9/5 Smudge AMPS 359, +3 293, +6 303, +9 325, PMPS 299

Good luck with 2.25! My gut feeling is you will end up increasing again but I also suspect the "right" dose is not far off.


Re: shooting quarter-unit doses.....

With Hendrick's path to remission, we reduced by .25U every 7 days for weeks on end as we slowly tapered his dose down from 2.75U to zero. Under TR, using a human meter, a cat qualifies for a reduction in the dose if they fall below 50 at any time.

OR if they can stay in the greens (under 100) for an entire week straight --- which is what Hendrick mainly preferred.

So yeah, I've shot a lot of quarter-unit doses! LOL
 
Good luck with 2.25! My gut feeling is you will end up increasing again but I also suspect the "right" dose is not far off.


Re: shooting quarter-unit doses.....

With Hendrick's path to remission, we reduced by .25U every 7 days for weeks on end as we slowly tapered his dose down from 2.75U to zero. Under TR, using a human meter, a cat qualifies for a reduction in the dose if they fall below 50 at any time.

OR if they can stay in the greens (under 100) for an entire week straight --- which is what Hendrick mainly preferred.

So yeah, I've shot a lot of quarter-unit doses! LOL
I agree with you, I think he is somewhere between here and 3U! At least I hope so because then we are close.

I was wondering how that worked in real time because the majority of the spreadsheets I see (in this sub-forum) the dose increases and increases and increases... I see some people at 8U+ and even 13U+ that both shocks and scares me. I hope Smudge doesn't have to go that high in the TR process.

I am going to keep using the AT3 this week since he has a vet check on Friday. If all seems good there and I've appeased their preference of that meter, I will move to the ReliOn for cost purposes. I've already gone through 50+ AT3 strips so that's $55 gone and into the second $55 in under 2 weeks. Highway robbery, lol.
 
yeah I don't mind the extra cost of the ketone strips, that's a special meter and a very particular use case but the test strips for simply measuring BGs do not need to be so expensive, it's really greedy imo. I'd love to know their margins on those strips.
 
yeah I don't mind the extra cost of the ketone strips, that's a special meter and a very particular use case but the test strips for simply measuring BGs do not need to be so expensive, it's really greedy imo. I'd love to know their margins on those strips.
AGREED. There should be some type of control over that. They use less blood, c'mon Zoetis! Until someone challenges them with a cheaper alternative, we are stuck with the high cost. I am sure their margin is absurdly high and they probably break even on the meter starter kit, so it makes up for it.
 
the majority of the spreadsheets I see (in this sub-forum) the dose increases and increases and increases... I see some people at 8U+ and even 13U+ that both shocks and scares me.
I’m not sure which spreadsheets you’ve been viewing, but just as a reality check, those are unusually high doses and aren’t typical. Chances are the cats have a concurrent high-dose medical condition (such as acromegaly or IAA) or perhaps are on steroids or there’s something else that makes a larger dose necessary. Most cats need only a few units of insulin BID.

Looking forward to what 2.25u does for Smudge. :)
 
I’m not sure which spreadsheets you’ve been viewing, but just as a reality check, those are unusually high doses and aren’t typical. Chances are the cats have a concurrent high-dose medical condition (such as acromegaly or IAA) or perhaps are on steroids or there’s something else that makes a larger dose necessary. Most cats need only a few units of insulin BID.

Looking forward to what 2.25u does for Smudge. :)
That is relieving to hear. :cat:

I'm looking forward to it too! The half unit marked syringes have a shorter needle length, which I think Smudge appreciated this morning. He was such an excited boy to see me, getting his poke was difficult and I went through his ear when he moved on me. :( It gave me enough for the ketone meter, that's for sure. Still purred after though. Ate a full FF can for breakfast!
 
Out of curiosity, which syringes are you using? Some are wider barrels, shorter syringes, some are longer with narrower barrels. The longer/narrower ones have more room between the 1/2 unit markings, making it a little easier to find those 0.25 units spots. And some of us ended up using digital calipers, which is why you might see some spreadsheets with even finer dosing.
 
Out of curiosity, which syringes are you using? Some are wider barrels, shorter syringes, some are longer with narrower barrels. The longer/narrower ones have more room between the 1/2 unit markings, making it a little easier to find those 0.25 units spots. And some of us ended up using digital calipers, which is why you might see some spreadsheets with even finer dosing.
They are the Carepoint Vet U-100 3/10cc 31Gx5/16".

first cycle 2-4 cycles on a new dose probably aren't that meaningful fyi. Need to refill that depot
True. 303 @ +6
 
325 @ +9

He is going to need an ear break tonight. Cried when I poked this time. Ears are very red and sore.
 
Back
Top