9/5 Tibbs amps 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
Hi Folks
Being new i am getting lots of different information. It was thought by some folks that he might have been getting too much insulin and that is why i tried a reduction to 1.5 . Also he is not completely off dry but he is having just small bits of the zero carb young again dry food. The reason he is still getting that is because he eats so little of the wet food and he had a history of DKA so i am so worried if he doesn't eat enough that will happen again. I test for ketones all the time, in fact just last night i tested and he is still negative. i just started this zero carb young again dry . I am still only giving him little bits and he does lick up some of the wet food so we are making progress but he definitely does not eat enough wet food. Can you possibly tell me how many calories he should be eating so i can tell if he is eating enough to prevent dka. I am thinking that if in 1 or 2 days with this zero carb if his numbers are still high then i will again increase to 1.75 and keep increasing as per the protocol that you folks told me about. Thank you so much for the info and that info about the plus 2 being higher or same etc is very helpful. I will def get that plus 2 number and i am trying to get additional numbers to fill in the blanks too.
Thanks so much for all of your help. I will post again and hopefully with better numbers.
Paws crossed. :-D
 
If you look at http://www.catinfo.org, she recommends that cats eat around 15 calories/pound/day. She also says:
The caloric needs of an average cat can range between 150 - 250 calories/day depending on their lean body weight and activity level.
It's best to find out what the idea weight is for Tibbs - you vet may have an idea of this, then weigh regularly to see whether he is gaining or losing and what the progress is towards his ideal weight.

Thanks for getting a couple more tests at night. That's a good indicator of how Tibbs is doing on this dose. It looks like he is primarly getting pink nadirs. According to the protocol, you could probably go up to 2.0U when you increase:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
He did get one yellow nadir, but that may have been from the depot of the 2.0U you were at just before that. With a kitty that has had a DKA, we want to get him into better numbers soon. Reducing is not a good idea. The general formula for ketones is infection + not enough food + not enough insulin. You can control the amount of insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top