...+9.5 (64) Makoto- starting to worry

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
I increased his dose today since I was going to be home for a few days and would be able to do a curve/ stay up if needed. I also gave his dose later than planned this am , like usually when I work. We usually shoot for 6:30 AM/PM, but with work it's closer to 7:20/7:30. I am planning on checking it in 15 mins for a +5 and have all kinds of LC,MC options on hand that he likes....but I am wondering if I should stop the increase and get back on a better schedule first. I feel like I messed up and made too many changes... I was just getting nervous with being stalled in the yellows for too long.

I don't know how to copy the previous post ,but I checked another BG at +9.25 ( 2 hours and 15 minutes after getting the (110) and got ( 64) - feed high carb but I am starting to worry that we are closer to his AM time and he isn't staying level... retest in 15 mins. Guess I under did the carb snacks earlier
 
(231)+9.40 little after I wanted to grab it
I'll recheck at +10 - which is in 15 mins for us now.
poor guy :( I've put him on quite the rollercoaster today
 
yes- snacked on high carb food- 23-28% - gave a better serving size than I meant to I think but I was worrying and he was asking for food once we got into the kitchen.
You only need to give a teaspoon of the food and that should bring him up.
I know it can be scary when they drop lower than you are expecting.
How much do you think you might have given.?
 
You only need to give a teaspoon of the food and that should bring him up.
I know it can be scary when they drop lower than you are expecting.
How much do you think you might have given.?

That's what I had been doing with the MC food and it helped but not for long - so I started to panic a bit..he could care less.
It seemed like about 2.5-3 teaspoons max- it covered the surface of the lid for the 2.8 oz cans if I eyeball it.
 
Makoto, being on SLGS, has earned a reduction in dose with that 64 down to 1 unit.
You will need to stay on the 1 unit for 7 days ( unless he drops under 90) and take a curve around the 7 day mark to see how he is going.
I would suggest trying to get some tests in during the cycles to see how low the 1 unit is taking him.
Also I would get a ‘before bed’ test done every night. If the BG is lower than the Preshot I would get another test done as that can indicate an active cycle.
Getting tests in throughout the various days helps to get a picture of how Makoto is going.
How does that sound?
 
(340) +10
* sigh* overdid it
I can't do before bedtime test Wednesday - Friday night this week since I work from 7pm-7 am but I will for the next 2 nights and might have to go in late on Wednesday ...
 
It’s not unusual for kitties BG to wobble up and down a bit when they drop lower. That is why it is a good idea to keep testing to make sure they get back into safe numbers.
After giving MC and HC food, the effect wears off after an hour or two so that is why you need to keep testing.
 
Thanks for the help

He seems tired now...he's definitely sick of the BG checks now. I wish I would have just stayed with my 200s/yellows- I got impatient- lesson learned for sure. I'll grab another on 30 minutes then and our AMPS is 30 minutes or so after that. Depending on the AMPS- should I skip on the 1 unit or just give it and monitor tightly?
I feel like his AM shot isn't the one that moves him around lately - it's the PM shot but I don't want to mess anything up again
 
(340) +10
* sigh* overdid it
I can't do before bedtime test Wednesday - Friday night this week since I work from 7pm-7 am but I will for the next 2 nights and might have to go in late on Wednesday ...

The first time I had a low number I completely overdid it too !

With testing, do the best you can. If you can get a +2, that is helpful too. If that is the same or lower than the Preshot and you have to leave, you can leave out some HC food for Makoto
Do you have an automatic feeder?
They are very worth while if you are not going to be there.
 
The first time I had a low number I completely overdid it too !

With testing, do the best you can. If you can get a +2, that is helpful too. If that is the same or lower than the Preshot and you have to leave, you can leave out some HC food for Makoto
Do you have an automatic feeder?
They are very worth while if you are not going to be there.

in previous weeks, his numbers hadn't changed until the +4 time, so I had been leaving a LC snack in his automatic feeder - set for either 11PM or Midnight - depending on how his numbers looked before. I think with my work schedule causing us to get late AM doses- it's just been difficult to maintain the consistency we have when I am off.
 
Thanks for the help

He seems tired now...he's definitely sick of the BG checks now. I wish I would have just stayed with my 200s/yellows- I got impatient- lesson learned for sure.
We all live and learn. :)
The thing is, with out any tests in the pm cycles, he could easily be dropping into blues and greens overnight and then back to pinks and yellows at Preshot.
The only way to find out is to test.
He is probably feeling a bit yuck from the BG rising fast.
See you tomorrow :)
 
in previous weeks, his numbers hadn't changed until the +4 time, so I had been leaving a LC snack in his automatic feeder - set for either 11PM or Midnight - depending on how his numbers looked before. I think with my work schedule causing us to get late AM doses- it's just been difficult to maintain the consistency we have when I am off.
On your days off try and get some night time tests in so you have some idea of how he goes overnight. He is still very early on in his FD journey and you are doing well.
Read the SLGS method again, or better still, print it off. It has lots of info in it to help you and keep asking us questions.
 
On your days off try and get some night time tests in so you have some idea of how he goes overnight. He is still very early on in his FD journey and you are doing well.
Read the SLGS method again, or better still, print it off. It has lots of info in it to help you and keep asking us questions.

I still get confused with the process, but I will re-read it today. I printed the dosing parameters and it's on out kit but clearly I didn't understand the timing of increases.
Just to clarify- back to 1 unit as long as his AMPS is above what It has been or as long as it's not in the blue/green range? wasn't sure if I needed to skip if his PS was much lower than usual after this mess up tonight
 
If the BG is under 200 I would post and ask for help. Stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 mins.
Read what it says in the guidelines of SLGS about dosing. I can’t copy and paste it here as I am on my iPhone as my internet is playing up again and I can’t use my computer or iPad.

He may drop again after the HC wears off but he could well be bouncing from the 64 earlier.

I am heading to bed shortly but the US people will be coming online soon.
If you been help, just change your subject line to ‘need help with AMPS dosing’
 
If the BG is under 200 I would post and ask for help.
Read what it says in the guidelines of SLGS about dosing. I can’t copy and paste it here as I am on my iPhone as my internet is playing up again and I can’t use my computer or iPad.

He may drop again after the HC wears off but he could well be bouncing from the 64 earlier.

I am heading to bed shortly but the US people will be coming online soon.
If you been help, just change your subject line to ‘need help with AMPS dosing’

Goodnight ! Will do
 
Back
Top