9/6, Jake, 18, Lantus, 1.5 u PMPS 96,89 @ +1, 66 @ +2, 62@ +3, 95 @ +4

Stall, don’t feed and retest in 20 mins from your last test to see if his blood sugar is trending back upwards
 
If you really need to get some sleep tonight, skip the dose. He’ll be high in the morning but that will be as expected.

Do not give more than 1 unit in the morning. Lantus seems to be working well for him, the dose needs to be held for 3 days because it’s a depot insulin. Constantly changing the dose makes it difficult to give advice. Obviously decrease or hold if his blood sugar is low
 
Since he dropped to 76 after stalling, and we know he'll go sky high if you skip, I'd go ahead and feed him and give him 0.5

I think you can usually test until about +2, so get a +1 and +2 so we know what food to leave down for him.

In the morning, I'd go back to the 1U dose and hold it for at least 6-10 cycles (depending on how he responds) unless he drops below 50 at any time.

We've got to find a starting point for him that allows him to get his shots twice a day without having him drop so low at night that you can't shoot since I know you really can't stay up due to your cancer treatments.
 
Stall, don’t feed and retest in 20 mins from your last test to see if his blood sugar is trending back upwards
Will do. I need to get him under control before the pet sitter has him for 12 days!
Since he dropped to 76 after stalling, and we know he'll go sky high if you skip, I'd go ahead and feed him and give him 0.5

I think you can usually test until about +2, so get a +1 and +2 so we know what food to leave down for him.

In the morning, I'd go back to the 1U dose and hold it for at least 6-10 cycles (depending on how he responds) unless he drops below 50 at any time.

We've got to find a starting point for him that allows him to get his shots twice a day without having him drop so low at night that you can't shoot since I know you really can't stay up due to your cancer treatments.
 
Back
Top