13 yr old cat lost 5 lbs in the past year (from 15 to 10lbs). took to vet 3 weeks ago & got diagnosed with diabetes.
put on 1u of lantus twice daily, but blood glucose (taken 1 hr after food at noon; at the same time as giving insulin) has been between 400-600 (22-33) every single day since diagnosis, averaging 500. i called vet to see if i should up the dose, but they insisted i do new glucose curve. i did it at home- it was mostly successful. i am missing first reading of the day- he wont cooperate when he is hungry. tried again today, but no luck. lowest number on curve was 408 (22.7), with most numbers in the 400s & 2 in the 500s.
Questions-
1) he acts starved all day, can i just feed him all day (every 2-3 hours)? is being fed all day why his BG #s are so high? (he eats 14oz of wet food a day plus 2-4oz of cooked chicken)
2) does it take a while for the body to get adjusted to insulin for it to work? is that why they told me to hold at 1u despite his BG numbers being so high? should i up the dose?
3) he has soft stools/diarrhea regularly. is this connected to the diabetes, or at least the high BG? i've been giving him pumpkin daily, but it doesnt always seem to work. (full panel of tests were done, there's no parasites, etc)
4) he has peed in his sleep a few times lately. not large amounts, but enough for me to put paper towels for him to sleep on. Is this related to the diabetes?
(thanks in advance. my vet is out for the month & since i've already spent so much money on initial testing/diagnosis, i'm not able to pay for advice from a new vet. also sorry if i did not follow terminology- i don't quite understand all of the +/- stuff yet)
put on 1u of lantus twice daily, but blood glucose (taken 1 hr after food at noon; at the same time as giving insulin) has been between 400-600 (22-33) every single day since diagnosis, averaging 500. i called vet to see if i should up the dose, but they insisted i do new glucose curve. i did it at home- it was mostly successful. i am missing first reading of the day- he wont cooperate when he is hungry. tried again today, but no luck. lowest number on curve was 408 (22.7), with most numbers in the 400s & 2 in the 500s.
Questions-
1) he acts starved all day, can i just feed him all day (every 2-3 hours)? is being fed all day why his BG #s are so high? (he eats 14oz of wet food a day plus 2-4oz of cooked chicken)
2) does it take a while for the body to get adjusted to insulin for it to work? is that why they told me to hold at 1u despite his BG numbers being so high? should i up the dose?
3) he has soft stools/diarrhea regularly. is this connected to the diabetes, or at least the high BG? i've been giving him pumpkin daily, but it doesnt always seem to work. (full panel of tests were done, there's no parasites, etc)
4) he has peed in his sleep a few times lately. not large amounts, but enough for me to put paper towels for him to sleep on. Is this related to the diabetes?
(thanks in advance. my vet is out for the month & since i've already spent so much money on initial testing/diagnosis, i'm not able to pay for advice from a new vet. also sorry if i did not follow terminology- i don't quite understand all of the +/- stuff yet)