9/6 Ella pmps 425 +2.5=349

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone,

So Ella's mouth is still very uncomfortable. She is really hungry but will only have a drop of food at a time and run under the bed. At this point I don't know if I should give her a reduced dose and if so, what would be safe if she didn't have food on board. Yesterday I gave her .75 which is half of her dose. I won't be home to monitor. I'm really worried about her.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

hi jane:) just going to update with numbers...sorry.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Hi Tamara, I'm back.

I read through the previous condo from yesterday, too - Here is the link.

Marje was the last person to post, and she wrote: "Are you going to stay home with her tomorrow and do you think she would let you syringe feed her if necessary? If she's really high, I would shoot if I was going to be there and co us syringe some food or gravy into her. You can always shoot the reduced dose. Is she on an AB now?"

I too would like you to confirm if Ella is on ABs at present? And can you syringe some food, if Ella is still reluctant to eat on her own? Is there a chance you could get home for a mid-cycle spot check?

Looking over the SS, she has seen green on the full dose of 1.5u when starting in the barely-pink range. You had a reduced dose 2 cycles ago and no shot 1 cycle ago, so the shed will have drained somewhat. Even so: Since you say you will *not* be home to monitor, and if you *cannot* get any mid-cycle checks, and if she won't eat on her own, I would not shoot more than the reduced dose of 0.75u. And if you are anxious and worried she will drop low, I would skip.

Why don't you answer the questions above, and we'll see where we are, ok?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Hi Jane,

I updated the ss and comments for yesterday. She was given an injection of clindamycin during the procedure. The only thing I came home with was codeine to put on her ear. I'm feeding her a teeny amount at a time by syringe. I am not putting it in her mouth, just letting her lap it up as I was nstructed not to put anything in her mouth due to the sutures. She got a full mouth extraction yesterday. I can come home at lunch to check on her but if she is too low I'm not too sure what I would do as she's not eating.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

I tried to look at her profile and it didn't work. She's had DKA, before correct? or Ketones? Please let me know...

I would think that they gave you ABs to take home with all those extractions. Are you sure they didn't give her the 2 week AB Covenia?

I'm glad you can come home to check on her at lunch time.

I think with the eating issue, that either you skip, or give her a token dose, and hopefully can give her her regular dose tonight. I am a little worried about skipping, if she has had ketones before.

Does the codeine seem to be helping?
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

I can't get my profile to work for other but i can see it. No she's never had ketones. I took a test today and it's neg.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Hi Dyana, No other AB's. Not sure if the codeine is working.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Yay on no ketones ever, that's great!

Since you could probably not get proper food into her *IF* she were to have dropped low when you come hom to check her mid-cycle, I'm leaning towards skipping, and hopefully going back to normal this evening. Still - she hans't been dropping below the 80s recently, including on the 1.5u dose, according to the SS, so if you're not happy skipping completely, you could give a BCS dose (as Dyana suggests too). Which would YOU prefer, Tamara?

On the profile: You may not have selected the right publishing settings... Maybe get someone who's more tech-savvy than me to take a look and help you sort that out?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

That's just strange that she didn't get ABs. I would call the vet about that and ask. Please let us know what they say.

I guess, give her 0.50? How would you feel about that? And get as much food as you can into her before you leave.
Maybe, she would appreciate being kept in a separate room today, where she can rest, and you could leave a little more enticing food out for her, and see if she'll eat that between the time you leave and the time you check on her at lunch.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

I'm not too sure what to do :? I don't want her to get ketones. She's not eating and not getting insulin and has an inflammed mouth but on the other hand I don't want her to go too low. WOuld a token dose mean half the dose or less than that?

Thank you for helping us:)
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Test her again, just for the hay of it, before you give her any insulin, if you do.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

she has only eaten a tsp so far. pretty much nothing.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

another thing to consider, is that if I give her insulin now i'm off schedule but i guess i can move her back tonight if she is high...right?
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

tpr said:
another thing to consider, is that if I give her insulin now i'm off schedule but i guess i can move her back tonight if she is high...right?

Yes, if she were to be high this evening, you could move her shot time to get closer to (or back on) schedule, depending on how much it has shifted time-wise (1 hour, 2 hours?).

A token dose would be something like Dyana suggested, say a 0.5u just to keep something in the shed. She hasn't eaten, really, which is important to consider, but then she is already past her regular shot time, too. I'm not certain for how long the anaethesia can affect the blood sugar after it was given, so I'm trying to be extra cautious... A token dose should be fine. But if you're worried, skipping is ok. YOU have to comfortable too!

Any BG test update?
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

eeeks...378! Maybe I'll give her .50.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

tpr said:
eeeks...378! Maybe I'll give her .50.

Yes, that would be fine. Ella is rising, since it's already past her shot time and as said before, her shed will have drained somewhat over the past couple of cycles. If 0.5u is what you're comfortable with, go for that. Tonight, most likely, you'll be able to get back on track :smile:

Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Ella 313 give insulin after dental, not eating?

Hi all,

I gave her .50 She will probably sky rocket but at least she will have something in the shed. The poor girl wants to eat so bad :cry: She is doing all of her same behaviours for wanting food but it's just so uncomfortable for her. Boo! Thank you so much for supporting me this morning.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

When J.D. had his 8 extractions, he came home with ABs, pain med, and an appetite stimulant.
I would ask your vet about the ABs, today.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

You're welcome, Tamara.

Do ask your vet about ABs as Dyana suggests, ok? And update on the response you get when you can. Inquiring minds want to know :mrgreen:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

I asked her about AB and she said no as she got the shot. I will call and ask again though. She is getting a re-check in four days.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Tamara, I am so sorry to hear about Ella! I really hope she will start eating soon. Sending lots of healing thoughts and prayers ((((Ella))))
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Hi and big healing vines to Ella!
"the shot" probably means a shot of Convenia, which is a 2-week antibiotic. But you are wise to confirm.
Good luck today. I hope Ella will be able to eat something.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Dyana & Jane: Ella got antibiotics. The vet gave her an injection of clindamycin. At this point, it would be difficult to pill Ella and probably not a good idea for for Tamara to give an IM injection. My vet does the same thing -- ABs by injection during/after the procedure.

What I would suggest is that it's likely that the transdermal codeine is not sufficient. I would call the vet and ask for bupe. You can give bupe by a subcutaneous injection, just like insulin. Let me use an analogy. The vet gave you a med that works fine for menstrual cramps. You want something that deals with post-operative pain. In humans, that's usually a drug like hydrocodone/oxycodone. It's also what my periodontist gave me when he pulled a wisdom tooth -- and that was only one tooth. Ella's not eating because of pain. With a diabetic cat, this is even more of an issue. Please call the vet and let her know. If the dental vet doesn't do anything more, call your regular vet.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Morning Tamara - sending healing vines for Ella. Wishing you much luck. I too would call the vet about the pain issue. I too think she isn't eating much as it hurts. That will improve as she heals. Good I think on the .5 dose. Hang in there, this will get better.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Hi guys .. I have no dosing/medicine advice myself, but I want to tell you that you guys are still in my thoughts .. I hope Ella starts feeling better today, and she eats up some food, even if it is just tiny amounts here and there .. I know it's hard and scary seeing our babies struggle .. mocha had 8 teeth out at once, including upper canines and I thought I would never see her "well" again, but she came through it just fine and I know Ella will too .. it just takes time .. .she's been through a lot ... she knows you love her ...
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

As I read thru the post , I was getting ready to suggest calling the vet and saw Sienne's post.
ditto.
I think Ella needs something to knock the edge off so eating won't be so very painful.
I'd be asking the vet for something to help do that.

Some cats do chew their food unlike what my dental vet said to me. He told me most cats just swallow it whole anyway.
I separated up all the food in the tiniest little bits and separated them on the plate and hand fed my girl although she didn't get all her teeth out.
It minimized what she had to do to eat.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Sending healing vines to Ella, poor thing. I hope your vet will give you some better pain meds.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 reduced dose

Hello everyone:)

Thanks for all the visits and healing vines for Ella. She managed to eat a bit more before I left and I fed her 3 tsp at lunch :-D She received a shot of bupe during the surgery which supposedly lasts a few days. She still seems a bit spacey which I think is from the bupe but was a bit affectionate with me at lunch. No purrs yet but she enjoyed being brushed. Her throat is gurgling which I have been told is the result from having the tube down her throat. I'm going to continue trying to get as much food into her as I can over the course of the evening and give her the codeine. If she looks like she's still in pain tomorrow then I will get them to prescribe bupe. At this point she doesn't even want me to wipe her chin after she eats so sticking a syringe in her mouth might be tricky.

She was in the pinks when I tested her at home so she probably needs more insulin. I'm just not sure how much to give. Perhaps 1 unit may be ok for now? Thoughts? Also wondering how much I can move shot time.

Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 shot time and dosing advice:)

I don't have a dosing answer, but I did want to let you guys know we've got you in our thoughts and prayers. Feel better, sweet Ella!
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 shot time and dosing advice:)

Is there anything she likes that she would lick off your finger or from a dropper?
I can see not wanting to put anything in her mouth if she's so tender. nailbite_smile
I know they have sugarfree frozen yogurt. There's gotta be somthing she would desire enough to lick more up.
It's a good thing the mouth tends to heal quicker.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella amps 378 shot time and dosing advice:)

Thanks so much for the link Leslie!!! That was very savvy and thoughful of you. Ella is 425. I'm going to give her .75u. probably not enough but she's still not eating that well. I hope I'm making the right decision here. Thanks for your continued support:)
 
Re: 9/6 Ella pmps 425

Hi Tamara,

Neko and I are sending heaps of healing vines over to poor Ella for her mounth. When I've seen cats get extractions at the shelter, it seemed the first 24 hours was the roughest for eating, so I'm hoping she'll get a bit more adventurous soon with her food. Who knows, maybe the high BG will encourage her too. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: One for you and one for Ella.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella pmps 425

Hi Tamara
I wish I had something encouraging to tell you about Ella's eating. I can only sympathize with her and you. I know it breaks your heart to see her hurting, and you can only wait for her to heal.
Checkers takes bupe for his back pain. It works wonders for him. It takes about an hour (for him) to kick in well, and he sleeps, for a couple of hours , then wakes hungry. I'm not saying Ella will want to eat.....just that's what happens with Checks.
If you give her the bupe, I hope it makes her mouth feel better quickly.
I'm so sorry you both are going thru this, Tamara. Just keep reminding yourself, it will get better! :YMHUG:
cat_pet_icon for Ella.
 
Re: 9/6 Ella pmps 425

Hi Ella - sounds like Ella is beginning to feel better. Paws crossed. Tomorrow will be better than today. It encouraging that she is trying to eat. I remember with Mannie two years ago, Every hour I was with him and the baby food. That stuff for us through the first day and a half. Half dose sounds good. AT least she will have some insulin in her. You may find too after the dental that she needs less. Good luck! More healing vines for Ella!

Ella - hey, the KTSS and I will come an bring you some more chicken broth, Maggie made some frozen yogurt for you, an Tess amide some Lemon smoothies. Cool huh! hey we going over to Camp Stu tonight - you wanna come for a breif visit? I can picks you up and bring you home whenever you are ready... ~~ Mannie
 
Hello all,

We're truly overwhelmed with all the love and vines you have all sent us over the last few days. I'm happy to report that Ella is eating a bit more. She is licking her fortiflora soaked food off the spoon as well as the syringe:) She looks like a little chipmunk so I know she must be sore and I'm hoping she will start to feel better soon. She was rolling around on the bed for Greg as he brushed her but now she's lying in my cupboard. I made a nice comfy place for her to rest and she's been spending quite a bit of time in there. Hopeully she'll have a better day tomorrow. Dgma is coming for a visit and she'll feed her while she's here :-D

Hope everyone has a good night!

Hey Mannie, I think I feel good enough for a shirt visit to Camp Stu. Come picks me up!
 
YAY! The feel better vines are working! It is wonderful to read that she is starting to come around. GOOD NEWS! I am so glad that she is starting to eat more - HOORAY! Little steps, and she will get there. The rolling in bed was nice too. yupp! feeling a little better. :-D I hope all will rest well tonight - I know for all of you it has been one heckuva ride, a very stressful one.

Ella! AWESOME! We are all going tomorrow too, if you wanna come. Tess might make her world famous pancakes, and sometimes Untie EllaBean lets her use the kitchen so we can make cookies. Cool, huh. See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Glad to know that Ella is felling better. Dont worry Tamara, let her rest & gather herself together after the dental.
More healing vines to Ella! Pain pain go away!
 
Oh that Poor Baby girl Ella!! So brave & good..Great that she is eating and at least trying to get back to normal--When Moonie had 5 teeth removed I kept her on bupe for several days, and it helped a lot, she was a bit dopey though, but I knew it helped...Moonie had 4 teeth removed the year before.. so we know how that is.feed her whatever you can now, the softer the better...Prayers for continued Healing for our Ella girl..The playing & little bits of normal activity are a good sign..Sending the very Greenest Healing Vines & Love from us!!
 
Aw, poor sweet Ella - it makes me sad to think she's going through so much! I hope tomorrow finds her feeling more like herself and able to eat more. Pitiful to be hungry but pain keeps you from being able to eat. :sad:

BIG HUGS all around!!

Sweet dreams -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top