9/5 Ella pm 122 (insulin tomorrow?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 (question shot time)

Anesthesia might make her bgs lower, so watch her when she gets home. And feed her only a couple of bites of food at a time. I've heard keeping her in a dark and quiet room when she gets home, helps too.

Depending upon her numbers, you could change her shot schedule by 15 minutes tonight, but I think I would wait until tomorrow morning, just to be safe.

Sending perfect dental vines to Ella, today.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today

Sending good dental vines by the ton.

I'd wait with Ella's shot time tonight and leave it as is. Anesthesia can lower BG so get an in-the-door test when you bring Ella home. Then you can compare your test with her PMPS.

You can move her shot time 30 min. earlier tomorrow AM so you're back on schedule.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today

Hi Tamara & Ella,
Ella, we are sending you good dental vines by special delivery. Fingers and paws crossed for a good dental with no complications. The KTSS will be by later with some soothing iced-chicken-soup smoothies.

I agree with Dyana and Sienne that you should wait until tomorrow to move Ella's shot time back to normal.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today

Tamara, sending many good dental vines and hugs for Ella and you. We'll be waiting to see how she's doing later.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today

Thank you for the dental vines. I just got a call from the vet who says it's much worse than it looked as her gums were seriously inflamed. She doesn't have stomatis but periodontal disease which means they have to extract atleast 8 teeth but she said they will be hard to maintain so they're taking them all out. They said her pain was difficult to control as she was flinching under anesthesia so they are working on trying to control that as we speak. Please keep those vines coming!

ps. I shot an hour late at 6:45am.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Healing vines to Ella! Pain pain go away!
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Morning Tamara - Many healing vines to Ella. I am sorry for the extractions, but it sounds like that is a must be. She will feel so much better after all is said and done, cats do great with little or no teeth. I hope for good pain management - i am sure they will be on top of that. I too would keep shot time as it is tonight. I would also check BG when she gets home. For Mannie these vet visits lower his BG, and the anesthesia will too. I too would serve only small meals, see how she does. You may also need to shoot a reduced dose if numbers are low, or she isn't eager to eat. I ran into this with Mannie. She will always recover from that if that is the case.

Wishing you much luck, and a speedy recovery for Ella.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Poor Ella!!

Stock in some baby food (Gerber Stage 2 or Beechnut -- no onions, veggies, etc. so read the label). The Gerber is about 7% carb and Gabby likes it much better than the Beechnut. (The Gerber actually does smell a lot better.)

Like others have mentioned, she may be hungry due to the anesthesia meds (some act like appy stimulants) and not having eaten. Feed only a teaspoon of food at a time. The anesthesia slows the GI tract and if she eats too much, you'll have scarf-and-barf.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Hi Tamara,

Good luck at the vet today with the dental. I hope Ella comes thru it with flying colors and feels much better after the soreness is gone. Will be looking for an update.

Lots of healing wishes & vines,
Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Thank you for the encouragment and information. I puree Ella's food so it is a soft consistency but I will pick up the appropriate gerber baby food just in case. She is such a picky eater. I'm feeling nervous but trying to stay positive. I hope they can get a handle on her pain. I said no Metacam so I'm not sure what they will give for inflammation. Hopefully the clindamycon is good for that.

edited to add: any flavour of gerber?
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

(((Tamara))) thanks on the update. Sending more vines and prayers for her pain to be controlled.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

awwww poor ella!! Definite pain free dental thoughts being sent her way!! I don't know about specific flavors of gerber food but I know you don't want anything with onions in it, as they are deadly to cats .. Seems like one other ingredient is recommended to stay away from too ..
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Poor little Ella.....she is going to feel so much better when she is over this. Sounds to me like the ticking time bomb was her mouth!

Sending lots of good dental vetty vines and healing thoughts.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Hopefully she is almost done with her surgery and you'll have news soon.
She will feel so much better getting rid of bad teeth. It affects so much for them.
And I'll bet your bg numbers start lowering as her gums heal from the surgery.

Ear scritches for Ella waiting to be home with her mamabean.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (full mouth)

Thank you for all of your prayers and vines. Ella is done with the surgery and the vet said it was a straight forward procedure. She is still very groggy from the extra pain medication she was given. I will be picking her up at 5:00 and will post later tonight. I hope she is able to settle in when she gets home. I may post for advice about dosing depending on where she is at so please watch for me around 6:30pm:)
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (update)

Aaahh, poor Ella. Thanks for the update. It sounds like the dental was definitely needed with those extractions, but she will feel so much better afterwards. When we had a dental the vet recommended a half dose that night but ECID. Good call on the no Medicam. I'll be curious to hear what they used for pain meds. Give her extra scritches from us.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (update)

Oh I bet that is a relief to know she is out and is resting .. Poor little girl .. I bet she get's lots of lovin's tonight!!
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (update)

Oh, poor little Ella. Tamara, I'm sending all the good healing vines and prayers for mouth healing and pain relief, I can muster!
Don't forget to take care of yourself tonight too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/5 Ella amps 306 dental today (update)

Hello everyone. Thank you for all of the healing vines. Ella will certainly need them. She is feeling dysphonic from all the extra bupe she got and wants to eat so bad but is having a hard time with the feeling of the sutures in her mouth. She'll eat a tiny bit and then paw at her mouth. It's pretty heart breaking. I came home with a codeine paste that goes on the ear for pain and will give that to her later. Ella just clocked in at 122 and is not eating so I'm not going to give her insulin. The vet pretty much told me I was being illogical for not giving her metacam as her mouth is pretty inflamed and in the 25 years she's been a vet she's never seen any adverse effects. She said the time to do it was now as she was well hydrated and her blood and urine tests showed that she was clear on all other fronts. I hope she won't feel pain for too much longer. The vet said I should be worried if she doesn't eat in 48 hours but I'm concerned that she's not eating now. Poor Ella :cry:
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

((hugs))) Know that each day Ella is going to feel better and better .. You are ellas bean, and if you don't feel right in giving metacam your vet should have respected that. Perhaps they have never seen a case, but there ARE cases out there .. why take the chance? If ella isn't eating there are ways you can get food in her .. others on here have more experience with that .. but hopefully once she is feeling a little better, she'll eat more .. Just hang in there!!
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

Hi Tamara, so glad you have your baby home. Sending many healing vines for sweet Ella. Have you tried any baby food? I remember you were blending your own, too! Keep us posted. Hugs.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

Hi Ella, Rusty here. I am bringing you some cool chicken broth this evening. It will help soothe your gums and you won't have to chew it at all. All the kitties want you to feel much better and the KTSS will be visiting you to hold your paw and tell you kitty stories and help to get the vetty smell off. See you later.
Rusty


Tamara, I'm sure you are drained from today's experience. Ella will surely begin to feel better now that those nasty teeth are out. You made the right decision about the Metacam. There are so many documented cases of bad outcomes caused by Metacam. Whatever antibiotic she is getting, be sure to add probiotics to her diet to prevent constipation and electrolyte imbalance. Plain yogurt with active cultures will work great if Ella will eat it. It might feel good on her gums, too.

We are sending lots and lots of healing vines to Ella this evening. And also vines to you both for a good, restful night. It was good to skip the shot.

Hang in there. You did the right thing.

Lots of hugs for you, and some gentle scritches for Ella

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

My response to a vet tech that told me I was being silly: "Is your malpractice insurance paid up? I certainly hope so because if my cat were to go into renal failure given the FDA black box warning, you would be putting both of my cats through college and paying for my retirement."

Good call on no insulin. She'll get used to the sutures and be able to eat.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

Poor Ella....what a rough day! Before you know it, though, all those LL vines and prayers - along with the KTSS - will kick in, and Ella will be feeling SO good. Hugs...and prayers that you have an easy night.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

I am so sorry Ella had to have so many teeth removed...Both my kitties had several dentals, had a lot of teeth out, and both got buperenex for pain.. Healing Vines sent to dear Ella, and I hope you see improvement--Definitely give the pain meds, that helps them a lot.. Thinking of you & hope she eats...Baby food & processed cat fuds will work great..Hugs & Love from us!!!
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

We feel very loved by all of your words of support and encouragment. Ella is resting in her bed and is still not that interested in her food. I think I've managed to give her a a few drops. She is initially interested but once it gets in she is bothered by the sutures. If she is in the pinks or reds tomorrow but is not eating, should I give her some insulin and if so, how much? She is currently getting 1.50. I gave her .75 today and now she is slowly on the rise.
 
Re: 9/5 Ella pm 122 no shot

Hi Tamara - poor Ella, but I know she will be feeling better by tomorrow. I hope the pain meds they gave you will help her. it should. I too feel is it a very good call not to give any insulin tonight. I'm not too sure what you are feeding her, but have you tried baby food: Gerber Chicken stage 2 works really well (or any one without oinon or garlic)? it i s very soft and cats seem to love it. It would do for a few days until it is easier for her to eat. She could lick that up without having to chew.

I firmly support your decision on metacam. The stories about that drug are true. it happened to me. Lost one of my kitties 6 years back to do renal failure caused by metacam. I will never ever give that drug to any of my pets. the risk is too great. You made the right call.

Many many healing vines for Ella tonight. I hope she rests well. Paws crossed!

hey Ella, Mannie here. The KTSS is coming, and we will bring you the bestest ever chicken broth, We will be there to keep you company and get you whatever you need. Don't worry - you will feel better by tomorrow. See you soon! ~~ Your pal, Mannie
 
Hi Tamara - I agree with Sienne. I too have given reduced dose(s) the day after a dental. Alot will depend too on how high her numbers are in the morning, and if she is willing to eat. Wishing you luck!
 
I tried the baby food. We couldn't find Gerber so bought Heinz (chicken). She seems a bit interested when I bring her the food but when I dab it on her mouth she takes a lick and then she runs under the bed. I too hope the pain meds work.

Michelle, I'm so sorry to hear that you lost your beloved fur baby to metacam. Thank you for sharing your story so other may learn about the adverse effects of the drug. The vet made me feel pretty awful about not giving it, saying her healing time would be be drastically slower. I hope the transdermal codeine will be effective.

I'm not sure what to do if Ella is high tomorrow morning but is not eating. Would you still give insulin without food on board?

Ella is looking forward to the treats the KTSS will be bringing her. I'm sorry I didn't visit condos today. We're feeling emotionally exhausted over here and willcatch up with everyone tomorrow.
 
Hi Tamara,

I'm glad that you're home with precious Ella and it's all over with. I hope she starts feeling better and better by the hour now and gets used to the stitches. The
plain yogurt sounds really good if she'll eat it. It's nice and cold and should make her mouth feel better. She also might like some ice cubes in a dish to lick on. It will help the swelling go down and feel good. Maybe some cottage cheese? Racci loves everything cheese. I hope she starts eating something for you. Maybe once she gets the pain meds she'll eat. Talk to you tomorrow.

I have to give Racci meds and food now. I hope you get some sleep tonight and Ella feels a little better in the morning. Poor baby with those stitches!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
HI Tamara - wishing you luck in the morning. and thanks on my guy from years ago. that was a tough time, but hopefully others will learn from it. I am sorry that your vet made you feel bad about the drug. That is a shame. I hope too that the transdermal codeine works well. I used bupe with my kitties - it is liquid, can be administered via mouth. If her mouth is so sore maybe the patch is better. ?? I wish I knew what to tell you about the morning, shooting etc, if she is high and still doesn't want to eat. You may need to go with a very reduced dose - I dunno. see where she is in the morning, how she feels. cats can heal so quickly. and post if you need help.

sleep well tonight - I know you are emotionally drained.
 
Hi Tamara and Ella, I just popped in to see Ella had a dental today. Sorry to hear they had to pull all her teeth, from the sounds of it, it was pretty bad. Pretty soon she'll be all healed up and feeling a million times better.

Feel better soon baby!!!
 
Are you going to stay home with her tomorrow and do you think she would let you syringe feed her if necessary?

If she's really high, I would shoot if I was going to be there and co us syringe some food or gravy into her. You can always shoot the reduced dose.

Is she on an AB now?

Hugs for you LIl Stinka Jr! ( that would be Ella, Tam :-D )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top