9/4 Corv -- AMPS 98 +2 78 PMPS 95

just gave his +9 snack, curious if he keeps numbers up like this when i can trial OTJ? maybe monday or is that too soon?
Here's the detail from the sticky:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
So, a drop below 50 or a week in the greens will earn a reduction. Technically, the next dose for Corv is a drop dose. If, after that, he holds onto those numbers he can begin an OTJ trial.

You don't want to rush anything because you want him to have a strong remission that holds.

Updated to add: I corrected my error: I accidentally said "Xander," instead of Corv; I'm getting our two recent kitties that are closely approaching remission confused :-) My apologies!!
 
Last edited:
I'm probably going to skip the drop dose and just go from 0.1 to OTJ trial. And the sticky says
  • the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
and I feel like 101 to 103 is close enough to under 100 and well within the Margin of Error on the Relion meter. I'm planning on starting OTJ trial Monday as long as nothing different happens between now and then
 
I'm planning on starting OTJ trial Monday as long as nothing different happens between now and then
Looks like 5 cycles out of 14 so far in solid green. You need that 14 cycles to start an OTJ by earning a reduction by being all under 100. A couple mornings ago he was 122, too high to count that cycle. We do want a strong remission for Corv. That would mean delaying to Wednesday night if he stays all in green. I think he can do it.
 
Back
Top