9/6, Bell, AMPS 66 +4 50, +6.5 70,PMPS 112, +1.5 108, +3 52, +3.5 69. +4 56, +4.5 63, +5 69, +6 69

I'm glad Bhooma was around, but she said what I would have which is "SHOOOOOOOOT!!".

I see a lot of lovely pancreatic healing going on. :D
:D

No worries at all. I am around. :)
I think @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee are also around now.

But you've got the drill - test and feed and test and feed...! If she drops below 50, she earns a reduction. You can probably go to hourly tests as the cycle progresses and she stays flat/heads up.

Thank you all! it is a little scary but I know it is so good for her to be at these numbers. How low would she need to be for me to start adding drops of maple syrup to her food? I'm guessing if she just crosses into the upper 40s I'll continue to try to get her up with food, but if she keeps dropping is when I'd intervene with carbs?
 
How much carbs you need to feed is ECID and also depends where in the cycle you are. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others. Keep notes on the SS on amount, carbs, and when you feed and you'll figure out what Bell needs. Neko was quite carb sensitive, my first HC sent her soaring, so I had to go down to a 16-17% carbs. She still got a drop of syrup under 40. Always start with higher carbs, see how it does, then adjust.

Carbs later in the cycle when the insulin is waning will do a better job than earlier in the cycle. You might be able to go to MC after mid cycle, but ECID.
 
How low would she need to be for me to start adding drops of maple syrup to her food? I'm guessing if she just crosses into the upper 40s I'll continue to try to get her up with food, but if she keeps dropping is when I'd intervene with carbs?
How much carbs you need to feed depends on (a) where in the cycle you are when she drops (b) how low she has dropped and (c) how carb sensitive she is.

(a) You need more carbs earlier in the cycle to bring numbers up since insulin action is stronger. Later in the cycle and especially after the nadir, even regular LC might be enough to bring her numbers up from the high 40s to over 50.

(b) In the low 40s or 30s, you want to feed higher carbs to bring her number up - even later in the cycle

(c) Some cats are carb sensitive and might not need HC at all. There was a cat here that would respond to 9% carbs like HC!
 
Bell is crushing it! +6.5 was 70, maybe now I can stop holding my breath :D. Going to put on Basket Case, cuz Bell is having a Green Day.
 
Bell thanks everyone for their help and support today:
upload_2024-9-6_20-24-50.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-6_20-24-50.png
    upload_2024-9-6_20-24-50.png
    546 KB · Views: 62
+3.5 is 69. She is intent to just mess with me all night, lol. I did feed her ~1/4 can of fancy feast at +3 because she was almost wild with hunger. So this bump might be from that. Or else she is bouncing. I will go back to this morning's strategy of very small meals every 1/2 hour as long as she stays low. That drop from +1.5 fo +3 plus the way she was acting scared me a bit.
 
+3.5 is 69. She is intent to just mess with me all night, lol. I did feed her ~1/4 can of fancy feast at +3 because she was almost wild with hunger. So this bump might be from that. Or else she is bouncing. I will go back to this morning's strategy of very small meals every 1/2 hour as long as she stays low. That drop from +1.5 fo +3 plus the way she was acting scared me a bit.
She got food at +1.5 and then +3? Even if you don't test every 30 mins, a tsp of food every 30 mins will help her surf.
Looks like 2.75U has been a breakthrough dose for her. :-)
 
Correct, 1/8 of a can at +1.5 and 1/4 of a can at +3. I've given her 1 tsp every 30 minutes since the +3 and she is holding in the 50-70 range. Planning on letting her go an hour before checking again.
 
yeah the big thing, which Wendy caught, was that I was using the vet's repackaged insulin until 8/29. Once I switched to using a SoloStar pen from the manufacturer, it made a world of difference. If I had to bet, the 2.75 is too strong a dose for Bell, but she is just being stubborn about letting me know that :rolleyes:. She's doing so well! Lots of healing
 
Holding steady at 69 at +6. I just fed 1/4 can ff and am going to bed zzzzzzzzzzzzz. Hoping to get at least 4 hours tonight. Set up an autofeeder for while I'm asleep. Thank you all again! Twas a day full of excitement.
 
Back
Top