9/4 Taishi AMPS 89, +12.5 92, +1 60, +1.5 60, +2 64, +2.5 85, +4 101, +6 110

Taishi_Ci

Member
Happy Saturday!

I know I've been MIA lately (have had a lot of personal things going on and just haven't been near my computer much). After hmming and hawing over it, we increased Taishi to 2.5U over a week ago. We didn't get accurate numbers on how the new dose was working because Taishi got into the dry food one day and also had 2 potential possible fur shots (I'm skeptical, but we're not sure). We did finally see greens again 3 days ago and yesterday he spent the entire day in the blue! Yay!!

My husband woke me up this morning to tell me Taishi was only at 89 for AMPS. That is definitely the lowest number he's ever had in the AM, but wasn't surprising since he spent the whole previous day blue. We've shot a green number before, so I felt confident we could do it again. It's Saturday and daytime, so we're both around all day to monitor.

Unfortunately, my husband fed him instead of stalling to see if his BG was on the way up. That made my decision to shoot green a lot harder, but I decided to go for it.

Just did our +1 and he was down to 60. Eek!! Feeling a little nervous/scared. Fed him a tablespoon of FF Gravy Lovers and will check again in 20 minutes or so and keep y'all updated.

Hope everyone and their kitties has been doing well <3
 
60 again at +1.5... Relieved that he didn't drop again, but it's still not even +2 yet. Fed another tablespoon of Gravy Lovers.

Is there anything else we should run out and get to be prepared? We have some more Gravy Lovers and 100% pure Maple Syrup on hand. Hoping that's enough to get us through, but may be able to run out and get a higher carb food (I saw the Friskies Indoor is really high carb!)
 
You can always add a little honey to the highest carb food if he needs it. It’s good to have some high carb over 20% around just in case as the food sticks with them longer than honey.
 
Been testing every 30 minutes and he's up to 85 at +2.5. I'm going to hold off on any more food for now (he had another teaspoon of MC at +2), since I'm pretty comfortable with the 85. Do you guys think testing in 1 hour is okay, or should we keep checking every 30 minutes? He is such a trooper with the pokes. Almost never has a reaction! But of course his little ears will probably get sore at some point.
 
101 at +4. I'm hoping he doesn't go too much higher than that, but based on our past experiences he's probably in for a big bounce. Feeling comfortable enough to leave to run errands. Thank you everyone for the support and guidance! It was an exciting morning here :)
 
He was 110 at +6... not the bounce I was expecting, but it's still about 5 hours from shot time.

With the 60s he had this morning so soon after the shot, should I give him the full 2.5 tonight? Obviously I'll check in closer to shot time, but I also know that with Lantus being a depot insulin, you're not really shooting the preshot number, right?
 
He was 110 at +6... not the bounce I was expecting, but it's still about 5 hours from shot time.

With the 60s he had this morning so soon after the shot, should I give him the full 2.5 tonight? Obviously I'll check in closer to shot time, but I also know that with Lantus being a depot insulin, you're not really shooting the preshot number, right?
That's correct. Lantus doesn't onset until +2 or +3, so you're shooting the number he will be at several hours later. I have a feeling he will be heading a little higher though. What you're seeing is how well Lantus can keep low numbers low and steady. I know it was nerve wracking but it's good that you shot this morning!
 
Back
Top