? 9/5 Dave AMPS 128, +2 58, +2.15 40, +2.20 43, +2.40 68, +3 50, +5 89, +7 56, +8 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hi there, panicking because Dave has plummeted down to the 40s, and we still have probably 4 hours until nadir. He got 1u this morning, same as he had the last few days. He actually had a weirdly high day yesterday. When he got the 40, mum gave him about 40g of HC, and a couple of teaspoons of very diluted glucose mix from glucose powder. I'm home from school now, and we'll keep testing him. We've just given him a teaspoon more HC to try to help him stay steady.
 
You know the drill: test, give a little HC, wait 20 min, test again, more HC, wait 20 min, etc. Probably a dose reduction to 0.75 u next dose.
 
Hi Jacqui.
Dave probably bounced a bit yesterday from the low numbers the day before.
He has earned a dose reduction down to 0.75 units.
Instead of fiddling with glucose powder, it is easier to give a drop of honey. It works fast.
Anyway it looks like he is on the way up a bit.
Well done.!!!
Just keep testing frequently and feeding when necessary to keep him above 50
 
Hi Jacqui.
Dave probably bounced a bit yesterday from the low numbers the day before.
He has earned a dose reduction down to 0.75 units.
Instead of fiddling with glucose powder, it is easier to give a drop of honey. It works fast.
Anyway it looks like he is on the way up a bit.
Well done.!!!
Just keep testing frequently and feeding when necessary to keep him above 50


The glucose is tricky, we don't actually know what part glucose to water to use. We'll use the honey if we need it. It looks like I'm in for a long few hours... I'm glad he's gotten another reduction though.
 
The HC is 18%. +3 and he's back down to 50... He got another 2 teaspoons of HC and a smidge of glucose.

You can give a teaspoon of HC and a drop of honey together if needed.
Just be aware that honey only lasts about an hour.
If he keeps dropping increase the honey.
The insulin is going to keep working at bring down the bsl until nadir or maybe beyond so you will have a few hours yet of testing and possibly giving food / honey to keep him up.
 
Last edited:
The HC is 18%
That's a good %.

it is easier to give a drop of honey
I agree. I like to use honey vs. karo-just my opinion but it doesn't seem as harsh. But it will wear off quickly too but good for getting them out of danger fast.

Remember, gravy only. Don't fill him up. You are early in the cycle and you may be at this a while. Test every 30 min and keep posting.

Congrats on the reduction!
 
The glucose is tricky, we don't actually know what part glucose to water to use. We'll use the honey if we need it. It looks like I'm in for a long few hours... I'm glad he's gotten another reduction though.
Honey is far easier than glucose and you will get to know how much to give. As I said in another post a drop the size of a very large smarty is what I call a drop.
Honey is good as it doesn't fill them up as much as food does and you have a way to go yet.
I have to go out for an hour but I will check back in when I get back.
Just keep doing what you have been doing. You can test in 20 mins if he goes really low, just to see he is on the way up and not down further.
 
Jacqui,
there was Weruva recall in Australia. In case you haven't seen here is the LINK to the condo that talks about it. I thought I've seen you were feeding Weruva, is that right?

Hope Dave surfs safely and congratulations on reducie!
 
Jacqui,
there was Weruva recall in Australia. In case you haven't seen here is the LINK to the condo that talks about it. I thought I've seen you were feeding Weruva, is that right?

Hope Dave surfs safely and congratulations on reducie!


I did hear about that, but I'm pretty sure it's just the BFF line? Dave gets Cats in the Kitchen as his HC. It's pretty scary though, and makes me not trust Weruva. I'm currently looking for a different HC, but having troubles finding any.
 
At +3.40 he's at 97. It looks like, for now, we're out of danger. I'll keep on testing still.
 
Great job today, Jacqui, and congratulations on the reduction! Dave is sure good at keeping you on your toes! Now no bouncing, buddy, okay? Just surf nicely all night. :D
 
Just surf nicely all night. :D
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Nice to see you Tricia:)
Middle of the day here in sunny Oz!;)

I did hear about that, but I'm pretty sure it's just the BFF line? Dave gets Cats in the Kitchen as his HC. It's pretty scary though, and makes me not trust Weruva. I'm currently looking for a different HC, but having troubles finding any.
I'm sure it is only the BFF line too.
Did you have a look at the HC FF ones I mentioned the other day. I noticed they still had them in WW when I was shopping yesterday. If you get stuck you can always give a lower carb food and add a drop of honey to make it HC.
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Nice to see you Tricia:)
Middle of the day here in sunny Oz!;)


I'm sure it is only the BFF line too.
Did you have a look at the HC FF ones I mentioned the other day. I noticed they still had them in WW when I was shopping yesterday. If you get stuck you can always give a lower carb food and add a drop of honey to make it HC.


We just got a chance to grab some of the FF Tuscan Turkey today, thanks for the recommendation!


An update on Dave, we're at +8 and I'm still having to give him 2 teaspoons HC every 30 minutes to stop him from dropping below 50. I won't be able to stall his shot tonight longer than 15 minutes, so what do I do if he keeps dropping? Chances are he'll start properly rising between now and then, but it'd be good to have an idea of what to do in case he doesn't.
 
See how he goes over the next hour or two . I will make sure I am around.
Keep posting all his numbers. We'll see what he is doing at +10. Ideally you wouldn't feed after +10 but keeping him safe is the main priority.
He is doing amazingly well. He is on a mission I think!
If he is still dropping or not coming up you can skip or give a BCS..see how he goes.
 
Congrats on the reduction! back to the 0.75 u dose....
That 40 shows he means it.

If he doesn't head upwards.... you can always shoot a partial dose to drain the depot.....
you'll know soon which way he's going.....
 
Good news, at +8.5 he's 81. I'm holding off on the food now, and I'll see where he's at +9.
 
+9, and he's back to 70. Should I give him food, or wait? I'll retest at +9.5 and +10...
 
Starting to come up nicely. (97@+11)
How are you managing with having to test a lot at night and going to school during the day?
You must be tired.
So for tonight's dose you could either go ahead and give the new reduced dose of 0.75 unit OR you could give a one off dose of say 0.5 unit to drain the depot a bit and hopefully you could get some sleep....although you still may have to test, depending what Dave has in mind. Then all things being equal you could go back to 0.75 unit for tomorrow mornings dose.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey ....what do you think??
 
Starting to come up nicely. (97@+11)
How are you managing with having to test a lot at night and going to school during the day?
You must be tired.
So for tonight's dose you could either go ahead and give the new reduced dose of 0.75 unit OR you could give a one off dose of say 0.5 unit to drain the depot a bit and hopefully you could get some sleep....although you still may have to test, depending what Dave has in mind. Then all things being equal you could go back to 0.75 unit for tomorrow mornings dose.
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey ....what do you think??


I've just been sleeping in between when he gets his tests - obviously doesn't work as well when he needs them every 20 minutes... I'm torn, both mum and I are pretty tired, and it would be nice to have a bit more relaxing night, but I don't want him to end up way too high...
 
I've just been sleeping in between when he gets his tests - obviously doesn't work as well when he needs them every 20 minutes... I'm torn, both mum and I are pretty tired, and it would be nice to have a bit more relaxing night, but I don't want him to end up way too high...
You have to look after yourselves as well. You will be no good to Dave if you can't function properly.
I don't think he will end up way too high if you go for the lower dose.
But it is up to you. You hold the syringe and you have to do all the testing.
You will still have to test either way, hopefully not as much with the lower dose.
I have gone with a lower dose at times when Sheba was running low and I was really tired.
 
You have to look after yourselves as well. You will be no good to Dave if you can't function properly.
I don't think he will end up way too high if you go for the lower dose.
But it is up to you. You hold the syringe and you have to do all the testing.
You will still have to test either way, hopefully not as much with the lower dose.
I have gone with a lower dose at times when Sheba was running low and I was really tired.


I went with the 0.5u, it'll be nice to (hopefully!) have a bit of a breather tonight. I'll test him at +2, and go from there.
 
I went with the 0.5u, it'll be nice to (hopefully!) have a bit of a breather tonight. I'll test him at +2, and go from there.
I would have gone with the 0.5 too. You can go back to the 0.75 in the morning and hopefully he will surf in higher greens!
He is going really well for a recently diagnosed FD cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top