9/6 Hexie (Lantus Day 4) AMPS 348, +2 294, +5 297, PMPS 338, +2 314

She is bouncing from the long streak of blues yesterday and it's possible she might stay flat and high this AM. Hard to say since she is new to Lantus.

We like to suggest getting a +2 because it can act a lot like a crystal ball for what the rest of the cycle is going to look like.
  • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break on testing.
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that she might be going a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get some other tests in to keep her safe.
Of course, some cats have an onset later in the cycle like +2.5 or +3. In that case, a test at +2.5 or +3 would be a better indicator than a +2.

While TR only requires 4 tests per day, if it's possible, it's better to get tests at different points in the cycles so you can get a good idea of when her onset and nadir.
 
No need to test before PMPS. She's essentially been flat since +2 (or gone down a bit and back up). Not much chance she's going to drop much more this cycle. If you are into data gathering you could get a +9 or +10, but it's not necessary. Spend the time cuddling her instead.
 
Might just let her ears rest til PMPS. She’s been a bit grumpier during testing. I will for sure get a +2 and more tonight if needed.
 
Yes she does. I don’t mind getting up if necessary. I’m so afraid to miss something but I don’t want to overdo. You all have kept me sane-ish.
 
Back
Top