? 9/4 Taz, AMPS-82, +1-62, +1.5-51, +2-60

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
We're still assist feeding Taz (pancreatitis) and I was stupid and gave insulin this morning, because I didn't notice any bouncing yesterday. Taz dropped instead of getting a food bump and insulin hasn't even kicked in yet. I had to blend some MC and syringe it into him because he wasn't interested in eating it. I opened some HC and he did happily eat some of that.

He's earned a reduction again, and at this point we're worried that insulin is still too high. My hubby is trying to get me to drop Taz down to 1 unit instead of his new 1.5 because we'd rather have him a bit too high, than to miss a low like this while we're at work (alphatrak).

Because of his chronic pancreatitis, he's losing weight despite the fact that he's getting the same calories. Someone suggested he might have EPI, but he doesn't have most of the symptoms (other than weight loss and firm tan colored stools). It did get me to doing some research and even if he doesn't have EPI, there's a good chance that he still needs digestive enzymes (which should be arriving today). If he isn't processing all of his protein/fat/carbs, could that be why his glucose keeps dropping like it is? It doesn't seem correct that his pancreas is doing well enough for the insulin to be working like this, yet it's bad enough that he's losing weight from not digesting his food properly?

Looking for your thoughts and experiences please.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...13-2-71-2-5-52-3-70-4-51.267820/#post-2995308
 
I afraid the cysts may have something to do with his dropping bg. Was a needle biopsy ever done?
 
Yes, the biopsy came back negative for cancer.
That’s good. How long ago? Something is causing her to lose weight and possibly nit retain the nutrients. Did you run the panel to check pancreatic enzymes? I’m just trying to figure out how to figure this out.
 
That’s good. How long ago? Something is causing her to lose weight and possibly nit retain the nutrients. Did you run the panel to check pancreatic enzymes? I’m just trying to figure out how to figure this out.
He had his cyst drained and blood work done in early July. I don't know if a panel was done to check for enzymes, but the vet said everything looked really good. The only thing I can think of is he has an enlarged liver and I was giving him ondansetron for about a month. During that time he started having tan stool and when I researched it, it says ondansetron can cause liver damage. He also has a slightly enlarged heart and ondansetron can also cause issues with the heart. I've started giving him turmeric because I know that helps with inflammation, and I'm hoping it will help with his liver, heart, and pancreas. Nothing else is different than normal. My husband was laid off from work in late July and he just started another job this week. We never received an unemployment payment, so money for a vet is rough right now (we still owe almost $10,000 from his prior vet visits since January). He's staying right at 59 today (low on alphatrak).

Do you think it would be a bad idea to drop him down to 1 unit tonight?
 
I had forgotten that the cyst was drained. I know many cats with pancreatitis on ondansetron so and the articles I have read recommend it so that it interesting. I guess if nauseous again you could try cerenia.
 
This is what I found.
Side effects are uncommon. Rare side effects may include constipation, sleepiness, or head shaking. Rare but serious side effects include abnormal heart rhythms and low blood pressure, which may cause fainting/collapse or severe lethargy.

Ondansetron should not be used in pets that are allergic to it. It should be used cautiously in pets with gastrointestinal blockage, certain abnormal heart rhythms, or liver disease. Ondansetron should be used with caution in pregnant or lactating pets as safety has not been clearly established.
 
This is what I found.
Side effects are uncommon. Rare side effects may include constipation, sleepiness, or head shaking. Rare but serious side effects include abnormal heart rhythms and low blood pressure, which may cause fainting/collapse or severe lethargy.

Ondansetron should not be used in pets that are allergic to it. It should be used cautiously in pets with gastrointestinal blockage, certain abnormal heart rhythms, or liver disease. Ondansetron should be used with caution in pregnant or lactating pets as safety has not been clearly established.
This is what I read also. I was giving him two pills a day, which I found out was probably double the normal dose, but because of his weight, it's what was given by the vet. I just don't know. I know pancreatitis itself is terrible for the body too, and of course there enlarged heart can't be good. :(
 
He doesn't have much of one at all today. We're still syringe feeding him to keep calories going in.

His sister is also not eating much lately. We're in southern California and we have horrid humidity lately, which makes all of us extremely miserable (we have swamp coolers instead of air conditioning in the desert). :(
 
We're still assist feeding Taz (pancreatitis) and I was stupid and gave insulin this morning, because I didn't notice any bouncing yesterday. Taz dropped instead of getting a food bump and insulin hasn't even kicked in yet. I had to blend some MC and syringe it into him because he wasn't interested in eating it. I opened some HC and he did happily eat some of that.

He's earned a reduction again, and at this point we're worried that insulin is still too high. My hubby is trying to get me to drop Taz down to 1 unit instead of his new 1.5 because we'd rather have him a bit too high, than to miss a low like this while we're at work (alphatrak).

Because of his chronic pancreatitis, he's losing weight despite the fact that he's getting the same calories. Someone suggested he might have EPI, but he doesn't have most of the symptoms (other than weight loss and firm tan colored stools). It did get me to doing some research and even if he doesn't have EPI, there's a good chance that he still needs digestive enzymes (which should be arriving today). If he isn't processing all of his protein/fat/carbs, could that be why his glucose keeps dropping like it is? It doesn't seem correct that his pancreas is doing well enough for the insulin to be working like this, yet it's bad enough that he's losing weight from not digesting his food properly?

Looking for your thoughts and experiences please.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...13-2-71-2-5-52-3-70-4-51.267820/#post-2995308
Sending well wishes!
 
Sending well wishes!
Thank you. Yesterday was a really rough day. We lowered his dose to 1 unit because we'd rather have him a bit high, than to chance another day like yesterday or the 31st happening again when we're at work and no one's home to help. With each pancreatitis attack, controlling his diabetes seems to matter less and less because all we want for him is to eat and enjoy life while he can. :(
 
Thank you. Yesterday was a really rough day. We lowered his dose to 1 unit because we'd rather have him a bit high, than to chance another day like yesterday or the 31st happening again when we're at work and no one's home to help. With each pancreatitis attack, controlling his diabetes seems to matter less and less because all we want for him is to eat and enjoy life while he can. :(
It sounds like you are doing your best, and prioritizing tazs’ quality which sounds logical. Dont get discouraged, ive been in a somewhat similar spot with Lando and he is now having a very easy time with his ailments. I am hoping the same will happen for Taz
 
It sounds like you are doing your best, and prioritizing tazs’ quality which sounds logical. Dont get discouraged, ive been in a somewhat similar spot with Lando and he is now having a very easy time with his ailments. I am hoping the same will happen for Taz
About an hour ago, Taz came out of the bedroom panting and not being able to breathe. I thought it was heart related, and we sat with him, trying to soothe him. It took us about 10 minutes to calm him down where he started breathing normally again. He did this the day he was diagnosed (in January), and I'm pretty sure that it's pain related.

We gave him some cerenia and bupe, and he enjoyed a small handful of dry kitty food for the second time since January. At this point, we want to keep him as comfortable and happy as possible. He hasn't wanted to eat much on his own for the past week, but he sucked the dry food down like he was starving. We know it's really bad for his diabetes and now his decrease in insulin, but at this point, it's like you said... it's the quality of his life at this point. :(
 
About an hour ago, Taz came out of the bedroom panting and not being able to breathe. I thought it was heart related, and we sat with him, trying to soothe him. It took us about 10 minutes to calm him down where he started breathing normally again. He did this the day he was diagnosed (in January), and I'm pretty sure that it's pain related.

We gave him some cerenia and bupe, and he enjoyed a small handful of dry kitty food for the second time since January. At this point, we want to keep him as comfortable and happy as possible. He hasn't wanted to eat much on his own for the past week, but he sucked the dry food down like he was starving. We know it's really bad for his diabetes and now his decrease in insulin, but at this point, it's like you said... it's the quality of his life at this point. :(
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Also remember that things COULD improve later. One moment at a time
 
Back
Top