? 9/4 Ivy AMPS 400,+3 206, +4 110, +6 97, +7 155, +10 308, PMPS 400, +2 246, +10 172 See Question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-147-10-368-pmps-400-3-266-5-244-dose.281154/
Day 6, 2.75 u Lantus dose, SLGS.

Yesterday we saw a run of AM blue numbers for about 6 hours. First lower numbers on this dose.
Her numbers are from a Libre sensor, except when she dropped lower, cross checked on Contour meter, indicated on the SS.

Fed her 1-2 tsp (regular diet lamb food) when she was dropping (lower for her) to get her to surf those numbers.

Then of course bouncy Ivy bounced up to pink numbers.
Today’s am cycle began red and high.
I expect an active cycle after the high as she clears a bounce pretty fast. And so the cycle goes on. High/low/ high

Question: is it normal to take 5 days to see first action on a higher dose or is this glucose toxicity, (or just not enough insulin)?
Does it look like she will need an increase or is she just bouncing?

Have a nice Monday and Holiday today if you are in the US.
 
I don't know what's 'normal', but Jack has taken 6 days to show some action with an increase. Also, a lot of times he will show lower #'s after one or two days, then bounce high for a few days, and then come back down around day 6 or 7 on an increased dose (that's what he is currently doing) For Jack, I've held off increasing almost 2 weeks at times, but I'm not getting as much BG info as you are and his diet is a never ending fight. I hope Ivy slides down safely today, and you get a better answer than mine to your question. I'm interested in what other folks have to say about it. Kiss Ivy for me, she is so pretty...looks like my Max :kiss::kiss: :bighug::bighug: Enjoy your holiday today!
 
I don't know what's 'normal', but Jack has taken 6 days to show some action with an increase. Also, a lot of times he will show lower #'s after one or two days, then bounce high for a few days, and then come back down around day 6 or 7 on an increased dose (that's what he is currently doing) For Jack, I've held off increasing almost 2 weeks at times, but I'm not getting as much BG info as you are and his diet is a never ending fight. I hope Ivy slides down safely today, and you get a better answer than mine to your question. I'm interested in what other folks have to say about it. Kiss Ivy for me, she is so pretty...looks like my Max :kiss::kiss: :bighug::bighug: Enjoy your holiday today!
Thanks for sharing your experience, Christine. I appreciate that and it helps.
I’m always hesitant to hold a dose for too long with the glucose toxicity situation, so I never really know what the right thing is to do.

Hopefully we will hear from some experienced people today, so you and I can both continue to learn, enjoy your day as well and thanks again.
I hope your sweet Jack has a safe surfing day! :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
+4 110 on Libre. Another active cycle. Feeding small snacks to try to keep her stable.
We are breaking a bounce from last night I suppose, after yesterday’s lower blue stretch.
 
I don't know what's 'normal', but Jack has taken 6 days to show some action with an increase. Also, a lot of times he will show lower #'s after one or two days, then bounce high for a few days, and then come back down around day 6 or 7 on an increased dose (that's what he is currently doing) For Jack, I've held off increasing almost 2 weeks at times, but I'm not getting as much BG info as you are and his diet is a never ending fight. I hope Ivy slides down safely today, and you get a better answer than mine to your question. I'm interested in what other folks have to say about it. Kiss Ivy for me, she is so pretty...looks like my Max :kiss::kiss: :bighug::bighug: Enjoy your holiday today!
I found when I held off a bit I started to get some good numbers and had a few decreases within a couple weeks thereafter. Then we do the dance.....lol
 
I found when I held off a bit I started to get some good numbers and had a few decreases within a couple weeks thereafter. Then we do the dance.....lol
What do you mean “held off”?
Do you mean you didn’t increase after 7 days? If so, how long did you hold off?
Thanks.
 
Another active PM cycle. Ivy was high 400 at pmps and +2 a drop to 246.
Up and down we go.
Looks like this dose is finally active and not flat as it began. :nailbiting:
 
Yes, she does. Usually a few hours later she will bounce up very high. But lately she clears a bounce quickly. Even as soon as the next cycle.
The bouncing is constant.
Why do you ask?
I ask because I go through this with Monster. I am trying to understand practically. I read the information, but it still makes me nervous to see the higher numbers. It helps me by seeing what happens with others. Thanks for sharing.
 
I ask because I go through this with Monster. I am trying to understand practically. I read the information, but it still makes me nervous to see the higher numbers. It helps me by seeing what happens with others. Thanks for sharing.
I’m happy to share anything I can with you Cheryl. I’m still trying to figure this out, too. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top