9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 pmps 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin's fine this morning - healthy and happy. having his second breakfast right now . . .

i've been working for the past couple of hours on a response to my foster daughter asking for anya. thanks for all of your comments on Sunday - i tried to incorporate it all into a response. maybe she'll understand, maybe not. i don't know.

but here is what i sent her:

(((((dd))))

i've spent the last couple of days praying and searching for the right words to say - words that you can hear and understand.

again, it would be better for everyone if you brought up issues that are important to you in person rather than over facebook messaging. written words more easily cause misunderstandings.

honey, if i followed your logic here, we would've never helped you leave your adoptive family's house and taken you into our family. you were their daughter, not ours. they had chosen you years before and promised to take care of you in that process. but although i'm certain they meant to, they weren't able to - and you wanted to come and live with us. we helped you because we believed that was what you needed in order to thrive.

i know when you chose anya you had every intent of keeping her and taking care of her. you know we didn't want another cat here, but you wanted her so badly we said yes.

when it was time for you to move out, you chose an apartment that didn't allow pets. because we expected you to be gone to school all day & anya would've been left alone, and the apartment was close to us, we supported you in that choice. when we said you could leave her with us, and you agreed to come home every sunday and then wednesday to take care of her, we both meant that. but time has passed - you say you miss her, but you've had an entire year to come and spend time with her and you've come a handful of times. actions speak louder than words. if i didn't specifically ask you to take care of her while you were here, you didn't. i've changed her box, washed her messes, taken her to the vet, gotten the special food for her diarrhea, combed her hair, taken her to the groomers to get her behind shaved - and even with that i still think of her as your cat.

love is a verb, DD, not a feeling. it's showing up day after day and putting the priorities of the one you love first. feelings change, but love shows up. anya's a living being - and what is best for her has to be the priority - not what you or i want.

she and punkin have become a bonded pair. nearly every morning there is either wrestling or face washing going on between them. anya closes her eyes when she washes punkin's face because his wild old man whiskers poke her. so she sticks out her tiny little tongue and leans in with her eyes closed, giving him a few teeny delicate swipes. then he takes a turn, and he sticks out his giant tongue and he thoroughly scrubs her. then they lay down against each other and sleep for a while, totally content.

splitting them up would make them both grieve. the day i got this message from you, someone posted on the cat forum asking for help for her cat because the sibling cat had died and the surviving cat had stopped eating. i know they are "only" cats, but they feel - she and punkin love each other very much, and they would grieve if they were separated. if she were given the choice, in your heart, i think you know what she would choose.

sometimes love means letting go. i hope you love her enough that you can see that what's best for her is letting her stay here with punkin. you can come and see her anytime, just as you could've come anytime in the past year since you moved out.

i know you want her, but i don't think this is the right time in your life to have a pet. if your job works out you'll be gone most of every day. you are very much still in transition - and while we can hope that everything works out with your mom, it will take time to tell that. we hoped things would work with your grandma & dad. we hoped things would work out at school. sometimes things don't work out as we plan.

anya is expensive to take care of - if she didn't have her special food she would have diarrhea again. the vet said that kitties who've had chronic diarrhea as little ones often never get over it - and i think anya's one of them. her intestines have been damaged by it. it costs several dollars every day to feed her, not to mention that she would need another round of vaccines if she were to move.

but that's not really the issue. i just think you need to hold off on having a pet as you go through this time of life figuring out what you are doing. give yourself some time to grow up a little and settle down. but especially, i hope that loving anya you will put her needs first and understand why she needs to stay here.

much love, julie
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

i've been absent from the forum for about a month...but think your words sound very true and very reasonable.
Hope they are met with understanding and love.

celi
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Julie - That was very nicely written. You did it in a way that she really can't argue with. It is sad that you had to be put in the position to tell her no, but Anya is your cat now and separating her and Punkin would devastate both of them.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Your message was truly heart warming. I wish I had your ability with words. Very clear and concise, not an attack. She is too immature to really comprehend what you are saying but if this doesn't hit home nothing will. Just the thought of those two being split up makes my stomach sink. Stay strong Julie.

PS I had a vet appointment today and didn't leave with a red face, pounding heart or wet armpits HAHA.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Julie , I think that you did a beautiful job of writing that. I hope it really makes her think, because if she does there is only one decision she can reasonably make.
But, i hadn't realized that she didn't even contact you personally to say she wanted Anya back. Facebook? Really? :?
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

very well said julie - it was well written. i too hope she will understand. it is in the best interest of anya. i too did not realize that her request came in through a social network.... uh no. you have made the right decision.

punkin is looking good this morning. :-D
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Hang in there Julie- you're doing the right thing and you put it firmly but very gently in writing. I don't think it could have been done better.
Both Punkin and Anya appreciate it!
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Very well said. Has she seen the video you have of face washing.....no one could ever separate them....I watched it twice and really teared up seeing the two of them together. IMHO you are doing the right thing.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Hi guys .. I haven't been clued in lately on what is going on, but just wanted to say that the letter you wrote was beautifully done .. I hope your DD understands it is best for anya and punkin to be together ..
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Did I miss a video of facewashing???? Just hearing they did this made my heart melt - is it in video?
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

Julie, that is very well written. I really like "love is a verb". That captures LL perfectly.
Liz
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

This is a very well written letter. I understand the FB contact; it is 'generational'.

Loving and caring for a living thing is not a partial commitment...actions speak louder than words. When my mom took care of my kitties while I was on the East Coast...my actions indicated to my mom I would be taking them back. They were my #1 priority and they were the first thing I went to see when I hit ground on the West Coast. My mom never had any doubt they were mine and I would be taking them back. I bought their supplies, cleaned up their messes, played and loved them every moment I was home. Mom said she was VERY sad when I took them back this past April, but she saw the bond on both sides (kitties and me) and she knew from my behavior there was no chance I was ever going to let them go permanently.

The lesson she will learn from this loss is far sweeping. It may hurt initially, but in years to come she will understand she learned a lesson far greater than the loss of a cat. People have not understood my taking care of Stella at the expense of my losing my social life for the moment. I have tried to explain that if I let her go (by euthanasia or fostering) the pain I would feel would remain for a lifetime. Mine is a lesson of commitment. Knowing I am learning a 'life' lesson has pulled me through this experience with Stella.

Your pointing out that she chose an apartment that would not take pets was a good thing. She made her choice to let go at that point. Her lack of commitment afterwards was further indication that she had already let go. Growing up is a choice. Her choice to grow up will be letting go 'officially'.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 response re: anya

My daughter is 19 so I understand the minefield you're treading. I also know that you couldn't have stating your position any better. It was very loving, very logical, and very well thought out. Even so, you and I both know she's going to read into it what she chooses....and it's not going to be positive. Don't back down. Anya is Punkin's now and that's that. When she does finally grow up, and she will, she'll look back at this and totally understand and agree. Stand strong until then!!!

Punkin is looking completely awesome!!!! Keep up the good work, Julie!!!
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

you're so right, patty. she won't "hear" it well no matter how i had said it. it's hard to hold her accountable without criticizing her, but still state the facts and acknowledge that past actions affect the present and the future.

i've realized there is no coming out of this relationship well. i suspect this will be the end of it, but it won't be for lack of us trying to do the best by our foster daughter.

oh well.

in other news, i spoke with dr lunn again today and we're moving ahead with making plans for the radiation for punkin.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Hi Julie, I'm out of the loop on this and just getting caught up, but I just wanted to lend my support, and your letter stated it beautifully. I hope she can see now that Anya belongs with you and is a soulmate of punkin. They belong together.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

I don't know anything about the radiation protocol and very little about acro but you know I will be wishing Punkin does well.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Several cats have had treatment for acro & did quite well...You know I will be praying for dear punkin!
Your letter was a beautiful and brave thing to do, not only for the cats, but for your Daughter as well-
I always say this is a disposable world & just about anything can be disposed of! Living beings should not be treated this way, especially when you love & are bonded to them!
Some lessons are hard, but prove to be worth a lot in the long run--
You totally did the right thing for Punkin & Anya!
I so admire you!

I wrote something to Moonie on here this summer that was :"things my FD cat has taught me"-
She has shown me things about myself I never knew--Maybe I can find it in the older posts!

You did a GREAT thing here!! Big Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

I hope you're wrong about the relationship taking a bad turn. Your letter was heartfelt, kind, and gave her lots of leeway. I also hope Anya stays with your Punkin.

I see you made a new decision concerning the treatment at CSU. I'm excited for you both and hope it goes really well.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Julie, you have such a way with words, supportive but firm. I too, believe she will probably read negative comments in what you have written, because she just can't see past what she thinks she wants right now and she may believe that this is just one more thing that you are doing to be unfair to her. I'm sure she will come to realize in the years ahead how you knew what was best for her and for Anya. Unfortunately, right now you are going to have to play hard ball on this because Anya needs to stay with Punkin and it would be unfair to her to separate them. I wish your DD could understand how amazing you are and how you have been there for her when others haven't.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

You wrote a beautiful letter. She may feel angry and hurt today, but hopefully someday she'll see and appreciate the wisdom in all of this.

I didn't know you were thinking of going ahead with the radiation for Punkin. We'll be thinking of you while your work through the decision!

Amy
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Julie, you did a wonderful job in drafting that letter. It eloquently, firmly and yet kindly says everything that needed to be said. I know how hard you must of worked on it, and, as a former college English instructor, I give you an A+! ;-) ;-) I hope that your DD takes it to heart.


Nice +6 for Punkin... fingers and paws crossed that the radiation helps him like you and the doctors hope it will!
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Hi Julie I am out of the loop as well on what all has been going on but totally agree with what you wrote very well said....
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Julie, that is an excellent letter: compassionate, reasoned, loving, and genuine. Your daughter may not be able to appreciate its nuances now, but maybe she will in later years. Two innocent beings who cannot speak for themselves--Anya and Punkin--will suffer and grieve if your daughter persists in her chosen path. You are their advocate. I hope that she will respond to reason, but if not, you must stay strong for their sakes. It is hard to believe that she would refuse to speak with you face- to- face.

Sending you all good wishes for Punkin's radiation treatment if you decide to proceed with it.

Hugs,

Ella
 
she's a sweet girl - but a lifetime of adults making mistakes at her expense have been difficult on her. oddly enough, she hasn't responded to me, but i posted a nothing status update a couple of hours later about birds, and she did comment on that. so she isn't totally furious with me. sometimes she surprises me by what she understands. i see glimmers of hope & i can't give up on her . . . even though she's moved out and reconnected with her biological family (we found them for her), i know she still needs us to stand by her while she makes mistakes.

anyway, thanks all for your support! i did take at least 2 hours to write it (I appreciate the grade!) :lol: but i woke up this morning with the tactic clear in my head that i thought she would be able to relate to. that makes it easier.

yes, we're going ahead with the radiation. i talked to Dr Lunn this morning and she sent an email this afternoon. my greatest fear is that his body will distort and i will too late wish i'd done it. we only have one chance at some decisions. and i have a credit card, a car, and a DH who lets me have my way. :-D
 
Hi Julie - very ncie numbers tonight too.

I wish you luck with the radiation treatment for Punkin. I hope it all works out, as you are right - sometimes we only get one chance.
 
Re: 9/6 punkin amps 235 +3/180 +6/134 response re: anya

Christie & Willie said:
Julie, you did a wonderful job in drafting that letter. It eloquently, firmly and yet kindly says everything that needed to be said. I know how hard you must of worked on it, and, as a former college English instructor, I give you an A+! ;-) ;-) I hope that your DD takes it to heart.


Nice +6 for Punkin... fingers and paws crossed that the radiation helps him like you and the doctors hope it will!

Yes. The former college english instructor said "must of." ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

Nice blue start for punkin tonight! Glad to hear that DD is at least still commenting on other aspects of your life. ((hugs))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top