9/5 Dallas AMPS 85, +2 86, +4 50, +5 76, PMPS 74

You are doing great, Michelle, but I am glad you took the reduction. You need to get more comfortable with the greens. As Bhooma said you will still have the higher dose depot on board. I think for four to six cycles. Keep a close eye on him but don't panic.
 
You are doing great, Michelle, but I am glad you took the reduction. You need to get more comfortable with the greens. As Bhooma said you will still have the higher dose depot on board. I think for four to six cycles. Keep a close eye on him but don't panic.
Thank you!! I do have to get more comfortable with the greens. I like knowing that his number is going up, and when I see that it is I feel much better shooting green :)
 
Thank you!! I do have to get more comfortable with the greens. I like knowing that his number is going up, and when I see that it is I feel much better shooting green :)
The only way to get comfortable is to shoot and see that he will come up with feeding the curve. You didn’t get a test after the 50 and I bet he earned this reduction. It will get easier. He’s on a mission I think.
 
Last edited:
Hope you fed a little MC/HC at +4? He has nothing to prove so might as well keep him up and save you some pokes!
He seems determined to tear down the dosing ladder! :D
 
Hope you fed a little MC/HC at +4? He has nothing to prove so might as well keep him up and save you some pokes!
He seems determined to tear down the dosing ladder! :D
I gave him MC :) Forgot to add it to his SS. I'll test him again at +5 (about 40 minutes) to see how he reacts to the food.
 
The only way to get comfortable is to shoot and see that he will come up with feeding the curve. You didn’t get a test after the 50 and I bet he earned this reduction. It will get easier. He’s on a mission I think.
He definitely is on a mission! lol I absolutely love seeing all the green and I hope he continues to earn those reductions :) At what number is it safe to shoot without stalling? Anything 50 or above?
 
If you can monitor you can shoot 50 and above. If you can’t then I’d stall to make sure he’s going up. I would want to be around until he’s flat at mid cycle or on the way up.
 
I just looked at your ss again and see that 50 was today! I would have waited on the decrease but he would have earned it today.
 
I just looked at your ss again and see that 50 was today! I would have waited on the decrease but he would have earned it today.
It was an unearned decrease because I'm going back to work Tuesday after being off for two weeks and won't be able to test him nearly as much. He also got to 50 late last night. I think he would have needed one more 50 or below to earn the decrease.
It's going to be nerve racking shooting green in the mornings before work. I'll have to leave him MC food in his auto feeder.
 
I agree he would have earned it. I just don’t want you to be afraid of green nadirs. I would definitely put mc in the feeder if you get a green amps. We also might need further technically unearned reductions to keep him safe and you sane. :bighug:
 
I agree he would have earned it. I just don’t want you to be afraid of green nadirs. I would definitely put mc in the feeder if you get a green amps. We also might need further technically unearned reductions to keep him safe and you sane. :bighug:
I agree on the unearned reductions to keep me sane!! lol He went up quite a bit after eating his MC at +4. If it was always that way I'd feel a lot better shooting green, leaving him MC and leaving the house.
 
I agree on the unearned reductions to keep me sane!! lol He went up quite a bit after eating his MC at +4. If it was always that way I'd feel a lot better shooting green, leaving him MC and leaving the house.
You will know how he does on this dose by tomorrow. If needed, we can reduce more. Safety first. When they are of a mind to go down in dosing at a breakneck speed we have to listen to them and not the protocols. And this is also specifically because you will not be home and able to monitor as much as you could in the last 2 weeks.
 
You will know how he does on this dose by tomorrow. If needed, we can reduce more. Safety first. When they are of a mind to go down in dosing at a breakneck speed we have to listen to them and not the protocols. And this is also specifically because you will not be home and able to monitor as much as you could in the last 2 weeks.
Ive noticed he’s feeling better too! Especially today. He used to just sleep all the time (which I guess is normal for a 12 year old), but he’s playing more and sleeping a bit less which makes mama happy :)
 
You posted while I was writing? When do you start work? If not tomorrow you could shoot now and decide on the test later.
I start work Tuesday morning. If I adjust to get a +2 I would have to get up at 4:30am and I'm not guaranteed to be home for his PMPS. Very tricky.
 
So what do you think? Do you want to move to SLGS until you both adjust to your work schedule?
Whatever you think is safest. I'd hate to come home to an unwell Dallas, but I'd also hate seeing yellows and pinks again. My boyfriend is usually off anywhere in between 12-2pm, but that's just not guaranteed to happen everyday. When he is though, he could get in a +7 or +8
 
Problem is his nadir is +4-5. You could set the auto feeder or leave food out based upon the night nadir I guess. Maybe the doxycycline is bringing down his numbers. I hate for you to lose the great momentum too. Let me talk to a few people.
Remind me why the doxycycline? Where’s the infection?
 
Problem is his nadir is +4-5. You could set the auto feeder or leave food out based upon the night nadir I guess. Maybe the doxycycline is bringing down his numbers. I hate for you to lose the great momentum too. Let me talk to a few people.
Remind me why the doxycycline? Where’s the infection?
I was thinking I could leave MC or even HC in his auto feeder. I can leave two meals with his auto feeder, but I might order the one for 5 meals that comes with ice packs.

He finished the Doxy last night. He has a history of asthma that resolved a few years ago, but he started coughing again. We wanted to try Doxycycline to see if it was just a respiratory infection possibly secondary to an allergy flare, but the cough is still there, so I see a steroid inhaler in his future. His vet said it won't negatively impact his heart or glucose.
 
If you stick to the current shot schedule, can you get a +1? If so and you dint see a good bump you could feed mc or hc and abort any cycle where you see a green amps. If not low you could set the feeder as usual. I’d get the 5 meal feeder.
Has he had an echo to make sure the cough is not heart related?
 
If you stick to the current shot schedule, can you get a +1? If so and you dint see a good bump you could feed mc or hc and abort any cycle where you see a green amps. If not low you could set the feeder as usual. I’d get the 5 meal feeder.
Has he had an echo to make sure the cough is not heart related?
If really need be I can move his AMPS and PMPS to 5:30 and I could get a +1. I leave the house anywhere between 6:45-7am. That would also mean I would hopefully get to bed earlier at night :) I can try and if I find myself very tired at work I'll have to make a change somewhere because my job can be quite demanding and very busy.

He's had two echo. His last one was 9-10 months ago. There was no mention about his cough being heart related.

by abort any cycle where you see a green amps do you mean not shoot?
 
How should I bring his shot time down to 5:30 by Tuesday? Right now he's getting it at 7pm. Bringing it down from 7:30 (we slowly increased it from 6:30 to 7:30 because we were planning to go on a day trip to visit family yesterday, which we decided against because of his low numbers). Hope what I just typed makes sense lol

His +2 is 58
 
You can bring it down 30 minutes every 24 hours either all at once or 15 minutes each cycle. That drop at +2 means he’s on the move again. Something has changed since 8/22 He might drop under 50 again. What percent carbs is your mc?
 
You can bring it down 30 minutes every 24 hours either all at once or 15 minutes each cycle. That drop at +2 means he’s on the move again. Something has changed since 8/22 He might drop under 50 again. What percent carbs is your mc?
Ok, so I'll only be able to bring it down to 6:00 by Tuesday morning, then 5:30 Wednesday morning. Tuesday I'll shoot at 6am, then check again at 6:45 before I leave.

His mc is 13% and I just realized I only have about a teaspoon left!!:banghead: I'll have to go out to the store unless if I can mix hc with lc. His hc is 21% and lc is 2%

I was away for 5 weeks and came back 8/21. I wonder if he was stressed thinking mama wasn't coming back lol. He's very used to my bf though. They've lived together for 7 years
 
Last edited:
If you don’t want to go to the store until tomorrow give him mostly lc with some hc and see what happens. The depot is in play. Maybe lc will do it?
 
If you don’t want to go to the store until tomorrow give him mostly lc with some hc and see what happens. The depot is in play. Maybe lc will do it?
I'm going to run to the store now. It's a holiday here tomorrow and mostly everything will be closed. Wish me luck that I will find his mc food!
 
Hope so. Do you think he's good for the night or get one more test in?

Another test after that 47 is strongly recommended. When you get a low number (under 50), you want to increase frequency of testing, approx. 20 minutes, and feed again, to make sure you are safely above 50, then retest in 30-40 minutes to make sure he stays there. It can happen that the carbs can wear off, and numbers can drop again under 50.

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Another test after that 47 is strongly recommended. When you get a low number (under 50), you want to increase frequency of testing, approx. 20 minutes, and feed again, to make sure you are safely above 50, then retest in 30-40 minutes to make sure he stays there. It can happen that the carbs can wear off, and numbers can drop again under 50.

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
Thank you! I had tested 30 minutes after he tested 47 and it went up to 67 and I just tested again.
 
You need at least an hour after the under 50 test. I used to test
2 hours after. Thirty minutes is a little too soon for safety.
 
You need at least an hour after the under 50 test. I used to test
2 hours after. Thirty minutes is a little too soon for safety.
I'll test again at +5.5. I'm not sure what I'm going to do tomorrow evening. Hopefully he won't reach below 50 because I can't stay up until 1am when I work the next morning. At most +4
 
by abort any cycle where you see a green amps do you mean not shoot?
If necessary tomorrow night you can abort the cycle by feeding hc.
hc right at his pmps (depending on the number)?
She meant you can feed higher carbs early in the cycle to ensure he doesn't dip low later at night and keep you up.

Hopefully by tomorrow night he will settle into the reduction and stay at flatter higher numbers!
 
She meant you can feed higher carbs early in the cycle to ensure he doesn't dip low later at night and keep you up.

Hopefully by tomorrow night he will settle into the reduction and stay at flatter higher numbers!
After I posted that question I re-read her post and figured she meant by feeding hc or mc hahaha. That made way more sense. Oops!

Hopefully!!
 
Back
Top