9/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489 +5.25 397 PMPS 402 +3 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124659
Happy Fursday All :!:
Boy! did Michael Jump :!: . (8/3 PMPS +2 125 to 8/4 AMPS 478) I gave 1.25u @AMPS, but I don't think I got enough (if any) in him. When I checked the syringe after I shot, Some squirted out. ( not just one squirt, but two.) This sugar dance really keeps one on their toes, and my toes are really sore. Wish all this was easier:YMSIGH:
Feel better vines to all in need.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

M is really climbing. I looks like I didn't get the insulin in him. Hope is going to be o.k. I don't like these high numbers. This scares me :!: I have to wait until pmps to give him his shot. If he is still high should I give him 1.25u or 1u :?: He was doing so well until he dropped to low.
Paula :o
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

Sorry about the fur shot but you don't want to shoot again. I have thought I had them when I clearly didn't. I know the numbers look like it was definitely a fur shot but you just can't risk an overdose. You also need to stay with the reduced dose and start counting cycles again. Remember the last dose brought about unsafe numbers. Hang in there. Michael will get back on track.
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

And that +2 is more then likely a food spike, usually when Charlie is bouncing, I Dont see much movement in his numbers till the bounce starts to clear. Dont let the high numbers scare you. The saying goes, Its better to be high for a day then too low for a min.
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

Thanks.
I hope he does. He was feeling so good.
What is so confusing is that when ther is going to be a dose change (mainly an increase) Michale's #'s to way low. So no shot is given. Then his #'s jump :!: Then the dance starts over. I don't understand why he goes from one extreme to the other. There is a significant difference in th #'s. ( ex. 63to 125 to 478) I know this is because he didn't get a shot last night because he was to low, but why do the #'s change so drastically? It's scary :!:
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

What you have is s bounce and skipped shot. When you see the extreme high numbers that is a bounce from getting low yesterday. Secondly, a skipped shot regardless of a bounce is going to raise his numbers.
From my little time with the sugar dance, I have come to realize, that 1+1 does not always = 2. What is happening is normal.
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489

Thanks, Darin
It helps to know that this normal. Michael is sitting on his cat condo looking out the window. That tells me in spite of the high#'s he is feeling o.k.
I guess Michael decided to play bouncy ball again. I don't think he wants to share. (probably took it from Charlie) haha_smiley Glad Lola is doing well.
Have a good day :!:
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 478 +2 489 +5.25 397 PMPS 402

darin is absolutely right - sometimes the answer is that with feline diabetes, 1 + 1 doesn't always equal 2.

cat's bodies are just like this. for example, we know that if you do everything exactly the same, shoot the same dose, in the same spot, use the same syringes, etc., the absorption of the dose can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. So even if everything is done perfectly, today's 1.0u dose might get completely absorbed, and tomorrow morning's 1.0u dose might only get half of it absorbed. We just do the best we can.

and today, you do have a double whammy - a skipped shot after low numbers, plus a fur shot. the good news is that he will recover from today and it will be ok. he may be high for a couple of days - don't worry about it. Overall he's doing well, and that's what matters.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top