wise choice to not shoot a dropping number with him.

Thanks Marje, it's Anne here. We've had quite a bit of action the past two days and looking back on his SS when this has happened before, we see where we shaved the dose, kept it there for quite a few cycles, and ended up reducing again. Jill had advised us that shaving might be a good plan with him because of his CH and it seems to have helped in the past. So, we are considering shaving tomorrow (depending on how his numbers look of course) to a sk 1.25 rather than a reduction. We think the decrease before I left from 1.25 to 1.0 was not successful and considered shaving then, but were concerned about Liz being the single mom for the first time and opted for the 0.25 decrease, which didn't hold.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You have to develop your own technique with him on dropping numbers. I know Libby said not to feed and I would not feed the +11. But if Gracie is clearing a bounce and is fairly low by +10 and I know she's going to continue to drop, I do feed the +10 to try and bump her up for her PS. I know Laurie and Mr. T has used this technique, too, when Mr. T. was very low at the end of his cycle. And I believe Michelle might do it occasionally. If I bump Gracie up (no later than +10) than most of the time, I can shoot the PS number but you still have to monitor like crazy in case they want to come back down.
We were trying to see if we could feed him at the front end of his cycle and be more consistent when we were feeding. This +10 feeding makes lots of sense to me, and I have tried it a few times in the past to bump him up for his PS. Looks like it may be time to try it again, if we see more dropping numbers late in his cycle!

Hope all is well with kitties in LL, I'm quite behind after being away. Hopefully this weekend, I'll have time to catch up a little. Liz has been doing a great job of keeping me updated from LL while I get back on Arizona time. The jet lag really sets me back for several days.

And I have been in Bonn during Rhine in Flamen, sitting at a lovely cafe while the boats float down the river with all the spectacular fireworks! The travel to and from Germany was full of delays and other adventures, but the time in Germany was great! Liz did such a great job of being the single mom and BIC!
 
What a crazy day, from blues on the SS to the bean blues. :YMSIGH:

Today
9/6/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 340, 9th cycle @1.25, 1.2 oz 11%
+1, 1.5oz 11%
+2, 344, 1t. 11%
+5.5 182, 0.5 oz 10%
+8 133, 1.0 oz 10%
+9 142, 1 piece FDCK (freeze-dried chicken)
+10 130, 1 piece FDCK
+11 114
PMBG +12 93, 1 piece FDCK
+12.5 86, 2t. 17%, no shot
+13 125, not eating, trying to cough up hairball
+13.5, ate 1 oz 11% with 1/4t 17% on top to start him eating
+14.5 185, no appetite

Tonight the beans have the blues. Decided because of dropping number and work schedule not permitting us to stall that we would skip shot tonight. The ups and downs from BG numbers to appetite can really get to us sometimes. Zener has been feeling really good tonight and was even playing, until the hack hack hairball episode. Never did puke it up though. Considering the dropping numbers and his decreased eating tonight, we feel like we made the right call. But it is hard to skip when he has been doing so well. :sad: Guess we should take advantage of the skipped shot to give Zener's ears a rest and we can get a good night's sleep without having to wake up for tests throughout the night. Plan to shoot in the AM back on our work schedules and start the dance over again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top