9/30 Squeaks AMPS 349 +1 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/30 Squeaks AMPS 349 +1

Polgeria

Member
Hi all!
I seem to be having trouble giving Squeaks his insulin. It seems like every other time I give it to him I don't get it in and don't notice. His BG is currently rising at +1 from his pm dose, and idk if I should ride it out or try giving him another dose.

Additionally, I'm not sure his dose is high enough, but I also don't think I have enough data due to burn out (not because of him, I have some pretty bad health issues that knocked me on my ass the first few days). His vet also insisted I try one of the continuous monitors and they're glitching left and right on me. I'm currently using the G7 because I was able to get 6-7 for free but will be switching to the Libre eventually.

Any feedback and recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
 
Here it the link to your first post about Squeaks in the Feline Health forum, for some background.

Unfortunately I cannot see Squeakers spreadsheet. I think you need to to Share it (top right button) with "anyone with the link". We'll need to see the spreadsheet data to help you with dosing.
It seems like every other time I give it to him I don't get it in and don't notice. His BG is currently rising at +1 from his pm dose, and idk if I should ride it out or try giving him another dose.
Never give a second dose. You just can't tell how much insulin got in and you don't want to overdose him. Better safe than sorry. Here are some tips that might help you with shooting the insulin. How to "Shoot" Your Cat Inside that post are links to a couple other posts. The one on Shooting tips is also a recommended read.

As far as rising at +1, that is totally normal. Most cats onset (Lantus insulin starts to take effect) somewhere between 2-3 hours after the shot. From the New to the Group Sticky Note, this might help:

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar/Semglee cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Thanks Wendy! I updated the access in his sheet, I can't believe I forgot about that. To add into his background, we caught the DKA fast enough that after 2 doses of Lantus it was over, so he's no longer in DKA
 
Glad to hear the DKA is no longer present. Could you add "DKA 9/25/25" to your signature? That's an important detail, even if no longer in DKA, it's recent enough that it'll impact our suggestions. How is his appetite now? Are you home testing him for ketones? You'll want to do that for a while yet.

Sorry for so many questions, one more. On the spreadsheet 9/27 AM, the dose is missing. Did you not dose or forget to enter the value? Dosing or not impacts building the depot. If you skipped, by choice or not, could you enter "skip" as the dose, so we know you didn't just forget to enter the value. If you think you did a fur shot (missed all the insulin getting in), but down FS for fur shot. You should be able to feel wetness on the fur and smell the distinctive Lantus smell with a fur shot. And don't worry, we all do them.

The Lantus depot can take 5-7 days to build in the beginning, and that's how long you wait with TR to start. It's great that he's seen an under 100 so soon! But I also suspect that's caused some bouncing, or the higher numbers you've seen.
 
Added to my signature. For 9/27 I just forgot to put the value in. He got 1 ui in the morning. There's no way I would skip a dose this early in his treatment. (And for some reason I don't have edit access on my phone since I shared it, I'll correct it shortly once I figure that out)
Appetite: finally calmed down, seems about normal now. It was literally his only symptom that made me take him to the vet.
Ketones: I am not home testing, I actually don't know how to, given that I have 4 other cats in the house that use the litter.
Fur shot: only 1 that I know of, because it hit my fingers. That was yesterday Love that bandaid scent of Lantus

More info:
-I immediately switched him to tiki cat wet food as soon as I saw his high BG on 9/24. We already had the smart feeder from when Mouse was with us, so they're all reprogrammed to keep him out of the dry food.
-I'm using the reliOn Prime along with the G7 monitor as I don't really trust the G7 to be accurate, plus he's really, really good at damaging the monitor.
-he weighs 14lbs
 
Good to hear about the appetite. It's actually lack of appetite (hence too low calories) that is the concern with DKA.

With the fur shot, just put 1FS in the units column so it's easy to see.

There are blood monitors that can check for ketones as well: Blood Ketone Meters. The Keto Mojo meters should also be added to that list. It has been used for cats and has the cheapest test strips. Neko was very predictable about when she peed, so it was easy for me to just follow her to the litter box. I've also seen some people put there cat in a separate room after a meal for a while, if that is a regular pee time.
 
Back
Top