9/6 Shadow PMPS 94 +2~75 +4~79

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78527&p=848637#p848637

yesterday
AMPS 97
+4 77
+7 92
PMPS 91
partial furshot
+3 75
+5 70
+8 89

AMPS 98

Last night when I gave Shadow her shot, She turned and hissed at me right as I stuck her and I flinched enough that I missed some but
don't know how much. There was a big wet drop on her fur. Today's numbers are more likely to show it.

I am now , at least, prepared for the next bottle of insulin because I had been digging thru boxes and found jewelry (old gold chains, and serveral other broken pieces plus a ring that would cost me more to size up then I 'd care to spend on it ) and took it to our local
jewelry store and sold it all for meltdown.
Ideally, I would have gotten a bid and compared to at least one other but didn't feel like doing all that. I got $575. So there's our
next bottle or two. I hope we don't need more than 1 other but who knows.
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98

Nice greens today, even with the questionable shot. Gold is going for a lot right now. Good idea on using that for the insulin. Hopefully you will only need one more vial at most. From the look of things, that may be a given. Have a great day Rhiannon!
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98

Let's see how the numbers go, but nice greens happening. Sorry that you had to sell jewelry to pay for a bottle. But at least it sounds like items you wouldn't miss. Hope the day goes well!
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98

Surf on the green Shadow! You got to work on that "golden drop" of juice!
Rhiannon, it's that expansive? The Lantus Pen would cost $500?
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

When I had this filled for a vial, it was $134.70.
I had to go find my receipt.
But I've read chatter that the price has gone up and the pens are over 200.
I never thought of doing a price comparison when I got this first bottle, just went to the local grocery store.

But the thought of ordering online worries me. IF lantus should not be shaken, I can guarantee it is if it comes thru ups or fedex.
I worked for UPS. all packages get tossed and bounced. Writing fragile or do not shake on a package means absolutely nothing.
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

Hi Rhiannon, I also use the vial and order locally, and I pay about the same price you quoted, I believe. I am on my 4th month of the vial. I know the Pharmacist will tell you it's good for only 30 days, but not so. My Vet is the one who told me the length of time I can use it if I'm careful and not dropping! It's all up to the individual. I bought this vial in May and the date is rubbed off, so can't tell exact day.
Shadow is looking great today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

Beautiful surfing for Shadow today! :mrgreen: She seems to like this dose, with luck she will ignore the partial furshot.

Around here a 5 pack of Lantus pens cost way more than a single Lantus vial. The economics depends on how long you think Lantus will keep, unopened is supposed to keep longer if refrigerated and undisturbed. Single pens would cost less than a vial, but I did not find any local source willing to break up a 5 pack.
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

Look at all that pretty green on Shadow/s SS! Paws crossed it continues and then, ……..
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

Shadow is having a beautiful green surf. He really isn't bothered by the furshot today so no problem. :razz:

I use the vial also rather than the pens. It's a lot cheaper and I never had one go bad. I get it at the local drugstore too. For only one cat it seems more sensible than buying online and dealing with multiple vials, worrying about it shipping, etc, to save a few dollars per vial.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

It looks like Shadow is not bothered by the partial fur shot. Nice green surf. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88

Awesome cycle despite the partial fur shot :mrgreen:
Insulin is gold for our cats so I believe you made a fine trade:)

Hugs from me and Ella for all of your encouraging posts over the last few days. We really felt the love:)
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88+10~94 PMPS 94 +2~75

I'm not sure I would have changed Shadow's dose based on changing the syringe.

You can reduce the dose if Shadow is in normal numbers for a week.
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88+10~94 PMPS 94 +2~75

Lovely green cycle Shadow! Surf on :mrgreen: baby!
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88+10~94 PMPS 94 +2~75

What an almost perfect day!!!! Look at that green!!!!!
Gold for insulin, well, we do anything for our babies right? I just paid $229 for 5 pens, havent received them yet! But keep doing what you are doing, It Is GREAT!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88+10~94 PMPS 94 +2~75

Sorry for the late post.... Beautiful numbers for Shadow today. Always looks so great. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Nice on the $$ for the jewelry meltdown - works for me. I did alot of that type of ting when the kids were still living at home. Sure did help alot.

Hope your day was a good one. :-D
 
Re: 9/6 Shadow AMPS 98 +2~98 +4~88+10~94 PMPS 94 +2~75

Hey, Rhiannon -

Beautiful numbers today!!! Kudos on the creative way to pay for the insulin; I hope Shadow won't need it much longer. We use Levemir and went with the pens since unopened they're supposed to last longer. We did a price comparison and found Costco cheapest in our area, but only a dollar or two less than a local mom & pop pharmacy. We went with the local pharmacy because the savings wasn't worth making the extra trip to Costco. I'm told that city to city you often find different prices, so it's definitely worth calling around.

Sweet dreams -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
I can't take any credit for Shadow's numbers.
It's all her.
She doesn't even seem to know what a bounce is.

I did finally get my calipers today. It is definitely a precision instrument. Now if I could only gain my eyesight back.


I am going to post a question .
Does anyone know of any cat that went OTJ and never dealt with diabetes again.
I know the saying, once a diabetic, always a diabetic.
And I realize that if a cat makes it to old age, they will be dealing with some health issue so I guess that's where it will always come back.
I just wish to find out if you can really gain a few years without having to be on insulin.
 
Glad you got the calipers. Doug uses the lighted magnifier with the calipers. I used the lighted magnifier AND my bifocals!! :lol: Whatever it takes, right?!

I've seen several cats on here that went 2 years or more OTJ.
 
Could Shadow have a word with Neko about why it is not necessary to bounce? Such a lovely flat set of numbers she has. Paws crossed for continued greens and reducing after a week of them.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Could Shadow have a word with Neko about why it is not necessary to bounce? Such a lovely flat set of numbers she has. Paws crossed for continued greens and reducing after a week of them.

I second the notion about Shadow providing lessons and tutelage to Leo as well on the Joys of Bounceless Living. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top