Amy you are doing great. Remember what you told me about the horses being able to hear heart beats and blood pressure. Cats can sense anxiety. Take a couple of deep breaths and that 34 means High Carb.At amps +40min he dropped to 34 and was beginning to get hard to test, fed 15%carb, testing again in 15.
Thanks, seems to have turned him around (no jinx!) will test again in 20.Sounds like you made the right call with his numbers still dropping. Hope the HC food helped!
Good. I would test again in 30 mins.Now at 77. Gave pinch more 15% and some lc.
Ok so I should have added drop of karo. His morning tests are a pain, cold ears! I might keep hotshots ready as the weather cools. And yes , I need to calm down!Amy you are doing great. Remember what you told me about the horses being able to hear heart beats and blood pressure. Cats can sense anxiety. Take a couple of deep breaths and that 34 means High Carb.
He actually just got his first 2.5unit dose last night.Good. I would test again in 30 mins.
That 34 means a reduction so dose going forward is 1.75.
Ok so I should have added drop of karo. His morning tests are a pain, cold ears! I might keep hotshots ready as the weather cools. And yes , I need to calm down!
its 2.25You've got this! You are an excellent lurker and stalker on this board. You've read more than enough posts to be prepared! And you are prepared.And yes , I need to calm down!
.Yes I do lurk! Knowledge is power! Although it goes out the window when you see a scary number! I can delay up to 2 hours. Just got a 110. He has been eating lc with my tests. I think I’ll test again in 20 and if still rising go ahead and shoot 2.25units. And, I’m happy to be “stuck” with you!You've got this! You are an excellent lurker and stalker on this board. You've read more than enough posts to be prepared! And you are prepared.
I'm just sorry you're stuck with me and not someone more experienced.
While we wait for the next test, tell me, how long can you stall shooting before you have to skip the shot?
Yes I do lurk! Knowledge is power! Although it goes out the window when you see a scary number! I can delay up to 2 hours. Just got a 110. He has been eating lc with my tests. I think I’ll test again in 20 and if still rising go ahead and shoot 2.25units. And, I’m happy to be “stuck” with you!


Yep , I will be now
Are you around to monitor today when you shoot?
So he dropped back down to 95. Now I’m unsure if I should feed again or wait without food. We are 2 hours past usual amps now.If it were me, I would wait to see what the BG is but I know my Cleo bounces to the moon after a # in the 30s.
Remember you gave HC so the number will be influenced because of it.
Let's see the test first.
Thank you for this, I copied yours. My brain struggles with the conversions(my measures are mmol) and +markings.Some housekeeping for when more experienced members come in and check your SS. Can you please stack the tests in the US AMPS column?
It could look like this "83 +12.25 70 +12.75 34 +13 77 +13.5 110" and should be lime green because of the 34.
That's within meter variance to the 110.So he dropped back down to 95. Now I’m unsure if I should feed again or wait without food. We are 2 hours past usual amps now.
I will definitely stall and make sure it’s rising before I shoot. Now I run into the grumpy Herman because he wants to go outside and lo and behold he’s starting to pull at his tail which seems to be his typical stress response poor guy he’s confused. I will wait 10 more minutes, test and see.That's within meter variance to the 110.
How much longer can you stall shooting before it absolutely has to be a skip? I'm being overly cautious here waiting the full 2 hours after HC.
We don't know if these last two bgs are rising on their own or still influenced because of the HC. Looks like the last time you gave HC was about 1.5 hours ago.
Amy YOU hold the syringe and you know Herman best the decision to shoot now, instead of stalling further, is up to you.
Maybe this reminder from the sticky will help...you're not shooting the number he is now, you're shooting the number he will be at onset.I will definitely stall and make sure it’s rising before I shoot. Now I run into the grumpy Herman because he wants to go outside and lo and behold he’s starting to pull at his tail which seems to be his typical stress response poor guy he’s confused. I will wait 10 more minutes, test and see.
Hmmm yes. And if he was stable flat or rising I would be comfortable shooting I think….but I just took another test and he’s dropped further to 88 (4.9 MMOL) so now again I wonder if I should be feeding him or not I’ve been stalling for a little while now without food (just over an hour) so that I could hopefully shoot him but I don’t know at what time I need to just abandon the shot and feed him.Maybe this reminder from the sticky will help...you're not shooting the number he is now, you're shooting the number he will be at onset.
That's 88 without food since the 110? If yes, then those three readings are within the 20% meter variance and flat.Hmmm yes. And if he was stable flat or rising I would be comfortable shooting I think….but I just took another test and he’s dropped further to 88 (4.9 MMOL) so now again I wonder if I should be feeding him or not I’ve been stalling for a little while now without food (just over an hour) so that I could hopefully shoot him but I don’t know at what time I need to just abandon the shot and feed him.
Correct. Well he got one small purebite in order to convince him to come get a test. I will test in 15 more minutes and make the call. His poor earsThat's 88 without food since the 110? If yes, then those three readings are within the 20% meter variance and flat.
You could always give a token dose.Is it ever acceptable to go ahead and feed him and test him say hourly and as soon as he starts to rise which I assume will be a sharp rise into a bounce, shoot then even if it throws my times completely off (within reason of course). These new shoot times would be fairly inconvenient but doable if that’s what’s best for Herman…. We are at +2.75 past usual shoot time. I have to be honest I’m started to get tempted to feed him some low-carb and just skip it at this point. What to do what to do.
Poor baby.Correct. Well he got one small purebite in order to convince him to come get a test. I will test in 15 more minutes and make the call. His poor ears![]()
Thanks so much for your help.
So happy you shot!
Will check on you and your SS at the +1. Let Herman be Herman.

Dogs are such “team players.” I kind of have a little crush on Stanley, what a good boy! (I miss my drooler — lost him a year ago)
I hope Herman has a good, uneventful cycle. They *do* have a way of keeping us on our toes (and not just with BG, lol).