9/5 Ramsey AMPS 326 PMPS 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sharon & Ramsey

Member Since 2010
I hope I've attached the spreadsheet properly. For just having started on Lantus on Aug. 27, Ramsey's dose has been lowered twice already (2U to 1U to .5U). It seems to stay in his system for a long time which is a bit of problem because I'm never quite sure what to do for his 5pm shot. Today he was at 149 so I just gave him a tiny, tiny bit; we'll see what happens. He is doing well - actually starting to put on weight already. His 5 P's are improved. What a help it is to be able to follow everyone's stories!
 
Hi Sharon! Fellow Canadian!

glad to see you posting a thread/condo here in Lantus Land! :-D

Your first thread from the Health forum: Ramsey's First Thread on FDMB if in case others need to look back.

First thing's first - read the starred stickies up above. Especially the protocol we follow here.

The Lantus forum is a data happy forum.
Meaning, we love data, the more the better, plus it is a lot easier to determine suggestions and feedback to you when we see data.
Very good to see you set up a spreadsheet (SS)

You have recently started home testing?
What diet is Ramsey on?
Any health history? Ketone history?
You're in B.C right? What meter do you use?
What is your 12/12 schedule like? 5am/5pm?
Are you shooting every 12 hours?

How about some homework? :lol: I ask a lot of questions I know.
When you have free time, set up a Profile for Ramsey.
This way all his info in is one spot, in your signature line with your spreadsheet link, and we won't ask the same questions over and over.

Who's Your Kitty?

Others will be by to welcome you and to offer their thoughts. Read as much as you can, and ask questions!
 
welcome to Lantus Land! It looks like Ramsey is doing very well.

If you can start getting some spot checks mid-cycle, it will be a lot easier to see what is going on with Ramsey. One test we all try to do each day is the before bed test - right before you go to bed. Also, when you shoot a lower number than you have before (like tonight) plan to get a +1 and +2 so we can see if Ramsey is going up or down, and so we can see how the food affects his cycle.
 
Ronnie & Luna,
Well, I tried the profile but have obviously fudged it as it doesn't appear to be working. I'll try again later. Meanwhile, to answer your questions:
- Ramsey started on Lantus and I started home testing on Aug. 27th
- He used to be on dry but I have him now switched totally to FF "Tender Chicken & Liver Feast" - his daily treat is a few licks of "Laughing Cow" lite cheese.
- He just came to me in December when his owner died (his only owner in 13 years to that point). I'm not aware of any medical issues.
- Yes, I'm in BC - in Vancouver.
- I'm using a Freestyle Lite meter. For the first week or so, Ramsey fought ear pricks like crazy but he is now getting resigned to the whole process.
- I'm one of those disgusting morning people, awake at 5am whether I need to be or not so his shooting schedule is 5 & 5.
- I'll be doing a full curve later this week.
 
Thank you for answering those questions!

For tonight, will you be able to get a spot check in?

No need to test hourly, but the chart will give you a general idea of key times to spot check.
We do like to see early cycle tests, around +1, +2 and/or +3, and at times you will need to re-test more frequently.
And as Libby mentioned, a before bedtime check is always good.

Have a look at the New to the Group stickie for an example of a a typical curve.
From the stickie:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset ---> the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir ---> the lowest point in the cycle
Duration ---> the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

How to do a Curve: you don't have to test every hour. Typically curves are every 2 hours in a 12/12 cycle. Or a mini-curve, about every 3 hours.
Depending on where the numbers are, you may have to re-test frequently and offer food to help steer numbers.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Carryover ---> insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap---> the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing & the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot ---> (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
More on the Shed ---> Lantus & Levemir Insulin Depot AKA Storage Shed
 
Welcome to Lantus Land (LL).

As far as being a "disgusting morning person," your 5 AM is my 7 AM -- which is a borderline civilized hour! Usually there are a few early risers around if you need a hand. This forum is truly an international group and often there is someone around 24/7.

As others have noted, the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board will help you get oriented to using Lantus, important concepts like the shed, our dosing protocol, becoming data ready to shoot low numbers, how to do a curve, our slang (there's a lot of it so don't hesitate to ask), and posting conventions which you already seem to have mastered. Congrats on getting your spreadsheet (SS) up and running.

As others have already pointed out, we're a bit testaholic here. The more spot checks you can get, the better. It will allow you to see patterns and help you to make good decisions regarding dose. I'd encourage you to test prior to each shot. A lot can change between +11 and your PMPS. You can't always assume that the numbers will be close from one hour to the next.

Probably the two most important sticky notes to read are the ones on our dosing protocol and becoming data ready. Within the dosing protocol sticky are links to the formal version of the protocols we use. What's important to know is that Lantus dosing is twice a day. Dose increases and decreases are generally in the amount of 0.25u. This means it will be essential that you have syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments. The other Canadian members can tell you which brands are available and where to get them. If you are not comfortable shooting the same dose twice a day (BID), we will be happy to help you to find a dose you feel comfortable shooting BID. Lantus is an insulin that likes consistency -- a lot. If you change doses too quickly, numbers tend to get rather wonky and hard to interpret.

The "data ready" sticky will give you some guidelines for when it's safe to give a shot as well as outline your options if you have a low pre-shot number. As I said earlier, there are usually people around if you're not sure what to do, need a sounding board, or simply want feedback or support.

Please ask questions. The front end of this learning curve is huge. All of us have been there and have been overwhelmed. It gets easier! Visit our condos (the thread that we each open daily -- one condo per cat per day) and look at our spreadsheets. It's a great way to learn. And please, post daily. We're here to help in whatever way we can.
 
Good morning Sharon

Looks like Ramsey is back in the pink this morning, according to spreadsheet.
Will you be able to get some mid cycle numbers in today?

When you have a moment, you can begin a new thread/condo and update with today's numbers.
And please ask for help should you need it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top