? 9/4 Herman amps 85 stall 70 +12.25 34 +12.5 77+13 110 +13.5 88 +14.25 105 +14.5 shot +1 122 pmps349

I should note I increased dose last night so may not be fully in effect yet so a bit nervous to shoot my first green on an increased dose…
 
Dropping, still stalling. At what number would I feed him to bump him up? I can stall until safe (ie I can readjust to a later shoot time if needed). Tagging @Bandit's Mom in case she is around.
 
At amps +40min he dropped to 34 and was beginning to get hard to test, fed 15%carb, testing again in 15.
 
Amy you are doing great. Remember what you told me about the horses being able to hear heart beats and blood pressure. Cats can sense anxiety. Take a couple of deep breaths and that 34 means High Carb.
Ok so I should have added drop of karo. His morning tests are a pain, cold ears! I might keep hotshots ready as the weather cools. And yes , I need to calm down!
 
Ok so I should have added drop of karo. His morning tests are a pain, cold ears! I might keep hotshots ready as the weather cools. And yes , I need to calm down!

Now you know that 15% for a rise from the 34 works.
Did you retest the 34 just to be certain?
Feeding HC means that the BG is food influenced. This is going to affect your shot time.
I stand corrected on the new dose :facepalm: its 2.25
 
And yes , I need to calm down!
You've got this! You are an excellent lurker and stalker on this board. You've read more than enough posts to be prepared! And you are prepared.
I'm just sorry you're stuck with me and not someone more experienced :bighug:.
While we wait for the next test, tell me, how long can you stall shooting before you have to skip the shot?
 
You've got this! You are an excellent lurker and stalker on this board. You've read more than enough posts to be prepared! And you are prepared.
I'm just sorry you're stuck with me and not someone more experienced :bighug:.
While we wait for the next test, tell me, how long can you stall shooting before you have to skip the shot?
Yes I do lurk! Knowledge is power! Although it goes out the window when you see a scary number! I can delay up to 2 hours. Just got a 110. He has been eating lc with my tests. I think I’ll test again in 20 and if still rising go ahead and shoot 2.25units. And, I’m happy to be “stuck” with you!
 
Yes I do lurk! Knowledge is power! Although it goes out the window when you see a scary number! I can delay up to 2 hours. Just got a 110. He has been eating lc with my tests. I think I’ll test again in 20 and if still rising go ahead and shoot 2.25units. And, I’m happy to be “stuck” with you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Are you around to monitor today when you shoot?
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Are you around to monitor today when you shoot?
Yep , I will be now :rolleyes:….going to bed last night I was sure he was bouncing so made plans (all my plans are tentative these days). But that was the shortest bounce ever. I’ll stick around the farm today. Hoping to test in 10 and shoot. You agree to shoot if it’s risen then? And if dropped I’ll reassess. Now to convince him to come for another snack at his needle/feed station (till now I’ve been feeding and testing him in bed with me and around my bedroom). There is no picking him up and putting him where I want him. Hermi does what hermi wants so need to make it his idea. :oops:
 
If it were me, I would wait to see what the BG is but I know my Cleo bounces to the moon after a # in the 30s.
Remember you gave HC so the number will be influenced because of it ETA for about 2 hours
Let's see the test first.
 
Some housekeeping for when more experienced members come in and check your SS. Can you please stack the tests in the US AMPS column?

It could look like this "83 +12.25 70 +12.75 34 +13 77 +13.5 110" and should be lime green because of the 34.
 
If it were me, I would wait to see what the BG is but I know my Cleo bounces to the moon after a # in the 30s.
Remember you gave HC so the number will be influenced because of it.
Let's see the test first.
So he dropped back down to 95. Now I’m unsure if I should feed again or wait without food. We are 2 hours past usual amps now.
 
Some housekeeping for when more experienced members come in and check your SS. Can you please stack the tests in the US AMPS column?

It could look like this "83 +12.25 70 +12.75 34 +13 77 +13.5 110" and should be lime green because of the 34.
Thank you for this, I copied yours. My brain struggles with the conversions(my measures are mmol) and +markings.
 
I guess now I’m starting to wonder if there’s a point where you must skip…we are at two hours past usual shot time, he came up but then slight drop again. I did not give him any food after this last test of 95 (5.3 MMOL) previous to that I had been giving him low-carb snacks with each test aside from a 15% snack after that low of 34.

eta I did not get food with that result of 95 because I guess I’m still trying to see if I can shoot this morning and didn’t want the next number to be food influenced.
 
So he dropped back down to 95. Now I’m unsure if I should feed again or wait without food. We are 2 hours past usual amps now.
That's within meter variance to the 110.
How much longer can you stall shooting before it absolutely has to be a skip? I'm being overly cautious here waiting the full 2 hours after HC.
We don't know if these last two bgs are rising on their own or still influenced because of the HC. Looks like the last time you gave HC was about 1.5 hours ago.
Amy YOU hold the syringe and you know Herman best the decision to shoot now, instead of stalling further, is up to you.
 
That's within meter variance to the 110.
How much longer can you stall shooting before it absolutely has to be a skip? I'm being overly cautious here waiting the full 2 hours after HC.
We don't know if these last two bgs are rising on their own or still influenced because of the HC. Looks like the last time you gave HC was about 1.5 hours ago.
Amy YOU hold the syringe and you know Herman best the decision to shoot now, instead of stalling further, is up to you.
I will definitely stall and make sure it’s rising before I shoot. Now I run into the grumpy Herman because he wants to go outside and lo and behold he’s starting to pull at his tail which seems to be his typical stress response poor guy he’s confused. I will wait 10 more minutes, test and see.
 
I will definitely stall and make sure it’s rising before I shoot. Now I run into the grumpy Herman because he wants to go outside and lo and behold he’s starting to pull at his tail which seems to be his typical stress response poor guy he’s confused. I will wait 10 more minutes, test and see.
Maybe this reminder from the sticky will help...you're not shooting the number he is now, you're shooting the number he will be at onset.
 
Maybe this reminder from the sticky will help...you're not shooting the number he is now, you're shooting the number he will be at onset.
Hmmm yes. And if he was stable flat or rising I would be comfortable shooting I think….but I just took another test and he’s dropped further to 88 (4.9 MMOL) so now again I wonder if I should be feeding him or not I’ve been stalling for a little while now without food (just over an hour) so that I could hopefully shoot him but I don’t know at what time I need to just abandon the shot and feed him.
 
Is it ever acceptable to go ahead and feed him and test him say hourly and as soon as he starts to rise which I assume will be a sharp rise into a bounce, shoot then even if it throws my times completely off (within reason of course). These new shoot times would be fairly inconvenient but doable if that’s what’s best for Herman…. We are at +2.75 past usual shoot time. I have to be honest I’m started to get tempted to feed him some low-carb and just skip it at this point. What to do what to do.
 
Hmmm yes. And if he was stable flat or rising I would be comfortable shooting I think….but I just took another test and he’s dropped further to 88 (4.9 MMOL) so now again I wonder if I should be feeding him or not I’ve been stalling for a little while now without food (just over an hour) so that I could hopefully shoot him but I don’t know at what time I need to just abandon the shot and feed him.
That's 88 without food since the 110? If yes, then those three readings are within the 20% meter variance and flat.
 
That's 88 without food since the 110? If yes, then those three readings are within the 20% meter variance and flat.
Correct. Well he got one small purebite in order to convince him to come get a test. I will test in 15 more minutes and make the call. His poor ears :(
 
Is it ever acceptable to go ahead and feed him and test him say hourly and as soon as he starts to rise which I assume will be a sharp rise into a bounce, shoot then even if it throws my times completely off (within reason of course). These new shoot times would be fairly inconvenient but doable if that’s what’s best for Herman…. We are at +2.75 past usual shoot time. I have to be honest I’m started to get tempted to feed him some low-carb and just skip it at this point. What to do what to do.
You could always give a token dose.
If it were me, I would shoot and feed with higher end LC and try and test at +1 and +2.

Correct. Well he got one small purebite in order to convince him to come get a test. I will test in 15 more minutes and make the call. His poor ears :(
Poor baby.
 
So….Shot 2.25 units at BG 104 after 2.5 hour stall. Fed 50/50 mix of 3% fancy feast with 15% gravy lovers. Will get a +1. I let Herman go outside for a prowl with Stanley before he got too grumpy. Overall he was very well behaved this morning.
I need to acknowledge Stanley who stoicly watched from his bed while I poked, prodded and fed his brother tasty morsels for the last 2.5 hours. Never once asking for a treat or getting in the way. Quietly minded his own business while he waited almost 2 hours longer than usual before I let him outside (Herman would NOT have been happy if I let his brother out without him). He even refused any purebites. He just watched a bit, quietly concerned, napped a bit, and waited. He’s SUCH a good boy, he could have really made things tricky for me if he wanted too, especially since my husband is out of town and I’m on my own.
upload_2022-9-4_8-18-15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-9-4_8-18-15.jpeg
    upload_2022-9-4_8-18-15.jpeg
    57.5 KB · Views: 151
Dogs are such “team players.” I kind of have a little crush on Stanley, what a good boy! (I miss my drooler — lost him a year ago)

I hope Herman has a good, uneventful cycle. They *do* have a way of keeping us on our toes (and not just with BG, lol).
 
Back
Top