9-4-20 Olive AMPS 186

Status
Not open for further replies.

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
Hmm, Thinking I will need to have to stall the AM 0.01 IU as she's only just reached her highest BG since +2 after the PM 0.01 IU. Any thoughts with this? I've NEVER shot under 260 so far with the human meter.
 
GO OLIVE GO!

I wish I had the expertise to help with your decision.

You are doing one FANTASTIC job! I HOPE that the introduction of the FF gives her just the right amount of carbs she needs. (secretly been wishing this :p)
 
You are doing one FANTASTIC job! I HOPE that the introduction of the FF gives her just the right amount of carbs she needs. (secretly been wishing this :p)

Thank you! I'm doing my best to do what's right for Olive, even if that means FF right now or even into the future.

Stalling sounds like a good plan, Robyn. Her nibs did really well yesterday

When I looked at yesterday the morning cycle and the evening cycle were very similar. I'd hate to have to skip the AM IU and upset the apple cart. How long can I stall? Olive is vocalizing for her FF breakfast.;)
 
Essentially the same. Could she hang on another 15 minutes for her grub? If yes, please keep stalling and test again in 15.

How are you fixed for monitoring Olive today, Robyn?

.
 
Lol, just my humble opinion.

Ohhh, ok. Yes, she's got a hardly appetite this morning as she runs to the fridge every time I head that direction, then follows me like "Um, aren't you forgetting something?" I don't think getting her to eat will be a problem today.
I just wanted to see Olive over the 200 mark and rising, and to know you would be able to monitor her closely during the rest of the cycle.
I'll make certain she's doing okay even if hubby has to do shopping on his way home from work. Okay, going to feed the princess now. Thanks everyone!
 
Since she's off by an hour today, it's still +2 from the time she got the 0.01 IU, correct? Just want to make sure. She is 142+2 then. Just entered the BG numbers after I was preoccupied getting a urine sample, for which she's negative for Ketones. Hooray! My only concern for the day is that she's already at 142+2 and has 4 more hours to dive. I just fed her some more. One thing is certain, her appetite is beginning to pick up since the FF. She's eaten 3/4 of a can so far this morning which is amazing.
 
Since she's off by an hour today, it's still +2 from the time she got the 0.01 IU, correct? Just want to make sure. She is 142+2 then.
Yep. The '+' times always relate to the time the dose was administered.

My only concern for the day is that she's already at 142+2 and has 4 more hours to dive. I just fed her some more.
That's why I asked you to get the early test in. This is dose 3 at 0.1IU and there has already been a significant improvement in Olive's levels. Good that you gave Olive some more to eat. It would be a help to you to keep a note of what you feed and when in the cycle as part of the daily 'Remarks' entry so that if ever you need to the info is there for what works and what doesn't. This especially applies when managing a kitty through a low run.

I suggest you test regularly over the next few hours, just like you have been doing in recent cycles. Don't take your eye off the ball until you know she's coming up and staying up.

Woot for the negative ketones! :cat:

Delighted to hear that Olive's being a good girl and eating all her fudz.




Mogs
.
 
Yep. The '+' times always relate to the time the dose was administered.


That's why I asked you to get the early test in. This is dose 3 at 0.1IU and there has already been a significant improvement in Olive's levels. Good that you gave Olive some more to eat. It would be a help to you to keep a note of what you feed and when in the cycle as part of the daily 'Remarks' entry so that if ever you need to the info is there for what works and what doesn't. This especially applies when managing a kitty through a low run.

I suggest you test regularly over the next few hours, just like you have been doing in recent cycles. Don't take your eye off the ball until you know she's coming up and staying up.

Woot for the negative ketones! :cat:

Delighted to hear that Olive's being a good girl and eating all her fudz.




Mogs
.
I'll definitely be testing often. My heart starts racing at this point in the cycle, knowing she's got a way to go before the peak. Yeah, I'm trying to be more diligent on recording when she's eaten.
 
You're doing a great job of keeping Olive safe, Robyn
Thank you! I needed to hear that. Just tested her at +3.50 and she's 64. Going to go offer some more food and test again soon. As to sleep, I'm learning I can get more sleep if I sleep on the couch so my alarm going off every 1-2 hours or every half hour in some cases, doesn't wake hubby. Gives me a little more sleep between testing her. Once I see she's out of the woods and beginning to climb, I head off to bed for a solid 3 hours.
 
Last edited:
It was the best cycle thus far. I have been so happy about the positive direction she's taken. She's 184 PMPS so I'm going to stall for a half hour and recheck. I can't stall more than 2 hours, correct? After that time a shot has to be skipped, right? Just so I know for future reference.
 
Did you give the 0.1 units? and can you test tonight?
I hope you shot. She’s doing well on this dose.

Yes, I shot. 0.01 IU. ;)And the really cool part is that she ate 1/2 a can of FF with it. :) Up till now she's only managed to get in 1/4 of the can for both AMPS & PMPS and sometimes not even quite that. I'd have to follow her around for 15 minutes begging her to eat just a little more. But tonight, she ate with such gusto on top of eating her meal in one sitting. No chasing her around. Did my heart good to see. Yes, Elise, she's really surprised me with how well she's doing on this dose. I'm blown away by the changes already. Could the road to regulating her really be as simple as having more carbs than the raw was offering as well as a micro dose of insulin? It seems like such little changes to be seeing such a noticeable positive impact. I certainly didn't expect to see such positive changes so quickly.
 
can you test tonight?
Yes, I'll be testing through the night. This is when the caliper came into play because the zero line is really crooked on my syringe. I had to go by the caliper's settings and eyeballing those settings was definitely off in conjunction with the zero line. So we'll see by her numbers tonight how actually close to the 0.01 I got using the caliper alone.
 
You did a grand job of seeing her through the hiccup. You must be knackered

I'm beyond knackered. I feel like a zombie after a few hours sleep. I'll create a post for today, but looks like Olive's nowhere near ready for her 0.01 insulin this AMPS is 118. I don't think even stalling for an hour is going to let her BG rise enough. Ugh. Last night really threw her off. The only thing her tummy accepted without her throwing up was going back to the raw in small portions all night long. It wasn't until the last hour or so that I began mixing in a bit of the FF turkey to try and elevate her more, hoping she'd be high enough for the AM IU so she didn't get hardly any carbs through the night. So I'm not shocked by her BG thus far.
It is likely from the food switch possibly too quickly. She will adjust. The extra carbs are helping so I wouldn’t give up on feeding it. Adding some raw was wise. How is she now
Yes, I know the carbs were helping. Today I'm going to hold off on any of the FF beef just to see and mix some raw into the FF Turkey throughout the day. She's doing okay now. She's hungry and buzzing around me and the fridge. I wish I knew how to get her BG to come up in the next hour. She began yesterday's AM cycle an hour late as well as the PM cycle.
 
Curious...a little spike in Olive's BG between +2 and +3. Her appetite is good but I'm only allowing a max of a Tablespoon at any time although I'm thinking she could handle a little more but afraid to try it. I'm trying to stay as consistent on feeding as I can.
 
That is a bit of a bump (unless it was an iffy test strip).

Anything else unusual? Did she have a poop round that time?

As long as Olive's numbers are OK then slow and steady is probably the way to go with the food. How frequently do you feed her, Robyn?


Mogs
.
 
She'd been asleep for an hour when I woke her to feed her and test. Nothing unusual going on. I'm feeding her once an hour. I feed then test. I suppose I should test first then feed.
 
Yep. Test first to check how low Olive is. That way you'll know what food to give (LC, MC).

.Guess we'll have to wait to see what she does next, Robyn. In the sugar dance, it's the cat that leads. ;)

.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top