9/4 Mannie PMPS 108, +2 45, +3 49, +4 60, +5 90, +6 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) (white mocha today.... YUM!!), and Happy Sunday!

9/3 Condo

9/3 RECAP:
9/3 amps 156: 48th cycle on this dose (2.50) fed 4% LC
+1 192 fed 4% LC
+2 157 fed 4% LC
+3 fed 4% LC
+4 fed 4% LC
+6 fed 4% LC
+10.5 106
9/3 pmps 112: 49th cycle on this dose (2.50) fed 4% LC
+1 126 fed 4% LC
+2 113 fed 4% LC
+3 109 fed 4% LC
+4.5 99
+5.5 93
9/4 amps 179: 50th cycle on this dose (2.50) fed 4% LC
+1 fed 4% LC
+2 222 fed 4% LC
+3 fed 4% LC
+4 138


What a nice day yesterday for Mannie. I had gone hiking yesterday, with Mannie's permission, and was really pleased to come home to a 106. That was really nice. :-D :-D He had a great surf last night, love blues and even managed a few greens around nadir. Well done Mannie! cat_pet_icon This afternoon we have a family BBQ to go to at my DD's, DSIL, and DGS ( :-D ). Of course this is right in the middle of Mannie's shoot time. I am in a quandary as far as what to do for Mannie.... :? I think I will have to take him with us, as I really do not want to skip his shot. I had thought of moving his shot time up, but with him I would want to monitor that if he has a low PS#, and well can't do that if I'm not home... The BBQ should be for maybe four hours, hopefully he can handle this OK without being too stressed out. :-D Oh boy.... he's going to love this. :shock: At least my DD has a room that he can stay in so maybe that will work for him. Paws crossed! :cool: :razz: :razz:

All is well in MannieLand. :-D :-D Though the kitty choir, aka my backup alarm system, sure was not up to par. :o Where were you guys? I finally heard BJ upstairs, meowing softly (BJ?: softly????) , the other two were sound asleep. :shock: I think BJ was secretly hoping that she wasn't gong to be served more of that yucky kidney friendly fuds... poor girl: she is not a fan. :-x (her smilie). We had a great test feed shoot this morning - lots of purrs from Mannie. And no whacking! What is up with my troops this morning... :shock: :shock: :razz: Bj was funny - she got her kidney friendly fuds, just stared at the bowl, and went to check out the other two bowls. Ravenous for Mannie's... envious of Elsa's, and back to her bowl she went, and meowed over and over and over. Sorry little one, that's what you get! After much coaching she finally ate those tasteless fuds. I hope to spend some time today to find better fuds for her. Mannie ate his breffis with gusto, clean plate club status intact. They are all now in nap mode, waiting for the doors to open. It should be a glorious day here - 75, lots of sun, and no doubt they will want to be out in it. Normalcy in MannieLand.

Have a great day everyone! Shopping to do here, hopefully a shoreline walk, hopefully ignoring the yard work, family BBQ this afternoon.. Looks like a great day on the horizon. :-D :cool: :razz:

My friends! OH WOW!!! on Attie's party yesterday. Attie - you are the bestest! What to do today.... I dunno.... I thinks I hafta go to my auntie's house tonight - I dunno, but I heard my bean talking to someone about me, and she thought she'd hafta bring me along... oh oh. this can't be good, ya know? Traveling in a car???? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.... I hate cars....... oh oh. uhhhhhhhh.... maybe you guys could come over too and we can make a kitty BBQ out of it. I think I heard my bean saying that there will be sausages and burgers and stuff. hmmmmmmmm.... this traveling thing might be OK: there will be grillin'! What'd'ya guys think? ~~ Mannie

Below are some photos from my hike yesterday. It was a forested river hike, long, like 13 miles, but flat and not too difficult. No sweeping mountain vistas or lakes, just a very nice easy going hike. The river, and the falls, sure were nice too!
 

Attachments

  • P1130779.JPG
    P1130779.JPG
    162.7 KB · Views: 382
  • P1130851.JPG
    P1130851.JPG
    169.3 KB · Views: 392
  • P1130729.JPG
    P1130729.JPG
    163.1 KB · Views: 395
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138

Beautiful pictures...as usual! ;-) Taking Mannie with you sounds like the best option.....he will be safe and you will be able to relax and enjoy the BBQ and not worry about him at home. Enjoy your afternoon/evening....and I love seeing the greens sneaking into Mannje's cycle...so very nice!! :mrgreen:

Mannie....car ride, uh oh.......but the BBQ sounds like there will be yummy fuds......maybe we can gather everyone up in the bus and come to the BBQ with you?!!! Attie sure knows how to throw a good picnic....what yummy fishes and fun times yesterday. ~Zoe
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138

love the pics - and i can see why that's called Otter Falls!

sounds like mannie's going on a roadtrip! wahoo mannie! buckle up, little boy! have a great time at your family BBQ - why don't people schedule things that work for our cats? :lol:
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138

Hi guys - I think taking Mannie with us is really the best option. He may not be too happy about it, but at least I know he will get what he needs and when he needs it. Now all i have to do is remember to take everything!! :lol: :lol:

Hi Julie - I know!! My DD and I laughed over that - about scheduling things to meet the needs of our cats. Thx too on the pics - nice hike, wonderful scenery.

Hi Sherry - Yeah me too -looks like a road trip for the kitty. this will eb a first for him. It will be interesting to see how he does, BG wise, through tonight's cycle. And yes on the greens - it's been good to see them showing up. :mrgreen: :-D :cool: :cool:

ZOE! Oh yeah!! I am happy know! Let's get everyone to come, and then maybe I won't be so nervous... my auntiebean is really cool and all, but well... you know.... YAY!! Everyone come to the BBQ!!! please?? and I hope attie hosts again. What fun!! See you guys!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138

Hi Michelle, that was nice of Mannie to give you permission yesterday and how nice to come home to a 106! Oh boy, I'm jealous...white mocha today. I may have one later. Mannie is having some amazing cycles. Oh poor BJ and the special fuds for kidney diets. Which ones are you feeding her besides Royal Canin? I haven't started a complete change yet with Maggie but am going to check one of the sites Marje gave me on renal disease and change over slowly. Enjoy your day with the family and barbecue and hope Mannie's numbers remain stable.

Hey Mannie, do you have to go to the family barbecue and stay in your room there at the family house? What do ya say, we get the bus as Zoe said, and we will come to your place and have our own barbecue, k? Wasn't Attie's party fun with all the fishes and chips and appetizers? See ya soon, Maggie
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138, +5.5 123

123 @ +5.5. nice - aiming for those greens Mannie?

Hi Ann - I thought so too! I loved that 106. :-D On the fuds" I left the vets office with Science Diet k-d, and Royal Canin Renal LP. She will eat the RC, but the K-D is a no no - wouldn't even try it. I hear that Purina makes one, as well as Eukanuba. last night I mixed it with some of Elsa's food, even then she still wasn't too happy. I really need to read up on this, and see if I can find something that is good for her that she will like. and thx on the BBQ - I hope Mannie handles this OK, and that stress doesn't send his numbers skyward bound... well only for a few hours, so maybe all will be good.

Hey Maggie... so it seems... I gots to go to another house, but my bean says it is for too long. I think it would be so cool is everyone can come and we will have our own BBQ, kitty style! I really had fun at Attie's - fishing is so awesome! Hey see you later OK? ~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +2 222, +4 138, +5.5 123

Nice numbers for Mannie again! :-D :-D I don't blame you for taking him with out. Thinks are going too well to skip a shot.

I think BJ is far from alone in not liking those foods. The thinking has changed about protein restricted diets for CKD kitties, keeping phosphorus low is more important. Do you have DR. Hodgkin's book? There is so much good new info out there that wasn't available when Cleo GA got sick. I know that cooked egg whites cn be added to her food to help reduce the phos levels.

Mannie, another cookout would be great! I'm glad I left the dutch oven in the bus, it's heavy and now i won't have to carry it. I can bring a watermelon too! -- Tess
Watermeloncat.jpg
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +5.5 123, +8 158

158 @ +8. well, still blue! :-D

Hi Ann - i agree too - I sure do not want to skip, he's had such good numbers lately, so consistent. So... looks like he gets to go on a road trip.

:-D I am sure most of these kitties would agree on the fuds. I have heard the latest on the importance of keeping phosphorus low,and that the idea of low protein has changed. And yes - I do have that book, bought it when Stu got sick, thinking it would be a good one to have. It has been a couple of years since I have had a CKD kitty - like three. I need to do some reading! I will have to see if BlackJack likes cooked egg whites... could I be so lucky? Cute photo btw...

Hey Tess! You'll come too!! Awesome!! I feel so much better now... my bean has started to pack up my stuff... I guess it is official. ROAD TRIP! I hope I don't puke or somethin'... My auntie bean said it was OK for us to do our thing - she has a BBQ all set for us - a BIG one!! I guess she has heard how much us kitties like to grill and stuff. She even said there is enough room for the dutch oven, so we can have desserts too. YAY!!! WATERMELON!!!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +5.5 123, +8 158

Hi Michelle, I forgot to comment on the gorgeous pictures if the hiking Trail, and wow 13 miles, did you say? Is the one of Otter Falls a rocky trail? Do you take a lot of water, or are there places to stop along the way?

On the renal food, Ann is right about the thinking has changed about protein restricted diets for CRD kitties, keeping phosphorus low is more important. Protein is okay, but my Vet hasn't yet caught up with the latest research. Marje gave me this link on TANYA'S COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE TO FELINE CHRONIC RENAL FAILURE. It has tons of info, and I haven't even put a dent in it. The book that Ann mentioned "Your Cat, simple new secrets to a longer life" by Elizabeth M. Hodgkins, D.V.M., is excellent. I ordered it from Amazon, a nice large easy to read paperback. Here's the link on Tanya's guide to Feline CRF in case you don't have it:

http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +5.5 123, +8 158, +11 144

More nice numbers for Mannie....go cat go!!!! No really ...go to the bar-b-que.....

Hope you all have a wonderful time!

Mannie ...thank for all your help and the kitchen crew too!!! We had a very good time and some kitties I tinks went home with some smokey smelling furs.... ~~Attie
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie AMPS 179, +5.5 123, +8 158, +11 144

Hey Mannie, I'm coming to your family party with our own grill and we can have our own party. See you soon. Don't get carsick! Those bean cars aren't as feline friendly as our bus!!
Rusty


Hi Michelle, It sounds like the best solution simply to take the boy with you! Hope you have a great time with your family. The kitties will take care of Mannie!

Ella
 
Re: 9/4 Mannie PMPS 108, +2 45, +3 49, +4 60, +5 90

:shock: :shock: :shock: What a night! And all I can say is it was a darn good thing I took this kitty with me....

RECAP:
pmps 108 4% LC
+1 77 4% LC
+1.5 60 4% LC
+2 45 7% LC
+2.5 52 7% LC
+3 49 7% LC
+3.5 53 7% LC
+4 60 7% LC
+5 90

BBQ was fun - we all had a good time. Mannie did fairly well. I wonder how much his being anxious contributed to the drop in numbers. I wonder... stress sure did not shoot his BG up that is for sure... He had his own space st my DD's, he seemed content enough while "confined" but he knew he wasn't home, all was on high alert. Well the good thing was that it was all handled with LC, no MC or HC or gravy or karo. I feel pretty good about that. Now I just hope we don't bounce through the roof. paws crossed, and anti-jinx! :-D

Hi Ann - thanks so much for the link. There is indeed a ton of info there. I hope to get started trying to understand and get a hold on all that is there. I too wonder if my vet is up to speed on the latest stuff... she kept talking protein, never did mention phosphorus. well... we shall see I guess. I need to read that book too - got started a while ago, still haven't finished it though I am not too sure why - probably the same reason I don't get to read much anymore: time. I think I need to change that!

Hi Beth - :-D :-D HE DID BOTH!! As I see Attie did tonight too. omg! what a night. I am glad I went well supplied to my DD's.

Hi Ella - I am sooooooooooooo glad that I took him with me. I knew when I got his PMPS at my DD's that ti was going to be a wild ride - in the 40's! OMG if he had been home alone, with a feeder that me probably wold not have used.... :shock: and the kitties did take care of Mannie - what a BBQ they had - Mannie can't stop talking about it. :-D

Attie - that we did!! heeheehee i know on the smoky fur! me too.... hey thanks for coming with the other kitties to my family's BBQ - I was so happy to have my friends there, It made is so much easier. We sure put on a great BBQ! Better than the beans! See you tomorrow? ~~ Mannie

Hey Rusty - thanks man! I was so nervous to be in a strange house... it was nice and all, but well... you know.... hey - I didn't get carsick!! I did good! I know on the car - dude! I was going all over the place back and forth on the seat. that stoopid carrier kept moving. :o :shock: our bus doesn't do that!! I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooo glad that I am home now. thanks for coming to be with me, and bringing all the kitties!! You are he best! ~~ Mannie
 
Hi Michelle,
Mannie seems very happy that u took him out together to the family BBQ, it can tell by those greens in this cycle :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I believe Ahmin will bump up to the pink if i take him out of our house, he's a timid boy ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top