9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315 PMPS 370

Status
Not open for further replies.

matya13

Member Since 2013
Looks like she's working on clearing the bounce. So here's my question: It seems like right now she's caught in a cycle of go lowish-bounce-clear bounce-wash-rinse-repeat. Would it make sense to do a "factory reset" on her? That is, stop her insulin, clear the depot, and start over? I'll be away from home this weekend, so that might be an ideal time for it. My cat-sitter has been in apprenticeship to another DCIN foster mom, so she's comfortable testing and shooting, but I bet she'd be happy not to have to shoot, especially with the small dose (.25u) I'm planning to have her give. She could just test and see where Sunny's going without insulin. Thoughts?

On another note, I'm thrilled to report that my Jibbey-boy ended up at #4 in the DCIN calendar contest! That's thanks in large part to some people here who really wanted him to get a featured spot in the calendar! Nadine and Christi, I know you two helped a lot, but I don't know who else to thank, so THANK YOU to everyone!!! I never said it, but it was actually really important to me to have Jibbit honored this way, and I was quite sad earlier when I realized that I wasn't going to be able to get him to #6 or higher on my own. I can't overstate how much it means to me that so many people banded together to make sure he got up there and stayed up there. I just sat there and and cried when I saw the final results. I miss my special boy so very much, and I'm not even remotely over losing him, especially the way it happened. So thank you - this was a balm to my sore heart. I know Jibbit is smiling down on all of you from the Bridge! o:-) rb_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

(Wanted to add an pic of him, but I apparently am too slow to figure it out!)
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

You know that is exactly what I'm looking at doing with Autumn once we've seen the new vet to rule out any complicating factors. First question...How ketone prone is Sunnygirl? Next is are we sure she will a) eat for the sitter and b) the infection is gone? If the answers to those are Not Ketone prone, don't know or yes, and yes. Then personally I would risk it. Especially after what happened with Jib, I'm afraid I would be very leery about anyone shooting one of mine without me hoovering over them.

However, if she is ketone prone and may not eat and may still have infection brewing in there then I would probably risk having someone shoot for me as long as they were testing first. Too bad she couldn't go hang out with Auntie Jenna again...still trying to figure out what voodoo she did to produce those lovely numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

As far as I know, she isn't ketone prone. I think she'll eat for the sitter. As for the infection...not sure. I haven't seen any more blood in her pee. Are there ways for me to tell?

My cat-sitter is a friend of Jenna's. I wouldn't want to send Sunny to Jenna's for such a short time, because she is easily stressed. She seemed to get upset at smelling Jenna's house on Ashley, too - she shut down for a few minutes when Ashley first got to my house (to meet the kitties, etc), but she relaxed once she realized that she wasn't about to be whisked away again.

I wish I knew how to replicate Jenna's numbers, too! I think Sunny's trying to get there, but she keeps bouncing.
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

Really the only way to know if the infection is gone is to have a follow up either CBC or urinalysist run by the vet.

But if the sitter is a friend of Jenna's then there is a good chance she has Jenna to fall back on if there is a problem and the board.

Sweetie this is really one of those it's your call on what you feel safest with.

As I see it there are several options.

1) Stop insulin while your gone so you know she's safe. Yeah higher but safe. But also if she doesn't eat enough and there is an infection still you're running the risk of ketones and possible DKA.

2) Have the sitter test and shoot while you're gone but shoot a reduced dose .25u I believe since if I remember right you're at .5u atm. Now I'm not sure you know this, but with Levemir's neutral base you can prefill her syringes so all Ashley has to do it shoot. This might in and of itself stop the bouncing around like a ping pong ball, or it might keep it going.

or

3) Set instead of a no shoot number a Shoot number. If she hits 400 then Ashley shoots the token of .25 otherwise she lets her run high but insulin free to see if this resets her and the bounces stop so you can decide what is a good dose by starting at the bottom again and working up.

Your call.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

Thanks, Mel! Lots for me to think about. Unfortunately, there's no way for me to get Sunny to the vet before I leave, given my current schedule. She seems perky and happy, even when her numbers hit the 400s, so that may be a sign that the infection is gone.

I didn't know about pre-filling syringes with Lev! Thanks - I'll do that for her. I was planning to have her shoot .25u, as you suggested, though I'm at .6u right now. I figured .25u was an easier dose for her to aim for than .3u!

I'm going to think about this, but I may take option #3 and set a "shoot" number for Ashley. I'll leave her a full set of pre-filled syringes but hope she won't have to use them! Sunny was at 301 the other day after I fur-shot her PM dose, which I thought seemed promising. Giving her a chance to reset might be what she needs.

And yes, she's said she'll call Jenna if she has a problem, though I also should be available if needed, unlike with sweet Jib. :(
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

hi amy
have a good weekend trip and i am soooo happy for you about your beautiful Jibbit. we all know that pain in your heart. i always say we only borrow these beautiful creatures for a while but i really feel like they are always around us and Jibbit is probably dancing at the bridge and sending cat kisses down to his mom. i remember when my newest cat went to the bridge, i was in the kitchen and one of his brothers did exactly what Willy used to do at feeding time. his brother had never done that b4 and i could swear Willy was telling him to do it so i would know he was ok. alrightn crying now!!! anyone hugs to you & jibbit & sunny and all of everyones other beautiful animals.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/30 Sunshine AMPS 315

Awwww, hugs back, Nadine!

I feel Jibbit and my other GA, Casey (my soul-kitty, beautiful calico girl) with me every day - I know they're still watching over me! Squeaker seems to be a channeler cat - I swear I see Casey or Jibbit looking at me through his eyes sometimes! And he does things that only they did every now and then - just to remind me that they're with me, I think!

They are all such precious little souls. I'm grateful that they choose to spend their time on this earth with us!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top