9/5 Catcat AMPS 291,+4=166, PMPS 199

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...101-10-181-pmps-167-3-239-song-lyrics.218960/

blues yesterday, bounce this morning -- really don't want to do an increase, I think he'd bounce more often and more drastically -- for some reason I have a sinking feeling that this is, instead, a slightly-too-high dose; not sure why I feel that way though, it just keeps bothering me

I've had to work hard to get the bubbles out of the syringe, when drawing up the dose -- I may just leave the bubble in there and see if that slight reduction in the amount, works better than when I tap and pull more air in, and tap and tap and try to get all the air out -- plus I'm wasting a lot of insulin pulling 3 or 4 units into the syringe, to be able to eject enough to make the bubble disappear, for a 1 unit dose

Catcat could not care a fig, all he wants is the food and the treats .. he gets impatient while I fiddle with the syringe, trying to get the dosage exact

On a wonderful day like today
I defy any cloud to appear in the sky
Dare any rain drop to plop in my eye
On a wonderful day like today

On a wonderful morning like this
When the sun is as big as a yellow balloon
Even the sparrows are singing in tune
On a wonderful morning like this
 
Sorry to hear you're struggling with those bubbles...I never have a problem flicking those little devils right out - sometimes if they get lodged under a little insulin, it's a little squirt...but that doesn't happen often...

Wish I could help...

Lovely tune there this morning...how long with SLGS before you can give a little more - so as to nudge Catcat into the lagoon?
 
Nice to have song lyrics, next thing is to HEAR THE VOICE behind... We're waiting for your video! :p

Too bad for the air bubbles; I'm lucky I very seldom have any! I hold the vial almost vertically and make sure the syringe plunger is tightly pushed before inserting into the vial! Maybe the speed you draw can make a difference....

What makes you think this is a slightly-too-high dose ?

Have a great day and practice your next song for us...:joyful:
 
hold the vial almost vertically and make sure the syringe plunger is tightly pushed before inserting into the vial!

I agree with Lyane. I only get a very tiny buble "sometimes" & I just ignore it. I cannot waste insulin!
Good luck with that!
images
 
Nice to have song lyrics, next thing is to HEAR THE VOICE behind... We're waiting for your video! :p

Have a great day and practice your next song for us...:joyful:

no you do not want to hear me singing ... I do call for square dances but have been told -- chant the words, don't sing !

was singing along with the national anthem a year or two ago, at the Arlington fly-in; my friend turned to me, afterwards, and said "now I know why you don't sing in public"

46495213_10157492215889714_3418611573239840768_n.jpg
 
Last edited:
That is a lot to waste. I only pull up .5 more than I need. Sometimes you just can't get it out.

If your pulling back on syringe and getting more air in then the amount your giving might be wrong. The marks on the syringe take into account the amount in the needle itself as part on the units.
 
I always had an issue with bubbles. I finally gave up trying to get rid of them. I would try up a tiny amount more than needed and dribble out a little if no bubbles or leave it in if bubbles. Since the beginning lines are often different on syringes even from the same box and manufacturer it seemed to balance out just fine. Don’t stress over this.
 
That is a lot to waste. I only pull up .5 more than I need. Sometimes you just can't get it out.

If your pulling back on syringe and getting more air in then the amount your giving might be wrong. The marks on the syringe take into account the amount in the needle itself as part on the units.

that's why I pull back and use so much insulin -- I want to have insulin coming out of the needle AFTER the bubble is ejected, I want nothing but insulin from the needle tip down to the plunger -- "just a bit extra" does not seem to cut it -- I do still have almost a half vial left, and it's 7 months old now, going on 8 ... waiting to see if it starts becoming ineffective, then I'll switch to an unused pen, I think that will be easier to deal with
 
Nice to see some blue today. I know it seems backwards, but a lot of the time raising the dose can help flatten out bounces and going down can make them worse.
 
the last time I raised the dose, I got more pinks and fewer greens ...

we'll see --- the constant blues often seem to presage a green or two -- if not, we'll see -- if I stay on SLGS, the apparent nadirs indicate keeping the same dose, that is, if I'm reading it right

oh well, next time I get a morning pink, I have a pink bow tie for him

first you say you will
and then you won't
then you say you'll do
that's when you don't
you're undecided now
so what are you gonna do ?

(need three more to sing harmony ... )
 
Last edited:
yes! apparently there is a coating inside the syringe to smooth its action, if you push insulin back in the pen you've contaminated it, I was told if that happens, the insulin is no good -- I'd want confirmation of that, but I know I'd never try to reinsert insulin -- I'd just figure that extra insulin was the equivalent of a fur shot -- remember, those who use the pen needles rather than syringes, waste 2 units to "prime" each time anyway
 
Back
Top