9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMPS 236 +4.5 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Seems that Charlie may be taking a little bit longer to come down from her bounce.

Medicine kicked in to stop the diarrhea on my side, so thank God for the Dr during stomach bug season. The acid stomach is back though. Time heals all wounds, right?

Both Charlie and I are seriously hoping for that! Have a great day friends, and hope you're feeling more energetic than I am.


Jill
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167

One should NEVER make any assumptions with this kitty. I forgot! Should have tested at +4 or 5 it turns out, as I just caught her in a blue number (completely unexpectedly since her +2 was still quite high).

Any thoughts on why Charlie is seeing blues and healthier numbers during the days and always bouncing (in the pinks/reds) at night?

Jill
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167

Hi Jill

You're right - these are CATS, after all: Never make assumptions :lol:

Looking over Charlie's SS, it seems to me that she is *not* in fact "always bouncing at night." Remember that it's better to try and take in and interpret spreadsheets by contemplating a block of days and nights. So, if you look at the last week, or even the last 2 weeks, you'll see that there are nights with greens and blues, and days with pinks and reds, just as there is the reverse of both. What's essential when considering this is whether there is a reasonably logical process leading up to a specific cycle and the range(s) in which it plays out. And again - looking at the SS, there *is* that logic.

When she's bouncing, she shows pinks and reds. When she begins clearing bounces, she tends to go yellow. When she's through the bounce-clearing process, she readily goes back to blues and even greens. In the last week, that readiness to go blue/green has increased, compared to the week and the 2 weeks before. Those are signs of progress.

If you look at the SS with these remarks in mind, do things make more sense to you?

Overall, Charlie is doing well. She will learn not to bounce, in her own time. Hopefully, it will happen soon. Once it does, progress will very likely accelerate. But there *is* already progress now. I hope that helps a little :mrgreen:

I'm so glad your meds are working! Hopefully soon you'll be fighting fit again!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167

Hi guys .. Glad to hear the dr gave you some meds that helped your issue! And charlie, what the heck are you doing dropping so far so fast? Come on now, we like to do things nice and easy around here! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158

**** PMBG is 158. We will not be around at ALL tonight. Shoot the 1.25. Shoot a lower amount? Don't shoot at all? We need to leave here ASAP so quick answers appreciated.
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

My thoughts are to shoot 1 unit and leave food out. We are not sure when we'll be back home exactly so cannot afford to take risks, but at 1.25 units Charlie has yet to be found in the green zone officially, so I'm not sure. Just concerned about this second dip today?
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

last test (PMBG was taken at 6:50pm). We will quickly test again as it has been 15 mins.
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

BG at 7:10pm is 10.4, but apparently Charlie just ate food, so it's not sure if she's rising because of the food or naturally. Need a quick decision on this one. 1.25 or 1 unit?
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

Then it's probably partly food-spike, partly the time past her last insulin shot.

If you're worried about her dropping low (it's the lowest you'd be shooting on this dose so far), you *can* BCS it and reduce to 1.0u or even less, depending on how you're comfortable, for this one cycle. Not ideal, but since you can't monitor that much this cycle. There's no way to tell for sure what she'll do or where she'll take this cycle.

Keep in mind though - whatever you shoot, she may not react to the (temporary) dose change this cycle, meaning if she's going to go low, she'll do that anyway regardless of the reduction. If you do leave now/soon, please get one more out-the-door test, LEAVE OUT FOOD (I would suggest MC just in case).

How many hours at the most until you can be home to check again?
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

Will likely be home in 5 hours. We plan to leave food out. Don't know what BCS means. If this were Karre and it were his SS, would you go with 1.25 (since it may not effect this cycle anyway) or would you go with 1?

Jill
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

Not yet. It's only 7:20 so we need to shoot by 7:30. This morning's AMPS was done at 7:15am as we were 1 mins late.

Will do 1 last quick test then need to decide how much to shoot
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

charliesmom said:
Will likely be home in 5 hours. We plan to leave food out. Don't know what BCS means. If this were Karre and it were his SS, would you go with 1.25 (since it may not effect this cycle anyway) or would you go with 1? Jill

Ah ok, if you shot at &;15 this morning, then you haven't technically stalled that much. If you shoot at 7:30pm your (and my) time, you've stalled 15 minutes.

If it were Karre and his SS, I'd probably stay home and watch him :mrgreen: BCS = Big Chicken **** (reduced dose because of worried bean). I'm honestly not certain what to tell you, or what I'd do (beyond staying with my cat, which I know isn't a real option for you tonight :smile:).

It's down to what YOU are happy with, now. You hold the syringe. You take the risk, unfortunately. If I absolutely had to leave, I'd probably reduce. I'm really sorry if that's all not helpful!
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

BG at 7:25pm was 13.1 (236). We are giving her the full amount (1.25 units) to not lose the progress we've been making on this cycle. BOS. Pray and hope for the best.
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

I hope you are feeling better soon. Charlie is bouncy but doing so much better, the bounces will even out!
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

We fed LC but put a drop or two of maple syrup on her food. Will check in later when we're home. God, if you're up there, watch over this kitty now please.
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMBG 158 BUMP

charliesmom said:
We fed LC but put a drop or two of maple syrup on her food. Will check in later when we're home. God, if you're up there, watch over this kitty now please.

236 is a decent rise. I think you made a good call on shooting her regular dose. Leave out food as you said (with bit of added syrup), and get a test as soon as you get home, ok? And post the update then :mrgreen: Enquiring minds want to know!

Well done. May Charlie be safe!
Have a great evening!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMPS 236 +4.5

Charlie is at 320 at her +4.5 reading. All is right with the world. Would have liked to see it a bit lower, but I am not so surprised as we did put drops of maple syrup (about .5 ml worth) on Charlie's low carb food before we went out.

Guess we should have put less, but as were not here with her for those 5 hours, we just wanted to ensure she was safe.

More than happy to see that's the case.

Goodnight guys,
Jill
 
Re: 9/6 Charlie AMPS 351 +3 310 +6 167 +10 182 PMPS 236 +4.5

Glad everything worked out with Charlie while you were out. I'd much rather come home to a higher number and know my cat was safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top