9/4 Missy AMPS 322 +6.5=63 PMPS 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom2Missy

Member
So Missy decided she didn't want to have 3 insulin injections today, so her number were better than usual, though on the low side.

+3 139
+4 80
+6.5 63
+8 68 - Gave 1oz of food since we skipped the mid-day injection
+10 173
+11 314 Gave 0.5unit

Now that I'm looking at her numbers, I'm wondering if the big jump from +8 to +11 was food spike (though she received a tiny bit of food) vs rebound. She dropped 259 points in 6.5 hours. Maybe we should try 0.4 units tomorrow to see what happens. What do you think?
 
I was thinking the same thing (0.4) when I saw that drop to the +3. It's nothing to worry about, but could be a hair less insulin will flatten the curve a bit for her. Although on the other hand the nadir is perfect today, you wouldn't want to lose out on those nice greens, and it could be she needs the full 0.5 to get to them. OK, I talked myself into being on the fence whether to try 0.4 or stick with 0.5 which gave you a nice nadir, lol, so I guess I'm not much help!!! ohmygod_smile

That longer duration is nice to see. Sometimes when they spend some nice time in good #s they seem to get better duration after that.

I'd guess the big jump by +11 may just be the insulin wearing off. If you had given her a shot at +10 that might have been ideal, that way you catch her before her #s are so high, thus avoiding a big drop back from pinks to blues again. Not sure if you would want to reduce the dose a bit or not for that since the shot is earlier and the PS is lower, I haven't followed the dosing closely enough (or have enough feel for TID) to comment on that, but hopefully Dr. Lisa gave you some guidelines on how to decide stuff like that.
 
I sat there for the longest time at +10 wondering what to if I should shoot a lower amount or wait another hour. I could not decide was to do. I thought if I waited, she'd go to maybe 250 or so. I had no clue it would jump that much! But, you know, this seems to be trial and error. And knowing Missy, know that I know what I should do when this scenario happens again, it never will. Tomorrow, she'll probably follow the TID schedule perfectly, or she'll be in green and blue all day with no problems. Or maybe she'll come up with something different because those two options are way to easy. That girl plays by her own rules.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top