9/4 Juggie amps 146 +3 50 +4 56 +6 56 +8 77 +9 90 pmps +94 +1 113 +2 104

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
previous

Did juggies amps and he’s at 146. I noticed he didn’t eat much food between midnight and 7am, bowl was almost full when it’s normally empty when I do amps. His brothers bowl was full too so I wonder if it was a bad can??? After amps I gave his .75U and fed him and he ate so that’s good. Will do a curve today
 
Looks like a good day to do a curve!
Ok so did his +3 (needed the sleep lol) at 10am and it was at 85 from a very small blood drop so tested again (had to go grab new strips from other room so it was 10:05am) and it said 50 so I tested again from same blood drop (it was a big one) and it also said 50. I noticed his food bowl was still almost full so sprinkled some pure bites freeze dried chicken on top and fluffed the food up with some water added and he’s chowing down. Should I put 50 on sheet as that was the number twice? Should I test again sooner than the 3 hours because it’s so low??? I’m concerned with how little he ate both when I fed him before bed then again at am shot @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Just saw this. Please don't wait another 3 hours to test again. Did he eat? Please test again 30 mins after the meal.
Sorry replying late, yes he did end up finally eating the rest of his bowl. I tested again at +4 and he was at 56. Do I just test again back on curve time, so at +6

@tiffmaxee will lower to .5 this evening :)
 
Last edited:
Dena --

Have you decided if you're following Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) as y our dosing method? If you've not decided, this is the link to the sticky on dosing methods.

If I may offer a suggestion...
If your cat had dropped into numbers that are below 60, you want to increase the frequency of your testing and initially feed low carb. If numbers keep dropping, you want to feed higher carb food. The sticky on Handling Low Numbers recommends:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Sorry replying late, yes he did end up finally eating the rest of his bowl. I tested again at +4 and he was at 56. Do I just test again back on curve time, so at +6

@tiffmaxee will lower to .5 this evening :)
Please Please test more frequently. When my cat Phoenix drops below 100, I check his BG every 20 minutes. One time, he dropped from 86 to 28 within 20 minutes. I know sometimes it feels like a bother, but it only takes a few minutes. Your cat can have seizures if his BG drops too low.
 
@tiffmaxee we were outside as Juggie insisted on some outside time (we have lots of birds right now so he likes to chirp at them and eat grass lol) so I didn’t get a test until +8 that was 77 and again a bit ago for +9 and he was at 90.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) yes I’ve been doing the slgs method since July 24. I am so thankful to @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom for their daily help with Juggie.
@Scdal thank you for sharing your personal experience. I really love how helpful everyone is here :)
 
@tiffmaxee we were outside as Juggie insisted on some outside time (we have lots of birds right now so he likes to chirp at them and eat grass lol) so I didn’t get a test until +8 that was 77 and again a bit ago for +9 and he was at 90.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) yes I’ve been doing the slgs method since July 24. I am so thankful to @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom for their daily help with Juggie.
@Scdal thank you for sharing your personal experience. I really love how helpful everyone is here :)
I think it is great that you let Juggie out. I let Phoenix out too. They really do like being outdoors and so do I. It's funny that you mentioned Juggie eating grass. Phoenix eats it as well. It's good for their digestion and helps them throw up hairballs.

Phoenix really gave me a scare this morning. He has allergies and will sometimes have coughing and sneezing episodes like he did this morning. I gave him a Zyrtec antihistamine after breakfast and he went outside. I was watching him through the window when all of a sudden he started with another coughing and sneezing fit. This time, I counted 24 coughs in a row. I was getting frantic and had just picked up the phone to call the vet. Then, I saw long strings of saliva coming out of his mouth. I went running into the back yard. When I got to him, I noticed a long blade of grass hanging out of his mouth. I grabbed the blade of grass and it had been halfway down his throat as well. It was at least 7 inches long. That's what all the coughing and sneezing had been about. What a silly kitty he is !! What was he thinking to eat a blade of grass that long!! He is fine and my jangled nerves have settled down and we are both having a nice day ! Have a nice day with Juggie too !
 
He earns reductions if under 90 with SLGS every cycle he falls under 90. Let’s hope he behaves tonight.
 
If you're comfortable shooting a lower number, it's fine. However, do you have a supply of strips and high carb food if needed and can you stay up to monitor?
 
If you're comfortable shooting a lower number, it's fine. However, do you have a supply of strips and high carb food if needed and can you stay up to monitor?
Thanks for speedy reply :) I do have extra supplies but I think I’d feel more comfortable waiting a bit then retesting. I have a few days off so I’m flexible to get him back to regular dose time
 
You want to avoid a back to back reduction if possible since that hasn’t worked yet. So if high enough to shoot comfortably you might be best feeding mc at the beginning of the cycle.
 
You want to avoid a back to back reduction if possible since that hasn’t worked yet. So if high enough to shoot comfortably you might be best feeding mc at the beginning of the cycle.
Ok I will give it a go (but it’s going to be 1/2 hr late) I’m here and have supplies just in case. After his shot when should I test again?
 
Looks like you did shoot without stalling. Feed some mc and check at +1. I meant for you to see how much he would come up befriended shooting so he during drop under 90 again.
 
Looks like you did shoot without stalling. Feed some mc and check at +1. I meant for you to see how much he would come up befriended shooting so he during drop under 90 again.
Oops totally misunderstood you. I did give some mc mixed in his lc though so at least I got that right
 
You can shoot over 90 with slgs. Unless a really big bump at +1 feed mc and test at +2. If he drops at +2 feed hc.
 
Last edited:
Try lc and test in an hour.
Just did his +2 he dropped from 113 to 104 but he didn’t really want to eat the low carb food I gave him at +1 should I try hc or try adding freeze dried chicken bites to his low carb still in bowl?
 
You could or give him some mc. Nothing to prove. You want him to stay above 90.
Gave him some mc after his +2 but he wouldn’t eat it. Did a +3.5 and he was at 86 gave him a spoonful of hc and he gobbled it up. Is that ok? He licked bowl clean and is meowing for more. (He really misses gravy food and kibble lol so he will always want more but with him not eating his normal amount of LC I wonder if he’s actually really hungry or just wants his junk food he misses
 
Back
Top