9/6 Catman PMPS 306, +3 180, +4 178

AliceR

Member Since 2020
I almost forgot what blue looked like. But here is my dilemma for anyone who's still up. We've been feeding Catman Friskies poultry platter 4% pâté for about the last week and not changing his insulin. But the neuropathy hints I was seeing made me nervous so we dropped him down to 3% and 2% today fancy feast.

First, I didn't think a couple of percentage points could actually make a difference so I'm not saying it's the food, it may just be that the lantus it took its sweet time as our vet predicted but here's my real question....

If I wanted to make sure he is not going to go too low tonight without staying up all night (because I take sleep meds for insomnia,) what good is it to test a cat's blood within 2 hours after you've fed him?

We feed Catman every three hours to keep him as stable as possible and that means we test before feeding him and after 2 hours have passed since his last meal. So he just got 5% friskies liver and chicken because I don't want him going too low tonight but I'm curious if I should stay up and test him again at midnight which is my +4 or if it won't matter because I will basically be taste reading the food he just ate....

I know many of you set alarms and wake up in the middle of the night to test but that is not something I am able to do....
 
A +2 will give you an idea if the cycle will be active. If it’s the same or lower than the preshot It’s possible he could go a lot lower. That is a really big drop from pmps to +3. Id get a +4. I would leave out plenty of food too. If more of a drop leave out some 10%.
 
Thanks for responding. Looks like you have your hands full with other folks so I appreciate it!

I'll do a +4 but I'm not sure if I'm testing his real blood glucose or just the impact of the food he ate that close to feeding at +3.

I think I'll just get used to doing a +2 at night which will give me some wiggle room before bed.

Every night I put out two frozen hockey pucks of about 1.75 oz of 4% in a pet safe feeder set to go off at 2:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.. Last time he was blue this late I put a few crumbles of Purina DM dry food in just so I could sleep but he reacted in the red... Or it could have been a bounce. Still, better than a hypo event so I'll put out one of my 9% hockey pucks in just to be safe if the plus 4 is lower.

I wonder if he's one of these super sensitive carb kitties.
 
It’s how the sugar dance works. You feed the curve to get them into more healthy bg numbers. The more time spent that way the better their health and if lucky remission. That’s a real short version because I need to deal with another. Hang in there.
 
He was at 178 at +4 after eating ½ can of Friskies 5% at +3.... I put down ½ can FF Medleys 11% which he dove into only for the gravy (those shreds are like rubber), a 9% catsicle at 2am (+6) and 4% catsicle for 5am (+9).

He should be fine and I'm happy to see some blue but I stil don't know what testing after feeding tells me.

A conversation for another night when you are not helping others. Thank you again!
 
I actually got up at +6 which was 2am! What a joke.... Catman was downstairs in a closet under the stairs, I was barely ambulatory, and got E13! on the one strip I brought with me ... He was at 248 so I quickly swapped.out the 9% for 2% and tried to get back to sleep with a Gordon Lightfoot ear worm ..
 
Back
Top