9/5 Tink AMPS 207, +3=398, +4=463 Re-shoot furshot???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124718

Well, I forgot about the dose increase last night, but he had a nice smooth downward cycle nonetheless. Nice preshot this morning - but MAY have been a furshot. It was our first 5am shot (and increase to 2.75u) and I felt a lot of wetness... but he had just been grooming himself heavily. I smelled my hand but couldn't detect any odor (which made me hope it was just cat drool)... however, I've yet to be able to detect the smell of insulin. For some reason there are some smells I just can't detect as well as most people.

I guess we'll see what happens today. I did not get the +2 I was hoping for as Sir Tink has become rather accustomed to our nighttime testing (aka TREATS at 2am) and was scratching on my door every other hour last night, A.L.L. NIGHT. Knowing he was flat and up in the yellows... I did my best to ignore him, but still got very little decent sleep. Kitty nails on glass is not very conducive to bean sleep. :shock:

Tink seems fine this morning - already begging for his +4 meal at +3. Given the PINK number we just got, I'll be holding out till his usual +4 on that one. Really hoping at least some of that insulin got into him this morning. Had a good thing going... hope I didn't mess it up. :sad: Though even if it WAS a furshot... that's a pretty steep climb in 3hrs... so not sure - could be the next bounce. Seems he needs at least once each day. :roll:

Maybe I should explain to him that the saying is "what goes up must come down"... not vice versa.
 
Re: 9/5 Tink AMPS 207, +3=398, +4=463 Re-shoot furshot????

Dang. I'm REALLY thinking this morning was a furshot now.

Is it ever ok to re-shoot?? It's now +4.25 and he's almost to "black". On top of that... it's now mealtime, so he's going to shoot up even higher shortly. I hate to let him sit this high for the next 8hrs...
 
No. Do not re-shoot. Fur Shots happen. You don't know how much got in and how much if any did not.

I would just mark it on your ss as "Fur Shot?" and wait it out. If he is super high at +11 and your schedule can work with a new shot time, you can maybe shoot an hour early tonight. I would suggest posting your +11 test number for advice.
 
Ok, that's what I thought but wanted to be sure since Lantus protocol is pretty different from the ProZinc I'd been using for so long. I'll check in a couple hours and again at +11. Already moved back to 5:00 instead of 6:00 but have a couple days to move it back up to 5 if I do shoot early tonight.
 
Hi there :cool:

Oh, if I had a dollar for each of the fur shots I had during the 21 months BK was on insulin. . . .
I've even had them happen back to back :roll:

Fur shots are a drag however like Dyana said - You don't know how much got in and how much if any did not.
Please monitor closely for ketones.

JenM said:
Had a good thing going... hope I didn't mess it up.
You did not mess anything up. Remember, unlike Prozinc, Lantus has a depot. The depot will take a hit, but will not be depleted from one fur shot.
He will get back on track - no worries. :cool:
 
Good Morning from Fur Shot Central!!!

My DH gave two fur shots last week, and if you look at Cinco's SS, it didn't bother him much at all! We're not newbies, either, so it happens to the best of us! It's frustrating and you want to fix it, but you have to put on your patience pants and wait. I'm sure Tink will rebound and you'll forget it ever happened. Just look at it as a chance to get some stuff done without worrying about Tink's going low. And his ears get a break! :-D

Try to relax and enjoy your Friday, Jen.
 
I agree with Tricia......if numbers are up....go do something for yourself and have a fun day. We get so focused and concentrated on the numbers, we forget to take care of ourselves physically and emotionally. It's important to have some fun time.

He'll get back on track. We've all done fur shots. It's ok :-D :-D
 
Thanks everyone. Just tested again, hoping SOME insulin had kicked in by now, but we're now "HI". I'm all for greetings... but I hate that one. :sad: I'll give his ears a break until +11 (4pm) and probably shoot early, then work my way back up to the "5s" by Monday morning.

I'm painting the house (outside) - trying to get as much done as possible before summer is gone... so I guess I can stop coming inside every couple hours now. :YMSIGH:
 
Ouch!
However, back on track :cool:

Being that you had furshot this AM, tonights shot becomes cycle 1 of the 2.75u dose.

What is the ketone situation today?
Appetite normal?
All Ps in place?

TGIF!
 
Haven't caught him peeing today so no news on ketones. As of yesterday AM he was negative. If I can catch him peeing, it's usually in the morning. Will try tomorrow, or tonight if he gives me the opportunity.

Appetite "normal" (aka crazy hungry 24/7). He's been a bit glum most of the day, but not oddly so. Just lounging in his sunny windowsill. Purring, preening - just not as perky as usual - almost looks a little irritated with the world. LOL. That's pretty typical for him when he's in the high numbers.

I gave tonights shot an hour early at 4pm. It's taken awhile to come down (which I guess is good, no fast drops) - now at +5.5 we're at 330 and eating dinner (which I stalled, anticipating a decent number at some point). He also ate at PS. If I had fed them their last meal at 8pm (+4) there would have been a feline revolt when I went to bed. They're used to eating at bedtime.

I'll be checking again in a couple hours to make sure he doesn't drop too much - but hoping for a reasonable preshot in the morning. And NO MORE FURSHOTS!!! ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top