9/30 Toby's PMS=284+3=276+6.5=365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby started a little lower this morning. Hoping we see yellow today. All Ps are in place and neg. on the Ketones. Have a great
day!!!! Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/30 Toby's AMS=329+4=310+8=262

Yay - looks like Toby complied with your request for yellow! :-D

Come on Tobes, impress us with blue now......
 
Re: 9/30 Toby's AMS=329+4=310+8=262

Hey, finally a yellow at +8 might have been better at +6 but had to run to get Toby more insulin so couldn't test for +6.
Go Toby boy Go!!!! Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/30 Toby's AMS=329+4=310+8=262

Go Toby! :-D I hope Toby decides yellow is fun and spends some more time on that floor now.

You are doing an excellent job testing Toby for ketones. Neko is a bit of a stealth peer so it's hard for me to do. :lol:
 
Re: 9/30 Toby's PMS=284+3=276

just an observation on the last 3 dose increases:

9/19 increased to 4.5 - following the second shot at that dose he got into yellows
9/24 increased to 5.25 - following the 3rd shot at that dose he got into yellows
9/29 increased to 6.25 - following the 2nd shot he got into yellows

I think I would not linger more than 6 cycles on any dose at this point unless you see blue numbers. If he remains 200's+ and you wanted to increase after 4 cycles, I think you could make a case for that, given how well you monitor him.

Usually when kitties get to 6u per shot we start talking about testing for high dose conditions. The most common is acromegaly, a benign tumor on the pituitary gland that puts out a growth hormone. The growth hormone does a couple of things - it causes the body to grow, first the soft tissues, eventually the bones. It also blocks the insulin receptors in the cells, so that you have to give increasing amounts of insulin so that enough will get into the cells. A voracious hunger is a typical common symptom with acro.

The next most common is iaa - insulin auto antibodies. The body creates antibodies that bind up the insulin so it's not immediately available. As Sandy says, the insulin is "taken hostage." IAA doesn't have any obvious physical characteristic, just the larger dose.

The least common is called Cushing's disease. It's a benign tumor on the adrenal glands. That one is relatively rare and usually fairly obvious - the skin becomes very fragile and will literally tear when it's touched.

I'll just bring those up with you (i don't think we've talked about them before - shoot me if we have!) so you can think about it. Testing is done by a blood test sent to Michigan State University's Veterinary Lab. It's simple, straightforward and tells us what's going on so we know what dosing strategy might be best to suggest. Here are a few links that you might look at:

Acromegaly Interesting Posts from the Past
Acromegaly the Basics
....this one has a link at the bottom that Wendy has added about iaa.

That's enough to start with. Take a look and see what you think. There are many high dose kitties around - punkin had acro, Wendy's Neko has both iaa/acro, Sandy's BK had iaa, Suzanne's Cobb has iaa and likely acro also, and Marilyn's Polly has both iaa and acro. They are still the same sweet kitties we've always loved, no matter how much insulin they need. :YMHUG:

julie
 
When we first started a year ago 2units of Pzi would regulate him. Then when we kept reducing the Pred. the dosage kept going
up. He got up to 4.5 units AMS and 5 units PMS But the 5 units was too much because I couldn't shoot the morning dose . Then I joined. FDMB and we started over at 2 units again. I could never have given him this much PZI . I Read different posts and they were getting good results with Levermir so I thought I would try it. Do you think the Levermir may not be the right insulin for Toby? He has Jumped back in the red again. He had lost a pound when he had ketones but has gained that back. His appetite
seems to be slowing down with the bigger dose. He just eats a little at a time. Takes a few mouthful and keep going back. I just hope I don't have to lose him because I can't afford his insulin. Am going to get a prescription for Canada talked to the vet. yesterday she said she would give me one. If this gets up to 20 units or so just don't know what I will do. Peg and Toby
 
Peg, I wouldn't worry about that now.

Lev is a great insulin. Sometimes cats need less insulin onWe Lev. It also costs less than Lantus. We usually encourage people to give a good 6months on an insulin.

I'd just plow ahead and increase on time to try to get his bgs down,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top