9/5 Yahtzee AMPS 304 - SID change to BID

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Yahtzee

Member Since 2012
9/1 Condo

Hello LL!

We switched from 0.5 SID to 0.4 BID on 9/3 and hit some blues and even a green! And then a big pink bounce :sad: I know Yahtzee will need some time to adjust to the new dosing schedule and I'm hoping that's the reason for the erratic curve.

Does anyone have any experience changing from SID to BID? Is it common to have nearly backwards curves in the early days after the switch? Logic tells my mind that this makes sense because the body has to adjust to the increased insulin (in 24 hour period) and figure out how much gets used and how much is stored in the depot. Any thoughts?

Hoping for some more blue today! I keep telling Yahtzee it matches his big blue eyes :smile:
 
Dosing SID can give you wonky numbers so it does take some time to fill the shed once you start dosing consistently bid.

I think what you are seeing right now is Yahtzee bouncing from that 96 the other night. Bounces can take up to six cycles to clear.

Our mantra here: FD is a marathon, not a sprint :-D
 
Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've been to your condo before or not, so welcome from us! Is SID once a day? I'm not sure if anyone here in LL only ever shot once a day, but I could very well be wrong with that .. hopefully the transition goes well and you see some nice numbers from yahtzee! have a great day!
 
Here are my thoughts...

If you look at what Yahtzee's numbers looked like when you were shooting 1.5u BID, the numbers looked good. Unfortunately, your vet panicked over perfectly normal BG numbers. Vets do this all the time. (I swear, if they went through the blood tests of all of the cats they see, they would realize the 50s and 60s were perfectly fine and didn't require dextrose.) If you look at the spreadsheets of people here, no one panics with those kinds of numbers. In fact, it takes a drop below 50 for a dose reduction based on the Tight Regulation protocol which has research to support its effectiveness.

So, that said, Yahtzee initially responded with better numbers because you were giving more insulin. His numbers came down and, like Marje noted, he bounced. Be patient. The numbers will come back down. I do think he's going to need more insulin.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Dosing SID can give you wonky numbers so it does take some time to fill the shed once you start dosing consistently bid.

I think what you are seeing right now is Yahtzee bouncing from that 96 the other night. Bounces can take up to six cycles to clear.

Marje, thanks for the reassurance! This is what I assumed, but it makes me feel better to hear it from others.

PeterDevonMocha crew, yes we are new here to LL. I'm so glad to have found this wonderful place! Thank you for the welcome and the well wishes!

Sienne, thank you again for your thoughts! I realized Yahtzee's earlier vet curve numbers were decent when I started doing more research on this board and studying others' spreadsheets. That's when I decided that I need to be a bit more proactive with my vet, who is great, just extra cautious. I emailed the vet the tight regulation study by Drs. Roomp and Rand this morning and hope to receive positive feedback. More than anything, I wanted to let her know that I am prepared to follow this tight regulation protocol and want her to be informed as I take these steps. I do suspect that an dose increase is in Yahtzee's future, but want to give this new dosing schedule a few more days to settle in.

Should I be regularly posting a new condo every day, even if there are no major updates? I wasn't sure if this is overload on the board or perfectly acceptable to get to know each other.

Thanks again to all!
 
Yes. You do want to post every day so everyone else can say hi and follow your progress.
Visiting other condo's and spreadsheets will help you learn more for dealing with your own.

date, name amps or pmps and any tests you do during the cycle.
questions, add the question mark icon like you did today and if you need dosing advise. Put DOSING.
That will usually get someone's attention who can give advise on what to next.
And you can also pm someone if you aren't getting any notice.

I'm cruising the bottom of the sept 5 condo's to see if I missed anyone and I am correcting that now.
See you around the condo's starting tomorrow....
 
It's up to you but it is helpful for us to monitor his trends and let you know if we think he needs dose adjustments if yoZu are able to post daily.

And you're welcome :-D

Don't be surprised if your vet is not receptive to the TR protocol. Some are, most are not. Because they don't treat that many FDs, many of them don't recommend home testing. If they do support home testing, they don't like clients to shoot anything under 200. I think they do not want the liability because they can't be there to help you with low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top