9/4 Luna - AMPS 182, +5 75, +7 20/50 (recheck), +8 86, PMPS 63

Elle & Luna

Member
Previous thread: 8/19 Luna AMPS 435, +2 392

Hi all, it's been a while!

I hadn't had many updates and life has gone back to normal mostly since all of the chaos from the last couple months so I stopped posting here for a bit. Luna's numbers were trending higher for a while, partly due to an infection with her feeding tube. She had the feeding tube removed about 10 days ago and was on antibiotics for 8 days and numbers weren't going down at all, so I increased her dose to 2.75 units.

In the last 24-48 hours her numbers have come down quite a bit (yay) but we had a pretty scary day today. She had two lime numbers, and after both I gave her HC food which helped get her numbers back up.

Her PMPS is 63 and I'm currently stalling. She should be getting 2.5 units tonight but I'm a bit nervous because of how low she got today. I have stalled a few times in the past and have been able to give her her evening shot without a reduction and with monitoring her BG closely for a few hours after the shot.

I'm hoping in 20 min or so that she will be above 80 and I'll feel more comfortable giving the shot. Curious if anyone thinks I should reduce it more than 2.5 but I'm hesitant after 8 days of numbers in the high 2s and 3s.
 
52...

She was starving so I fed her and gave her 2 units, so slightly reduced from 2.5. This feels pretty risky but I didn't want to clear out her depot completely. I have HC food + syrup on hand and will test her every 30 min for the next few hours
 
20s :oops:…Luna is sure making things interesting today! The infection was likely contributing to previous higher numbers, and if it is now resolved that could be causing improvement in BG.

I agree, please do continue to test often, and it may well be that you need to test and monitor longer than just the next few hours. Even with a reduced dose, the depot may influence the first part of the cycle, so please keep posting.
 
Good luck tonight Elle. I hope Luna comes up a bit for you.
If those limes today were accurate (were they in the handheld meter?)
Were you able to double check?
She would earn a reduction by .25 units at your next shot based on those numbers under 40 for sure.
❤️‍🩹
 
Good luck tonight Elle. I hope Luna comes up a bit for you.
If those limes today were accurate (were they in the handheld meter?)
Were you able to double check?
She would earn a reduction by .25 units at your next shot based on those numbers under 40 for sure.
❤️‍🩹
Thank you, Staci! Yes all the numbers were from the handheld meter. The first lime was 23 and I retested and it was 37. The 20 I think I did double check and forgot to note it on the spreadsheet but I remember it being around 50, just added this to the spreadsheet. Lots of numbers today but I think that's right.

@Christie & Maverick , no I didn't. I just gave her around 2tsp of high carb food after the first lime, and then the second lime I gave her half a can of FF pate plus 1tsp of high carb food on top
 
Thank you, Staci! Yes all the numbers were from the handheld meter. The first lime was 23 and I retested and it was 37. The 20 I think I did double check and forgot to note it on the spreadsheet but I remember it being around 50, just added this to the spreadsheet. Lots of numbers today but I think that's right.

@Christie & Maverick , no I didn't. I just gave her around 2tsp of high carb food after the first lime, and then the second lime I gave her half a can of FF pate plus 1tsp of high carb food on top
Just remember you don’t want to over feed her, you want to keep Luna hungry if you need to feed her more if she stays low.
A few teaspoons at most should be enough when you are trying to bring her up.
 
Ok, thank you for clarifying, Ella :). One thing to keep in mind for the future, is when intervening with HC, and especially when kitty is low like Luna was, sometimes the BG will bobble around, since the HC can wear off quickly, so it’s often recommended to keep feeding small amounts of food to keep BG above 50 and continue tests. The dip at +7 is a good indication she wasn’t quite finished and HC that popped her up at +5 had worn off. Here is the sticky for more info. Sticky - Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
 
Holy smokes! You did say she was hungry lol. Just assessing food intake and BG so far, thanks for confirming.
Yeah she is supposed to go on a diet at some point - she's 12lb now and I was told she should go from 3 cans a day to a little over 2. She only just got her appetite back in the last few weeks after almost 2 months of health issues, so I'm still being lenient with calorie intake for now. She is generally SO food motivated which works well for me in these low BG cycles, lol
 
Yup, I get it! I was asking also because usually by +1 you’ll see what “food bump” there is. +2 and +3 will tell you more, and whether Miss Luna is going to have a wee bounce now, or whether she’s up for more shenanigans.
 
Back
Top